Kilwinning Rangers 24/25

3 hours ago, Black Pennel said:

And yet...the History Buff doesn't seem to know that it is actually "Todhill"...that is to say, where the foxes live. Feck all tae dae wae toads. Or badgers.

That's all you need to know about the ancient history of the famous Pennyburn Rangers.

Todhill😂😂😂😂😂I worked there for 12 years.   That’s NOT a spelling mistook, smarty.  Pennyburn is an ancient part of Kilwinning btw.  And toads, frogs and fish once thrived on KSC land when the Pennyburn folk of ten thousand years ago hunted what was eventually named Fairlie Bog.  Oh and I stay in Pennyburn - it’s great to hear people like your very clever self acknowledge the area. Plenty of Buffs fans here ✊💙⚽️  

5 minutes ago, History Buff said:

Todhill😂😂😂😂😂I worked there for 12 years.   That’s NOT a spelling mistook, smarty.  Pennyburn is an ancient part of Kilwinning btw.  And toads, frogs and fish once thrived on KSC land when the Pennyburn folk of ten thousand years ago hunted what was eventually named Fairlie Bog.  Oh and I stay in Pennyburn - it’s great to hear people like your very clever self acknowledge the area. Plenty of Buffs fans here ✊💙⚽️  

Oh, and Buffs Park happens to be the club’s  EIGHTH move around the town in its 125 year history.   So if you think using Pennyburn Rangers annoys us, you are so wrong - and so out of touch with our local history.   Have you actually ever attended a match at Buffs Park?  
Sunday sees a hundred yard Fancy Dress, Charity Dash on it - get yerself a muppet costume and moan doon. 

200.gif?cid=ff874017922joya298vuwr6u56b2

1 hour ago, History Buff said:

On 12/08/2024 at 17:50, andy25 said:

To be fair the Buffs were desperate for the pyramid. 

Worked out well eh 🤔

The Pyramid was never mentioned, Buffs were desperate for an alternative to the Juniors for multiple reasons the glass ceiling being just one.

Turned put a good few others were unhappy too, the majority as it turned out.

The amount of calls in support we took when we put the post out saying we were looking at an alternative was incredible and indicative of the unrest in the Junior ranks.

The wosfl and pyramid came thereafter.

Hasn't worked out for us yet, but the oppertunity is there.

For the most part, teams will find their level and play the teams they have traditionally played, but now, if your good enough, have the ambition and have the resources you can advance.

8 minutes ago, Leeco10 said:

The Pyramid was never mentioned, Buffs were desperate for an alternative to the Juniors for multiple reasons the glass ceiling being just one.

Turned put a good few others were unhappy too, the majority as it turned out.

The amount of calls in support we took when we put the post out saying we were looking at an alternative was incredible and indicative of the unrest in the Junior ranks.

The wosfl and pyramid came thereafter.

Hasn't worked out for us yet, but the oppertunity is there.

For the most part, teams will find their level and play the teams they have traditionally played, but now, if your good enough, have the ambition and have the resources you can advance.

The pyramid was absolutely mentioned. A simple Google search will show you that. 

39 minutes ago, coistysgoldenboots said:

The pyramid was absolutely mentioned. A simple Google search will show you that. 

I stand corrected, and what makes it worse, I was at the meeting when we voted to look at alternatives🙈

I don't rember the pyramid being mentioned, and I took minutes of the meeting for my own records and have no note of it other than the Pyramid working group.

Hey ho, canny be right all the time🤣

Of course the pyramid was a factor but no one was saying we were going to rattle up it in jig time. Sure things have went backwards, but sometimes you have to make mistakes to get things right. Who knows how it will end up, the buffs have been down the divisions far lower than where we are now. Hence stability on and off the park is important this season!

