G'Day! Ange's Gap Year Celtic Euro Backpacking Tour 2021/22.

As willy's post prove (wind up or not) as other Celtic fans can attest there's a conceit within the club that we must and do always play attacking football.

Its been there as long as I remember (in the lean years it was the only solice) and I think Ange's spell increased in recently as he refused to have a plan B and was found out in Europe. (anyone who watched Spurs 9 men v Chelsea and his interview after - will recognise his stubborn streak in refusing to adapt. Even against an disorganised struggling Chelsea).

I had hoped that Brendan would be more pragmatic, be he seems to have bought into the myth.

A big part of the issue IS the problem of playing St Mirren on a Saturday and either of the Madrid teams on a Tuesday. But its not the diddies fault, Its our arrogance to think we can play the same way in both games. Despite decades of evidence to the contrary. 

The issue is as others say exacerbated by a fawning media and chumps like Hartson that will make all sorts of excuses before actually criticising our set up and approach. These teams let us have the ball for spells, as they can see in Europe we are completely ineffectual in the final third. They only engage when we near the D of the penalty box, even encouraging us to cross as they know its not going to be met. So people actually think that having a few 10 minute spells in games of keeping possession in our half or the middle third is going toe to toe with these teams. Even when it ends up 0-3 at home or 6-0 away. Its blinkered.

We are not the Harlem Globetrotters, we should be aiming to do whatever it takes to win these games. If that means parking the bus against bigger teams so be it. Its better than the recent embarrassments.

Edited by Urban Spaceman

46 minutes ago, Urban Spaceman said:

Celtic need to be judged on a wider sample, but unfortunately even when doing that we are woeful in Europe

The game against Lazio is probably a better example as why we lose games due to our style of play,personally i've got no problem with it,the 2-2 installed belief and confidence which was taken away last night.
St Brendan was brought to Celtic to get results in Europe he hasn't done that but he won't be sacked for that either so it becomes a free hit to try everything possible.
The last time he was here we got humbled by Barcelona and remained unbeaten against Man City
For me the style we play remains entertaining plus can give us a sore one like last night.

4 hours ago, willywastecoat said:

So the 2-2 was a fluke?

Probably. Not necessarily performance wise but results wise.

Just like us beating you in the league cup. Good performance from us and we deserved the win but overall it’s a fluke result. 9 time out of 10 Celtic will beat us.

3 hours ago, willywastecoat said:

Only the result of the final matters M8,Juve,Ac Milan,Barcelona,Man UTD,Liverpool are all good scalps it's time we started getting them again.

Those good scalps don't matter though, only the result of the final matters. 

According to you. 

At the beginning of that very same post. 

2 hours ago, Urban Spaceman said:

As willy's post prove (wind up or not) as other Celtic fans can attest there's a conceit within the club that we must and do always play attacking football.

Its been there as long as I remember (in the lean years it was the only solice) and I think Ange's spell increased in recently as he refused to have a plan B and was found out in Europe. (anyone who watched Spurs 9 men v Chelsea and his interview after - will recognise his stubborn streak in refusing to adapt. Even against an disorganised struggling Chelsea).

I had hoped that Brendan would be more pragmatic, be he seems to have bought into the myth.

A big part of the issue IS the problem of playing St Mirren on a Saturday and either of the Madrid teams on a Tuesday. But its not the diddies fault, Its our arrogance to think we can play the same way in both games. Despite decades of evidence to the contrary. 

The issue is as others say exacerbated by a fawning media and chumps like Hartson that will make all sorts of excuses before actually criticising our set up and approach. These teams let us have the ball for spells, as they can see in Europe we are completely ineffectual in the final third. They only engage when we near the D of the penalty box, even encouraging us to cross as they know its not going to be met. So people actually think that having a few 10 minute spells in games of keeping possession in our half or the middle third is going toe to toe with these teams. Even when it ends up 0-3 at home or 6-0 away. Its blinkered.

We are not the Harlem Globetrotters, we should be aiming to do whatever it takes to win these games. If that means parking the bus against bigger teams so be it. Its better than the recent embarrassments.

You'll be having your devotion to the cause questioned with common sense like that.

5 hours ago, willywastecoat said:

The Celtic way is an identity and successful, nothing is guaranteed, parking the bus and still getting beat is a diddy mentality.

If there ever was a 'Celtic Way" it ended in the late 90s/early2000s when the PLC/corporation (formerly known as The Celtic Football and Athletic Company) rejected Fergus McCann's sensible fiscal approach and adopted the suicidal Rangers/Souness/Murray/Thatcher/Neoliberal mindset of inflating wages and transfer fees for sporting mercenaries, to allow them to occasionally sit at the same table as the real big teams (dining on crumbs mainly, but occasionally allowed to taste a mouthful of hors d'ouevres), craving compliments about their stadium and atmosphere and blah blah blah.

Celtic have become Rangers. Everything that was hated about the loadsamoney, all-conquering, entitled and arrogant Rangers is now the Celtic Way. 

You have become your enemy.

Rodgers spoke about the huge gulf between his players and the players at Atletico. It's a difficult for a manager to say something like this because it's like he is saying his players are not very good.

I want to know if he thinks there is a huge gulf between himself and Simeone. I would ask him that question.

8 hours ago, AJF said:

I was referring to your claim of:

If parking the bus may potentially yield a better result, why would you be against it?

