The Queen of the South thread

Arguably the most important position to get right and we jump in with both feet and sign a keeper who has barely played in the past few seasons. I don’t remember much about his previous time with us but the appearance stats don’t exactly give a ringing endorsement of his credentials. I can’t understand why we didn’t seek out a good loan option. Premier clubs have third choice keepers that desperately need regular game time many of whom are very highly rated. Feel sorry for the barrage of criticism but none of us want to witness a repetition of the last few seasons.

There has been some players who have been poor with other clubs then have shone or at least done ok with us and likewise some poor players with us who have done ok elsewhere but can’t rem any keeper where this has occurred (though hoping there is always a first). 

1 hour ago, sneeuq said:

There has been some players who have been poor with other clubs then have shone or at least done ok with us and likewise some poor players with us who have done ok elsewhere but can’t rem any keeper where this has occurred (though hoping there is always a first). 

Was Butter not a good keeper before he came to us?

16 minutes ago, lyle be back said:

Was Butter not a good keeper before he came to us?

A good example in a fair list of players, not just keepers, who looked good against us then got dragged down to mediocrity soon after they signed for us, usually after looking good in their first handful of games. 

On the Pitch -

As you can see the club has began the off season in electric fashion acting quickly to build a squad for the forthcoming season. With the arrival of new signings Benjamin Luissent, Matty Douglas, Brennan Dickenson, Reece Lyon and Ross Stewart. While also retaining the services of Ben Johnstone, Niall Rogerson and Charlie Cowie. 

The club are now able to confirm upon the expiration of his current contract that Craig McGuffie will not be returning to Palmerston Park in the coming season.  We wish Craig well and thank him for his service to the club.

He joins Josh Todd, Gavin Reilly, Paul McKay, Jordan Houston, Finlay Kennedy, Jay Burns, Gordon Botterill, Cammy Logan, Harvey Walker and Efe Ambrose in moving on over the summer. 

Further negotiations are ongoing with members of last season’s squad and we will update any news when we have it. 

Off the Pitch :
The club has also began making improvements off the field, we have now stripped out the portacabin toilets as the club looks to improve this as well as relaying the front row of the main stand. Our painting regime has started, as the Oakbank terracing has had all barriers painted, this alongside all yellow edgings in the main stand. Further improvements are still planned, including strimming behind the terracing that is undertaken every summer as well as replacing the broken seats in the BDS Stand. Most of the seating is now changed over, however we are still working on a select few in which metal work needs to be attended too. Furthermore the arena carpark has had all gulleys lifted and concreated. Obviously we would love to do more and we will also again be running a fan clean-up for some of the jobs to get fans involved over the close season.
We are delighted to let you all know that we are brining training back to Palmerston Park. We will now run a hybrid training program, using both our training facilities in Hamilton and here at home in Dumfries. We think it is really important that our players get a home game feeling at Palmerston Park. 

As usual we will be running an open training session in pre-season, which will give our fans a chance to come and see a session run by Peter Murphy and his coaching staff.

We are also delighted to announce that the newly appointed CEO Dan Armstrong  will be doing monthly updates to keep everyone up to date over the course of the season.

Season ticket sales have made a good start and I would appeal to you all to get behind the club and get back to Palmerston in your numbers.

We at the club hope you all enjoy the off season and I look forward to seeing you all at Palmerston very soon.

8 minutes ago, ALOREBURNE said:

The club are now able to confirm upon the expiration of his current contract that Craig McGuffie will not be returning to Palmerston Park in the coming season.  We wish Craig well and thank him for his service to the club.

Not really surprising since half of our signed squad seem to be midfielders.  Far from the worst player last season but unfortunate with injuries, good luck to him.

40 minutes ago, ALOREBURNE said:

We are delighted to let you all know that we are bringing training back to Palmerston Park. We will now run a hybrid training program, using both our training facilities in Hamilton and here at home in Dumfries. We think it is really important that our players get a home game feeling at Palmerston Park. 

Ouch ... sounds like someone's been reading the ICT thread on P&B recently, aye? 😎

22 minutes ago, SUPERSOUTH said:

Hopefully Lewis and wee Lee sign up.

It that just Gibson Connelly and Mimnaugh left to sign.

Would hope all 3 will be back but the longer it goes the less likely it will happen .

As for the hybrid training set up it should work we are now getting a few more local and Carlisle based players 

4 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

It that just Gibson Connelly and Mimnaugh left to sign.

Would hope all 3 will be back but the longer it goes the less likely it will happen .

That's a good three to recapture if possible, happy with that.

Why? We don't know the reasons for any delay. The players could be on holiday. They and their agents could be negotiating some final details. Of course, the players could also have other offers to consider ... This is all normal for this time of year. These things will take their course. I'm sure the club are working hard in the background. If we're not successful, we move on ... c'est la vie.

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

That's a good three to recapture if possible, happy with that.

Why? We don't know the reasons for any delay. The players could be on holiday. They and their agents could be negotiating some final details. Of course, the players could also have other offers to consider ... This is all normal for this time of year. These things will take their course. I'm sure the club are working hard in the background. If we're not successful, we move on ... c'est la vie.

Agreed and in fact I'd take it as a good sign that Gibson and Connelly appear to still be in negotiations with us. On the basis of last season, they could both (but especially Gibson) have been unhappy with their treatment and decided to move on without having any/much discussion.

Edited by Riviera711

29 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Ouch ... sounds like someone's been reading the ICT thread on P&B recently, aye? 😎

Maybe they are thinking that there is a correlation with our horrendously, season-on-season, poor home form and the fact that the players only ever see Palmerston once every fortnight.

Familiarity might breed whatever the opposite of contempt is 🤔 (liking, approval ?) and so improve home form.

8 minutes ago, Riviera711 said:

Maybe they are thinking that there is a correlation with our horrendously, season-on-season, poor home form and the fact that the players only ever see Palmerston once every fortnight.

Familiarity might breed whatever the opposite of contempt is 🤔 (liking, approval ?) and so improve home form.

Didn't seem to do us much harm in 12/13 or 14/15.

Comes down to quality, not where you train.

Question regarding Lewis Gibson 

if queens offer contract to him are they not entitled a fee even if he says no to contract because of time he been with club 

ps I think Charlie Cowie may be the same so a no brainer too offer contract. Too both 

think only thing must do is offer a better contract than they were on 

Just now, lowland star said:

Question regarding Lewis Gibson 

if queens offer contract to him are they not entitled a fee even if he says no to contract because of time he been with club 

ps I think Charlie Cowie may be the same so a no brainer too offer contract. Too both 

think only thing must do is offer a better contract than they were on 

Yes both had been offered contracts, Hopefully the board/manager has went back with a better offer for Lewis, another year at Palmerston playing regular will surely benefit both parties.

16 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I heard Lee's holding out until confirmation  that a  KFC grub option will be provided after training.

Well, Hamilton Palace Retail Park (adjacent to the training ground) has both KFC and a Maccy Dees - must be heaven on earth for Lee?  Just sign on the dotted line lad, you know it makes sense ...

44 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Well, Hamilton Palace Retail Park (adjacent to the training ground) has both KFC and a Maccy Dees - must be heaven on earth for Lee?  Just sign on the dotted line lad, you know it makes sense ...

Lee's already familiar with the food outlets near the training ground as Mr Bartley will testify.

53 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Lee's already familiar with the food outlets near the training ground as Mr Bartley will testify.

….and considers any time/place suitable for some finger licking good chicken!!