This is old hat

Doesn't matter if Kilwinning instigated it or were part of it or even jumped on the bandwagon later.  Their committee and fans were just unhappy at the level they were at, meaning junior football due to the ceiling it created. In reality all you could do was win the league and not go any further and just start again each year doing the same thing over and over again.  With the pyramid, any team that wants to progress, or try to progress or even dream of progressing can now do so, what is so wrong with that?. While we are at it, there's nothing wrong with teams who don't want to progress, I think thats fine but many just did not want to get held back because of them.  The pyramid is not all about being promoted its about relegation as well, seeing teams throughout the league progressing and falling, so they just need to be run well..

Obviously Kilwinning are not where they want to be right now and didn't expect it but in their 125 year odd history I'm sure they have had a few years in the doldrums and a few years doing great, thats expected for teams over 100 years and I'm sure will happen to most in the future.

Interesting one to find out if anyone knows.  How many teams were licensed in the old junior league and how many more have been licensed since joining the WOSFL?

p.s.  Sounded like a good hard fought win last night against a tough team

There's a few people happy to kick the Buffs on here.

Bottom line is nobody at the Buffs cares very much what these people think.

Buffs are 125 years old this year and still going strong.

Many a club treasurer is delighted when the Buffs rock up at their ground and top up their bank balance.

Like almost all clubs, we have our ups and we have our downs. I've a sneaking feeling that with the new manager our down is going to be stabilised this season.

Onwards and upwards COYB 🔵 ⚪ 🔵 ⚪ 

14 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Interesting one to find out if anyone knows.  How many teams were licensed in the old junior league and how many more have been licensed since joining the WOSFL?

"A total of 99 clubs voted for joining the pyramid, with 55 rejecting the proposal. Four clubs failed to respond.

However, only 15 of those 154 clubs meet the entry level club licensing committee."

That was a quote from the  Daily Record at the time.

I'd also be interested to see how many went for the SFA License since🤔

20 minutes ago, funky monkey said:

There's a few people happy to kick the Buffs on here.

Bottom line is nobody at the Buffs cares very much what these people think.

Buffs are 125 years old this year and still going strong.

Many a club treasurer is delighted when the Buffs rock up at their ground and top up their bank balance.

Like almost all clubs, we have our ups and we have our downs. I've a sneaking feeling that with the new manager our down is going to be stabilised this season.

Onwards and upwards COYB 🔵 ⚪ 🔵 ⚪ 

I think some take the points made on the buffs personally and as having it in for them, when really its just discussion like there is with most clubs. 

IMO - the buffs are 100% a premier league club. Fantastic facilities, fantastic support, but just haven't produced on the pitch in recent years.

I don't share your enthusiasm with the managerial appointment this year, I think its a backward step and I dont think many of the signings are good enough, but, time will tell. 

one thing is for sure, I would like to be wrong, you guys get up and back into the prem where you belong.

thats an opinion, not having a kick or having it in for them. would have a cheek considering where my club are at just now. 

2 hours ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

This is old hat

Doesn't matter if Kilwinning instigated it or were part of it or even jumped on the bandwagon later.  Their committee and fans were just unhappy at the level they were at, meaning junior football due to the ceiling it created. In reality all you could do was win the league and not go any further and just start again each year doing the same thing over and over again.  With the pyramid, any team that wants to progress, or try to progress or even dream of progressing can now do so, what is so wrong with that?. While we are at it, there's nothing wrong with teams who don't want to progress, I think thats fine but many just did not want to get held back because of them.  The pyramid is not all about being promoted its about relegation as well, seeing teams throughout the league progressing and falling, so they just need to be run well..

Obviously Kilwinning are not where they want to be right now and didn't expect it but in their 125 year odd history I'm sure they have had a few years in the doldrums and a few years doing great, thats expected for teams over 100 years and I'm sure will happen to most in the future.

Interesting one to find out if anyone knows.  How many teams were licensed in the old junior league and how many more have been licensed since joining the WOSFL?

p.s.  Sounded like a good hard fought win last night against a tough team

2 hours ago, Westy1 said:

I think some take the points made on the buffs personally and as having it in for them, when really its just discussion like there is with most clubs. 

