The Queen of the South thread

1 hour ago, MallanandFlanagan said:

Sounds like he has been through a horrendous time but came out the other end. Well done Wullie for speaking out and all the best going forward. 

Remember there are two sides to every story.

We are only getting Wullie side strange how he decided to come out with all this just after Annan have  beat us.

29 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

We are only getting Wullie side strange how he decided to come out with all this just after Annan have  beat us.

I would really appreciate hearing the other side of the story too. But I don't think we will...

1 hour ago, Greenacres said:

Sorry but this sounds quite bitter. I really liked Willie as a player but he wasn’t a successful manager ( ironic that Marv is even worse) and seems to carry a lot of baggage. I would line up head both sides of the story…

3 hours ago, HighlandQueen said:

Sorry but this sounds quite bitter. I really liked Willie as a player but he wasn’t a successful manager ( ironic that Marv is even worse) and seems to carry a lot of baggage. I would line up head both sides of the story…

Does the bold bit actually mean 'like to hear'?

I struggled with it for a while.

Wullie Gibson makes some valid points.  However I find the timing of it a little strange.  It would be nice to hear both parties version of events.  Very much doubt that we will though.

1 hour ago, Katboy said:

Wullie Gibson makes some valid points.  However I find the timing of it a little strange.  It would be nice to hear both parties version of events.  Very much doubt that we will though.

Gibson has always been the type of guy who rubs people up the wrong way, but if what he says in the article is true - particularly the part about not being allowed to play - it confirms that Hewitson has indeed taken us back to the Harkness days.  No chairman or board member should interfere or overrule a manager when it comes to team selection in my opinion, but both Harkness and Hewitson seem to be guilty of doing so.  The fact that Wullie had to play McKenna in the position that he would probably have picked himself to play in seems to have ended McKenna's career too, as I don't think he's kicked a ball for anyone since leaving us.  Gibson can be an immature wee f@nny at times, and certainly has a whole poke of chips on his shoulder, but it must be galling for him to see Bartley blundering away with no suggestion that his jacket peg is shoogling.

53 minutes ago, Slipmat said:

Gibson has always been the type of guy who rubs people up the wrong way, but if what he says in the article is true - particularly the part about not being allowed to play - it confirms that Hewitson has indeed taken us back to the Harkness days.  No chairman or board member should interfere or overrule a manager when it comes to team selection in my opinion, but both Harkness and Hewitson seem to be guilty of doing so.  The fact that Wullie had to play McKenna in the position that he would probably have picked himself to play in seems to have ended McKenna's career too, as I don't think he's kicked a ball for anyone since leaving us.  Gibson can be an immature wee f@nny at times, and certainly has a whole poke of chips on his shoulder, but it must be galling for him to see Bartley blundering away with no suggestion that his jacket peg is shoogling.

Yep I’ve always regarded Gibson as a bit of an arse and someone who is on a short fuse. That said the article reflects poorly on our club (presuming it’s true). Just another in a long line of issues to make the fans despair. 

1 hour ago, QoS99 said:

He’ll be away in the summer

Who would spend the money on him currently? He hasn’t played that many games or been as influential due to injury this season. What is the development fee?

11 hours ago, MallanandFlanagan said:

What many already knew. And more. 

DSC_3197.JPG

Yet more from the season from hell that just keeps on giving ...

Someone said there is two sides to every story but we know the court case was the reason he was sacked, pretty obvious, the being told not to play and only manage, that's hard to be a misunderstanding and the medical bills thing , iirc hasn't we had previous for this with other player(s)? 

Id sooner trust Wullie over Hewitson any day if the week.  If you know you know....

While some of that reflects terribly on the Queen of the South board, Gibson still appears to be in denial about being a dreadful manager. That Bartley has contrived to be even worse doesn't change that.

2 hours ago, Kunter said:

Someone said there is two sides to every story but we know the court case was the reason he was sacked, pretty obvious, the being told not to play and only manage, that's hard to be a misunderstanding and the medical bills thing , iirc hasn't we had previous for this with other player(s)? 

Id sooner trust Wullie over Hewitson any day if the week.  If you know you know....

The way Gary Oliver was treated during COVID shocked me also. We should be looking after our employees not treating them like this. 

43 minutes ago, MallanandFlanagan said:

The way Gary Oliver was treated during COVID shocked me also. We should be looking after our employees not treating them like this. 

What happened?

19 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

What happened?

He had a clause in his contract that he would automatically get another year if he played x amount of games. As the season was called off early he never hit that target despite the fact he would have if the season continued, so we released him.

25 minutes ago, QoS99 said:

He had a clause in his contract that he would automatically get another year if he played x amount of games. As the season was called off early he never hit that target despite the fact he would have if the season continued, so we released him.

Of course the manager could gave played him more before the season was called early if he wanted to, to enable him to reach his target, but for whatever reason he didn't, so no guarantee he would have made it anyway. He wasn't exactly a guaranteed starter or used sub at the time anyway.

Edited by Fae_the_'briggs

1 hour ago, QoS99 said:

Thanks. Impossible to prove he would have made the cutoff or not, I suppose, but smells a bit off.

Would be happy if he took to the field as our #10 today tbh.