Sportscene watch

Had the luxury of time this weekend and decided to watch Saturday nights programme from start to finish (instead of usually cutting to the highlights of games I want to see) -
Never again!

Can’t get over how bad the analysis is, if I heard rangers need to “get to the byline” one more time I was going to chuck my tv out the window. Shelley Kerr is laughably bad, she offers absolutely nothing! Micheal Stewart not much better - I used to think he was ok as well.

The highlights of the st mirren game were improved on recent weeks to be fair, usually they miss half of the incidents, but think they caught it all this weekend, so credit where credits due! (Although it really should be a given!)

1 hour ago, geo87 said:

Had the luxury of time this weekend and decided to watch Saturday nights programme from start to finish (instead of usually cutting to the highlights of games I want to see) -
Never again!

Can’t get over how bad the analysis is, if I heard rangers need to “get to the byline” one more time I was going to chuck my tv out the window. Shelley Kerr is laughably bad, she offers absolutely nothing! Micheal Stewart not much better - I used to think he was ok as well.

The highlights of the st mirren game were improved on recent weeks to be fair, usually they miss half of the incidents, but think they caught it all this weekend, so credit where credits due! (Although it really should be a given!)

I used to like Stewart but he seems to have become extremely opinionated (not hard when surrounded by imbeciles I'd imagine), but he's a difficult listen now...like he's talking to children and is on the verge of losing it. 

The standard after him is appalling. I usually skip the OF games unless Aberdeen are involved, but watched them this week as the usual skelpings never happened. But I'll need to watch the St Mirren and Kilmarnock highlights later, as I just couldn't last through the fucking programme.

It's arse-clenchingly awful...

edit...I've been watching the utter fitba porn of Big Match Revisited recently (currently at end of season 82) and there's precious little involvement from the studio, bar a few words from Denis Law on his players of the week or whatever. Why can't we just go back to this ffs ?!?

Edited by Jimmain

8 minutes ago, Jimmain said:

I used to like Stewart but he seems to have become extremely opinionated (not hard when surrounded by imbeciles I'd imagine), but he's a difficult listen now...like he's talking to children and is on the verge of losing it.

I've said similar before about Stewart.

He's actually quite good when he's calm and given time to develop an idea. He's probably the best on Sportsound/Sportscene.

The problem, especially on Sportsound, is that he's talking to complete fucking melts who often just can't grasp the point he's making, and he doesn't handle that well.

The Sportsound VAR 'debates' have been a classic example of this. He's been dealing with a braying crowd of imbeciles constantly misunderstanding and misrepresenting his position and shouting over him. Most people would find that difficult.

1 minute ago, VincentGuerin said:

I've said similar before about Stewart.

He's actually quite good when he's calm and given time to develop an idea. He's probably the best on Sportsound/Sportscene.

The problem, especially on Sportsound, is that he's talking to complete fucking melts who often just can't grasp the point he's making, and he doesn't handle that well.

The Sportsound VAR 'debates' have been a classic example of this. He's been dealing with a braying crowd of imbeciles constantly misunderstanding and misrepresenting his position and shouting over him. Most people would find that difficult.

I agree with that. Stewart will at least analyse a St Mirren v Ross County game. But he's seated next to the pundits from Old Firm Zoomerland who doesn't even attempt to feign interest once the Rangers/Celtic highlights are done.

11 minutes ago, Jimmain said:

The standard after him is appalling. I usually skip the OF games unless Aberdeen are involved, but watched them this week as the usual skelpings never happened. But I'll need to watch the St Mirren and Kilmarnock highlights later, as I just couldn't last through the fucking programme.

It's arse-clenchingly awful...

edit...I've been watching the utter fitba porn of Big Match Revisited recently (currently at end of season 82) and there's precious little involvement from the studio, bar a few words from Denis Law on his players of the week or whatever. Why can't we just go back to this ffs ?!?

The old football 1st's lower league program on a Sunday was good, you just got the games with no faffing about. c***s binned it the season Livi went down and at the time there was no other coverage of lower league football.

43 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

The problem, especially on Sportsound, is that he's talking to complete fucking melts

🤣 pretty much...heard the VAR discussion last Saturday I think...it was a painful listen.

6 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

The problem is he thinks he's an intellectual when he's not actually much (any?) more clever than said melts.

Edited by Darren
Illiteracy

I don't care about punditry as I think it's all pish and boring and simply of no interest to me.

The highlights themselves are pretty amateur though. They often are far too quick and, by many accounts, miss things. Even wee details like showing the time in a game (MOTD do this) when a particular passage of play begins, or a particular incident/foul/corner etc occurs is too much to ask for Sportscene.

22 minutes ago, Darren said:

The problem he thinks he's an intellectual when he's not actually much (any?) more clever than said melts.

I don't think that's quite fair. He's certainly not as clever as he sometimes seems to think, but he's miles ahead of the rest of the Sportsound gang when it comes to applying logic, being consistent in his views, and in having the ability to see the other side of an argument.