IMO - the buffs are 100% a premier league club. Fantastic facilities, fantastic support, but just haven't produced on the pitch in recent years.

I don't share your enthusiasm with the managerial appointment this year, I think its a backward step and I dont think many of the signings are good enough, but, time will tell. 

one thing is for sure, I would like to be wrong, you guys get up and back into the prem where you belong.

thats an opinion, not having a kick or having it in for them. would have a cheek considering where my club are at just now. 

It’s a good post, sir.  Kevin has scraped a team together in no time at all, really. I know little of his past.  However, his enthusiasm at the side of the pitch is impressive. He has double the points on board that what we had last year. And, the Buffs support are delighted. Personally, I thought we were doomed for relegation before a ball was kicked tbh. As for the players, I’ve seen better at Buffs but fair play to the lads, they’ve at least given one auld fan hope we might stay up.  Then, of course, you have to wonder what Kevin would have achieved had he arrived at a club not in turmoil, offering wads of cash to buy up market players.  If we beat Cumbernauld, we are on course for the promotion spots.  Wait until he unleashes a couple of cracking youung strikers from our 20s. I’ve a feeling they will aid our cause admirably at some point in the season.  It’s a bargain basement team producing the goods.  Not getting carried away, but there are smiles all around me now at Buffs Park. I’d say it’s nothing short of a miracle earning so many points early on.  And the goal from home bred Campbell McLean (the next Billy Bremner 😉) last night was celebrated like it was 1999.  Kissing the badge and meaning it always get us Ruffs and Tuffs excited ⚽💙✊

35 minutes ago, History Buff said:

It’s a good post, sir.  Kevin has scraped a team together in no time at all, really. I know little of his past.  However, his enthusiasm at the side of the pitch is impressive. He has double the points on board that what we had last year. And, the Buffs support are delighted. Personally, I thought we were doomed for relegation before a ball was kicked tbh. As for the players, I’ve seen better at Buffs but fair play to the lads, they’ve at least given one auld fan hope we might stay up.  Then, of course, you have to wonder what Kevin would have achieved had he arrived at a club not in turmoil, offering wads of cash to buy up market players.  If we beat Cumbernauld, we are on course for the promotion spots.  Wait until he unleashes a couple of cracking youung strikers from our 20s. I’ve a feeling they will aid our cause admirably at some point in the season.  It’s a bargain basement team producing the goods.  Not getting carried away, but there are smiles all around me now at Buffs Park. I’d say it’s nothing short of a miracle earning so many points early on.  And the goal from home bred Campbell McLean (the next Billy Bremner 😉) last night was celebrated like it was 1999.  Kissing the badge and meaning it always get us Ruffs and Tuffs excited ⚽💙✊

Great post Jim 👏. Completely agree.

4 hours ago, ibenji said:

the buffs have been down the divisions far lower than where we are now.

Didn't know too much about your history so looked it up, turns out Kilwinning have spent 11 seasons outside the top division since the West Region began in 2002, so there's always been ups and downs. https://fchd.info/KILWINNR.HTM

3 hours ago, Leeco10 said:

"A total of 99 clubs voted for joining the pyramid, with 55 rejecting the proposal. Four clubs failed to respond.

However, only 15 of those 154 clubs meet the entry level club licensing committee."

That 15 refers to SJFA clubs who thought they could get licensed. In 2018 only one club in each SJFA region had an SFA licence (also 4 EOS, 4 SOS, Glasgow Uni and Golspie). Today there's 48 clubs below tier 5 with a licence.

Obviously if you're a club moving stadium then you're going to want to have the possibility of applying for an SFA licence as a reward for the hard work you've put in, of course without being part of the pyramid then clubs couldn't do that...

