Hibs' Next Permanent Manager

Who will be Hibernian's next permanent manager?   

205 members have voted

4 hours ago, Chefki Kuqi said:

Only thing I would say is that I've given him these jobs - he likely won't get either. Off the back of his relative success at Lincoln and Oxford he may get a slightly better League 1/lower half Championship job, but I don't see any Premier League chasing club risking it on a manager finishing 17th with Lincoln, no matter that that's relatively decent. 

So quite why I propped him up for such this morning, well I feel fairly silly.

You're right in everything that you say in the sense that English jobs, so long as reasonably successful, probably count for more towards most British manager's ultimate ambition which is managing in the EPL/other top leagues than does success in Scotland. 

All that said there's the opinion that Appleton probably needs time and patience to do well, and even then he's left Lincoln in 17th. Whether he'd get that at Hibs, well I'm not sure he'd feel that way looking from the outside in.

In conclusion:

Larry David Reaction GIF

Not sure why Hibs fans think Appleton has been successful. In his managerial career, he has one promotion and one relegation to his name. Win percentage of 38%, significantly lower than Jack Ross at 49%, who I still believe you should have stuck with.

25 minutes ago, Hendo said:

Not sure why Hibs fans think Appleton has been successful. In his managerial career, he has one promotion and one relegation to his name. Win percentage of 38%, significantly lower than Jack Ross at 49%, who I still believe you should have stuck with.

Jack Ross is a nearly man and was deservedly sacked.

His unprecedented triple bed shit last season meant his days were numbered with the support.

Edited by Crawford Bridge

8 hours ago, Hendo said:

You can dismiss anybody when you remove context and whittle a career down to bare facts.

But context matters. He's clearly a good coach.

1 hour ago, VincentGuerin said:

You can dismiss anybody when you remove context and whittle a career down to bare facts.

But context matters. He's clearly a good coach.

It always amazes me that most Hibs fans seem to believe that Alan Stubbs was a better manager than Jack Ross.

9 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

His unprecedented triple bed shit last season meant his days were numbered with the support.

He took you to a cup semi, two cup finals and third in the league. Still a better option than most of the other managers mentioned. Roy Keane FFS.

40 minutes ago, Hendo said:

He took you to a cup semi, two cup finals and third in the league. Still a better option than most of the other managers mentioned. Roy Keane FFS.

Ross couldn't get Sunderland promotion.

Keane managed to do it a whole division higher up.

10 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Not enough is made of how close Aberdeen ran Hibs for third last season.

Hibs should have ran away with it.

10 hours ago, Hendo said:

The win percentage depends on which team you're playing with. If your team would naturally be in the lower half of the table based on it's resources and usual performance, then 38% - at or just above average - is a good win percentage. If you're Celtic, a win percentage of 50% is shite, sack-the-manager-now material.

Both Appleton's 38% at Lincoln in league one and Ross's 49% at Hibs are good overall scores, though usually those percentages are a bit lower for the run of games leading up to managers getting pushed out the door. (And I do agree that Ross's sacking was a little premature; fan perception places far, far too much weight on losing derbies or losing at Hampden. I mean Maloney did get fired after doing exactly that, but he didn't win any league games either).

41 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

Not enough is made of how close Aberdeen ran Hibs for third last season.

Hibs should have ran away with it.

Look forward to the DVD of your valiant but doomed bid for third spot................😉

The bit in bold is more interesting.

All the dafty pundits were talking us up getting third, but I am not sure if some of them had only watched highlights reels on Sportscene.

If you spoke to the fans who watched week in week out, they could have told you we were weak, one dimensional and only had one out ball - to Martin Boyle.

You didnt have to be Pep Guardiola to work out how Hibs played, and the likes of Callum Davidson had us sussed after one match.

Just now, Leith Green said:

Look forward to the DVD of your valiant but doomed bid for third spot................😉

All the dafty pundits were talking us up getting third, but I am not sure if some of them had only watched highlights reels on Sportscene.

If you spoke to the fans who watched week in week out, they could have told you we were weak, one dimensional and only had one out ball - to Martin Boyle.

You didnt have to be Pep Guardiola to work out how Hibs played, and the likes of Callum Davidson had us sussed after one match.

Well that's the point. A lot is made of Hibs making third but when you see our record after the New Year, Ross made hard work of it.

4 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

Well that's the point. A lot is made of Hibs making third but when you see our record after the New Year, Ross made hard work of it.

I remember that run-in quite well and whilst we did make hard work of it I think we did have a fair bit of catching up to do after a relatively poor festive period? Something in the realm of 10 points I believe. 

3 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Aren't you talking about the start of THIS season, rather than last season, when we got third? When we got third, Nisbet was the Hibs top scorer, not Boyle, and Doidge could be relied on to slap in a handful of goals as well as Boyle. It might not be etched on your memory quite as much since we were all at home watching it on screens rather than being in the stands at Easter Road.