One of our most famous results in the competition came from parking the bus so I have nothing against it when the time is right.

Atletico are a bit of an anomaly though due to how defensive they play. They would have been happy to give us all as much of the ball as we wanted 11v11 such is their confidence to defend and counterattack. When we go a man down you see their shape change a bit to go much more attacking and they were absolutely ruthless and we aren’t.

We are still very naive at this level which is the last thing Simeone is, he couldn’t  give a f**k about shithousing his way to a result, it’s probably what he prefers.

Edited by Jinky67

10 hours ago, ahemps said:

I remember a press conference where he said Scottish football should be supporting them because them getting into CL brings money to the rest. The fact that the money is divided £30m to Celtic and £100k each to the rest is totally lost on him and supporters of these clubs.

Yip, it's a 'logic' that drives me mad.

You even get cretinous fans of diddy clubs coming out with it at times in places like the coefficient thread.

31 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

One of our most famous results in the competition came from parking the bus so I have nothing against it when the time is right.

Atletico are a bit of an anomaly though due to how defensive they play. They would have been happy to give us all as much of the ball as we wanted 11v11 such is their confidence to defend and counterattack. When we go a man down you see their shape change a bit to go much more attacking and they were absolutely ruthless and we aren’t.

We are still very naive at this level which is the last thing Simeone is, he couldn’t  give a f**k about shithousing his way to a result, it’s probably what he prefers.

Why are Celtic still naive at this level though? They’ve been champions of Scotland for years. Why are they not improving in Europe and becoming more experienced at getting results? Teams from other lower European leagues seem to manage it. 

7 minutes ago, olliethedug said:

Why are Celtic still naive at this level though? They’ve been champions of Scotland for years. Why are they not improving in Europe and becoming more experienced at getting results? Teams from other lower European leagues seem to manage it. 

It’s a great question which I’d love the answer to myself however can only give you my own thoughts.

Firstly we seem to think we can play these teams the same way we play Ross County, aye we can pass the ball about but what we can’t do is concede 10 chances to lose 1 and make 10 to score 1. It’s just not viable we have to be much more direct and much more clinical, it’s why MON’s sides were successful. We were direct, physical and clinical. 

Secondly part of it is to do with our transfer model which is great if all you care about is winning the league and staying wealthier than anyone else in Scotland. We sign these prospects that we hope to develop to a Champions League level and sell them before they do for a profit. We rarely sign anyone already at it, an example of which was Fabian Rieder a really good player who already played Champions League and done well with YB but we wouldn’t pay the money and he went to Rennes for 15 million. 

3 hours ago, Luddite said:

If there ever was a 'Celtic Way" it ended in the late 90s/early2000s when the PLC/corporation (formerly known as The Celtic Football and Athletic Company) rejected Fergus McCann's sensible fiscal approach and adopted the suicidal Rangers/Souness/Murray/Thatcher/Neoliberal mindset of inflating wages and transfer fees for sporting mercenaries, to allow them to occasionally sit at the same table as the real big teams (dining on crumbs mainly, but occasionally allowed to taste a mouthful of hors d'ouevres), craving compliments about their stadium and atmosphere and blah blah blah.

Celtic have become Rangers. Everything that was hated about the loadsamoney, all-conquering, entitled and arrogant Rangers is now the Celtic Way. 

You have become your enemy.

The board keep the dosh in the bank, they don't spend it on the first team plus they don't spend dosh they don't have nothing like our noisy neighbours.

Just now, willywastecoat said:

The board keep the dosh in the bank, they don't spend it on the first team plus they don't spend dosh they don't have nothing like our noisy neighbours.

They keep that money in the bank? They don't spend it on the first team? So if we compared the wage bill of St. Mirren and Celtic they'd be roughly the same?

Celtic fans like to pretend they still have some admirable ideology they hold fast to and are in denial that the corporate entity they blindly live vicariously through is just one more tentacle of Mammon sucking society dry of everything and anything that used to hold any true meaning or value.

Keep up the tifo's in support of oppressed minority groups lads (while wearing ugly, over-priced synthetic shite stitched together in Asian sweatshops)

37 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

It’s a great question which I’d love the answer to myself however can only give you my own thoughts.

Firstly we seem to think we can play these teams the same way we play Ross County, aye we can pass the ball about but what we can’t do is concede 10 chances to lose 1 and make 10 to score 1. It’s just not viable we have to be much more direct and much more clinical, it’s why MON’s sides were successful. We were direct, physical and clinical. 

Secondly part of it is to do with our transfer model which is great if all you care about is winning the league and staying wealthier than anyone else in Scotland. We sign these prospects that we hope to develop to a Champions League level and sell them before they do for a profit. We rarely sign anyone already at it, an example of which was Fabian Rieder a really good player who already played Champions League and done well with YB but we wouldn’t pay the money and he went to Rennes for 15 million. 

Yep we have the money in the bank to be abit more ambitious but the way the board operates that just not going to happen, they'll free up enough money to ensure we stay no.1 in Scotland and that's yer wack.

I was hoping when Rangers got the EL final that it would serve as a wake up call to the club that's prolonged ventures in Europe are still a very real possibility (and also emphasize how much we have underachieved) but so far I don't really see anything that would suggest our mindset has changed.