6 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Didn't know too much about your history so looked it up, turns out Kilwinning have spent 11 seasons outside the top division since the West Region began in 2002, so there's always been ups and downs. https://fchd.info/KILWINNR.HTM

That 15 refers to SJFA clubs who thought they could get licensed. In 2018 only one club in each SJFA region had an SFA licence (also 4 EOS, 4 SOS, Glasgow Uni and Golspie). Today there's 48 clubs below tier 5 with a licence.

Obviously if you're a club moving stadium then you're going to want to have the possibility of applying for an SFA licence as a reward for the hard work you've put in, of course without being part of the pyramid then clubs couldn't do that...

That's all true. Of course these were the days when bang average players weren't expecting £200-300 a week.

3 hours ago, Leeco10 said:

Well the WOSFL was started in 2020/21
In the Scottish cup that year there was no teams from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish cup apart from Glasgow university. So only previous teams from the old junior leagues were the winners of the Junior cup, so officially didn't nee dot be licensed 

The season 2021/22
There were  7 teams from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish cup, so I presume were all licensed. The teams were Auchinleck Talbot, Clydebank, Cumnock, Darvel, Irvine Meadow, Girvan and Glasgow University, (girvan and Glasgow Uni not from the old Junior set up)

P.s that year EOSFL had 24 teams playing in the Scottish Cup season 21/22.

Season 22/23
There were 14 from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish Cup So again I presume licensed.
Those teams were:

Auchinleck Talbot, Clydebank, Cumnock, Darvel, Irvine Meadow, Kilwinning Rangers, Pollok, Benburb, Bonnyton Thistle, Drumchapel United, Rutherglen Glencairn, Glasgow University, Girvan and Threave Rovers; (Girvan, Glasgow Uni, Threave Rovers and (Drumchapel United?) not from the old Junior set up)

P.s that year EOSFL had 26 teams playing in the Scottish Cup season 22/23.

This was Kilwinning's first season in the Scottish cup having been licensed and reached the second round, put out by Forfar.

Just now, Bestsinceslicebread said:

In the Scottish cup that year there was no teams from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish cup apart from Glasgow university. So only previous teams from the old junior leagues were the winners of the Junior cup, so officially didn't nee dot be licensed 

The season 2021/22
There were  7 teams from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish cup, so I presume were all licensed. The teams were Auchinleck Talbot, Clydebank, Cumnock, Darvel, Irvine Meadow, Girvan and Glasgow University, (girvan and Glasgow Uni not from the old Junior set up)

Season 22/23
There were 14 from the WOSFL playing in the Scottish Cup So again I presume licensed.
Those teams were:

Auchinleck Talbot, Clydebank, Cumnock, Darvel, Irvine Meadow, Kilwinning Rangers, Pollok, Benburb, Bonnyton Thistle, Drumchapel United, Rutherglen Glencairn, Glasgow University, Girvan and Threave Rovers; (Girvan, Glasgow Uni, Threave Rovers and (Drumchapel United?) not from the old Junior set up)

This was Kilwinning's first season in the Scottish cup having been licensed and reached the second round, put out by Forfar.

Great info 👍

8 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

The season 2021/22

Season 22/23
Those teams were:

Drumchapel United qualified that season through winning the Strathclyde Cup and then the Cup Winners' Shield, they are not yet a licensed club.

11 minutes ago, glensmad said:

Drumchapel United qualified that season through winning the Strathclyde Cup and then the Cup Winners' Shield, they are not yet a licensed club.

Thanks Glensmad
Knew there was something why they qualified as thats why I had the question mark, but they weren't part of the old junior set up anyways so suppose Drumchapel and the rest in brackets not considered regarding the point of the post, which is not being held back and wanting to progress.

So it works out
from the old junior West League
20/21   -   5 teams are licensed in total
21/22   -   9 teams are licensed in total, including Kilwinning, so its clear progression

Edited by Bestsinceslicebread