The problem is that he's dealing with people who generally lack those things. Stewart will engage with someone's point and then explain why he disagrees. He can be good at that, using analogies or rhetorical questions etc. The others just repeat their position again and again.

The VAR stuff was painful, as the others were so desperate to jump in and shout over him that they didn't take the time to listen to what the was saying and argued against points he wasn't making. A favourite thing to do is to jump in when he's halfway through a sentence and use an unfinished sentence to misrepresent his position. Along the lines of - 'Shooting kids is good for no...' 'SHOOTING KIDS IS GOOOD, MICHAEL? REALLY?' '.No, shooting kids is good for nobody, Tom'.

Anyone would find that very frustrating.

Eventually I had to put it off as it was making me stressed to listen to.

Edited by VincentGuerin

8 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

I don't think that's quite fair. He's certainly not as clever as he sometimes seems to think, but he's miles ahead of the rest of the Sportsound gang when it comes to applying logic, being consistent in his views, and in having the ability to see the other side of an argument.

The problem is that he's dealing with people who generally lack those things. The VAR stuff was painful, as the others were so desperate to jump in and shout over him that they didn't take the time to listen to what the was saying and argued against points he wasn't making. A favourite thing to do is to jump in when he's halfway through a sentence and use an unfinished sentence to misrepresent his position. Along the lines of - 'Shooting kids is good for no...' 'SHOOTING KIDS IS GOOOD, MICHAEL? REALLY?' '.No, shooting kids is good for nobody, Tom'.

Anyone would find that very frustrating.

Eventually I had to put it off as it was making me stressed to listen to.

I don't think it's unfair at all.

He garbles the English language so much that I often find it difficult to follow his arguments at all, while he seems permanently raging and unwilling to countenance that he might actually be wrong.

His colleagues are far too quick to misrepresent him, I agree, but that's a problem of Stewart's own making because he's such a dick that they're desperate to shoot him down.

4 minutes ago, Darren said:

I don't think it's unfair at all.

He garbles the English language so much that I often find it difficult to follow his arguments at all, while he seems permanently raging and unwilling to countenance that he might actually be wrong.

His colleagues are far too quick to misrepresent him, I agree, but that's a problem of Stewart's own making because he's such a dick that they're desperate to shoot him down.

Fair enough, you don't like him and I do.

I think his colleagues are keen to have a go at him because by and large they're arseholes who think he's a bit above his station.

He can come across like that at time, there's no dispute. Still think it'd be far worse without him. The general standard is really shocking.

48 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

Along the lines of - 'Shooting kids is good for no...' 'SHOOTING KIDS IS GOOOD, MICHAEL? REALLY?' '.No, shooting kids is good for nobody, Tom'.

I blame Kenny McIntyre. Richard Gordon would have at least looked for some balance in that particular debate. 

1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:

I don't care about punditry as I think it's all pish and boring and simply of no interest to me.

The highlights themselves are pretty amateur though. They often are far too quick and, by many accounts, miss things. Even wee details like showing the time in a game (MOTD do this) when a particular passage of play begins, or a particular incident/foul/corner etc occurs is too much to ask for Sportscene.

Aye, I've often thought that Sportscene should just copy the MOTD format. I'm not sure if anything prevents it but with them both being BBC shows you'd imagine it wouldn't be too difficult. MOTD isn't perfect but it's a much more enjoyable watching experience.

Tbf they have a much smaller production team than MOTD and have to edit highlights much quicker (for 7:30pm rather than 10pm) especially if they have the six matches on a Saturday.

Always thought that they, the SPFL and Sky should just do a deal on commentators for the non-live games then they could have commentary teams at all the games and it would make both Sportscene and Sky's tinpot review show better.

42 minutes ago, Ray Patterson said:

Tbf they have a much smaller production team than MOTD and have to edit highlights much quicker (for 7:30pm rather than 10pm) especially if they have the six matches on a Saturday.

Always thought that they, the SPFL and Sky should just do a deal on commentators for the non-live games then they could have commentary teams at all the games and it would make both Sportscene and Sky's tinpot review show better.

Didn't they used to do that? I'm sure when I lived down south any SPL highlights as they were at the time basically had the BBC commentary with Sky's own graphics? 

3 hours ago, Darren said:

The problem he thinks he's an intellectual when he's not actually much (any?) more clever than said melts.

He is averagely bright, imo.

I think the issue is that most of those he is sharing the airwaves with are intellectual pygmies, rather than MS being on some higher scale.

Apart from sometimes in the car en route home - in the vain hope of hearing managers discuss their games - I dont tune in at all now, its almost unlistenable.

4 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Fair enough, you don't like him and I do.

I think his colleagues are keen to have a go at him because by and large they're arseholes who think he's a bit above his station.

He can come across like that at time, there's no dispute. Still think it'd be far worse without him. The general standard is really shocking.

It's a vicious cycle of cuntery, on that we can agree.