There was definitely something gone wrong at the start of this season when Nisbet seemed to become a morale case, Doidge's goal virginity grew back, and the strategy become Gie the Ball tae Boyler, but I'm not convinced that Jack Ross was the problem at Hibs; managers are a convenient scapegoat since they're paid less and have less contract protection than players, there's only one of them, and the guys behind the scenes are happy not to be the guy that the fans are shouting at each week.

22 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

We didn’t score in about 6 months and hibs remained in touching distance. 

1 hour ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Ross couldn't get Sunderland promotion.

Keane managed to do it a whole division higher up.

I think the fact that Sunderland have now hit their third full time manager in under 2.5 years since sacking Ross, and still haven't been promoted suggests that it's more a Sunderland problem than it was a Jack Ross one.

Keane was in charge at a time when they relatively had their shit together. Now they are the Falkirk of England.

Finishing 3rd was a good achievement for Ross. He failed to build on it and was taking us down the way. When he took over we finished 7th. Then 3rd. He was then sacked with us back in 7th and on a horrible run. 

I don’t see us reaching a league cup semi final as an achievement when you look at the teams he had to beat on the way and the fact that he then got battered by St Johnstone in said semi final. This would become a running theme during his tenure. 

I didn’t mind JR but his time was most certainly up.

We do need better behind the scenes too. Mathie fucked up and lost his job only to be replaced by the owners son who has absolutely no experience in the game and Ben Kensell who specialises in ball deodorant/NFT sponsorship deals and not much else. 

24 minutes ago, Zing. said:

Finishing 3rd was a good achievement for Ross. He failed to build on it and was taking us down the way. When he took over we finished 7th. Then 3rd. He was then sacked with us back in 7th and on a horrible run. 

I don’t see us reaching a league cup semi final as an achievement when you look at the teams he had to beat on the way and the fact that he then got battered by St Johnstone in said semi final. This would become a running theme during his tenure. 

I didn’t mind JR but his time was most certainly up.

We do need better behind the scenes too. Mathie fucked up and lost his job only to be replaced by the owners son who has absolutely no experience in the game and Ben Kensell who specialises in ball deodorant/NFT sponsorship deals and not much else. 

I don't necessarily think he wouldn't have recovered though. 

Initially at-least it looked a good call, with SDG and Maloney winning 10 points out of a possible 12.

Since then however we all know what's happened, I reckon Ross may have been able to put together a better run and have us in the top 6 and possibly even 4th given how awful every time below Hearts has been. 

We sacked him after his second blip of results, the first of which he happened around a similar period in the previous season and indeed ended up with us finishing 3rd. 

That said we may have ended up parting ways with him at the end of this season if a good quality of candidate was available, we may well see whether that's the case in the coming weeks.  

1 hour ago, Chefki Kuqi said:

I remember that run-in quite well and whilst we did make hard work of it I think we did have a fair bit of catching up to do after a relatively poor festive period? Something in the realm of 10 points I believe. 

If I remember correctly, we had a million games in hand and didn't manage to overtake Hibs when it looked like we'd stroll to third just before the Christmas period.

managers are a convenient scapegoat since they're paid less and have less contract protection than players, there's only one of them, and the guys behind the scenes are happy not to be the guy that the fans are shouting at each week.

we all eventually grow out of thinking we could have scored that chance or made that save which a professional sportsman failed to do especially after we hit fourth but we never really stop kidding ourselves that we could do a better job than the manager who’s having a hard time

1 hour ago, Aim Here said:

Aren't you talking about the start of THIS season, rather than last season, when we got third? When we got third, Nisbet was the Hibs top scorer, not Boyle, and Doidge could be relied on to slap in a handful of goals as well as Boyle. It might not be etched on your memory quite as much since we were all at home watching it on screens rather than being in the stands at Easter Road.

There was definitely something gone wrong at the start of this season when Nisbet seemed to become a morale case, Doidge's goal virginity grew back, and the strategy become Gie the Ball tae Boyler, but I'm not convinced that Jack Ross was the problem at Hibs; managers are a convenient scapegoat since they're paid less and have less contract protection than players, there's only one of them, and the guys behind the scenes are happy not to be the guy that the fans are shouting at each week.

Last season Nisbet threw a massive tantrum in Jan after not being transferred.

He was top scorer for the season, but only scored 4 goals between Christmas 2020 and the end of the season.

Boyle got 6 and the Welsh goal virgin 2.

Because of Nisbets wee "drought" we totally relied on Boyle. Anyway, cest la vie its all in the past now.

And you are bang on about the guys behind the scenes, they need dealt with as well as needing a new manager.