Nicola Sturgeon Arrested, Peter Murrell Charged

Lex

Even if you accept that they bought a motorhome legitimately (with the requisite party approvals and appropriate funding). The line that it was to be a battle bus during covid is pretty thin. Why did they opt to buy it instead of rent it? Given it has had zero use by the party, the decision to buy it looks like utter incompetence. Even more so when you consider the party's financial issues. 

wtf GIF

Bizarre doesn't even cover it.

41 minutes ago, Trogdor said:

Even if you accept that they bought a motorhome legitimately (with the requisite party approvals and appropriate funding). The line that it was to be a battle bus during covid is pretty thin. Why did they opt to buy it instead of rent it? Given it has had zero use by the party, the decision to buy it looks like utter incompetence. Even more so when you consider the party's financial issues. 

wtf GIF

Buying instead of renting is not that bizarre.

The depreciation on a motorhome would be 10-15% after one year and around 30% after 3 years - we are talking about £1,000 a month.

The cost of hiring a similar motorhome would be £4000-£5000 a month.

If they intended to use it over a sustained period then buying would be more cost effective.

The real bizarre thing is choosing a motorhome in the first place (irrespective of buying or rentng) - it's almost as if they thought lockdown was going to be indefinite.

14 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

The depreciation on a motorhome would be 10-15% after one year and around 30% after 3 years - we are talking about £1,000 a month.

If they intended to use it over a sustained period then buying would be more cost effective.

The real bizarre thing is choosing a motorhome in the first place (irrespective of buying or rentng) - it's almost as if they thought lockdown was going to be indefinite.

Whilst utterly valid, the central point stands. 

Why did a political party buy a motor home, and apparently gift it to the chief executive's mum? 

57 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Whilst utterly valid, the central point stands. 

Why did a political party buy a motor home, and apparently gift it to the chief executive's mum? 

I would really like to see that question answered before I would vote SNP again.

Eta...  Plus all the other unanswered questions.

Edited by ICTJohnboy

52 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

f**k off. Arrant nonsense.

Money is always (unless, it seems, your are in charge of snp finances) a scarce resource. The caravan was (they say) bought for an election campaign tactic (that no-one else - even within the party - knew about) yet you already want to run its’ monetary usefulness for the party over three (THREE!) years??!? 

In your heid, was the Murrell’s’ grand plan to get maybe 10 years election campaigning from doing zero miles on a Dunfermline driveway, secure #Indy, and then they could disappear into the Kintyre sunset on an already 100% depreciated asset? 

On 25/04/2023 at 13:54, Thane of Cawdor said:

I see @The_Kincardine has escaped the "surly bonds" of Pie & Bovril to take a place on a bigger stage.  Or, at least, his Ayrshire doppelganger is reciting his arguments/assertions.

.https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/apr/24/there-is-no-convincing-case-for-scottish-independence

There is no legal case. The UK is a unitary state formed with the agreement of all parties in the Act of Union and its legal status has never been challenged.  

Well-written and sane letter from Alex.  Thanks for posting

Given who they're selecting from it's not fair to expect much from Nat MSPs.  Even so, Colin from Accounts is a bit of a dick.  He didn't know.

Oh but wait...he did know after all:

colinbeaattietreasurer.jpeg.ca157b42177e27fb11abfd70c6cb9225.jpeg

In other news, it looks like the Westminster bromance is back on.  As much as the always immaculately tailored Bunter enjoying a pint of Unionist Porter can have a bromance with the 'dresses like a 20-something in ill-fitting suits' Stephen Flynn quaffing an Aperol Spritz.

1 minute ago, The_Kincardine said:

Given who they're selecting from it's not fair to expect much from Nat MSPs.  Even so, Colin from Accounts is a bit of a dick.  He didn't know.

Oh but wait...he did know after all:

colinbeaattietreasurer.jpeg.ca157b42177e27fb11abfd70c6cb9225.jpeg

In other news, it looks like the Westminster bromance is back on.  As much as the always immaculately tailored Bunter enjoying a pint of Unionist Porter can have a bromance with the 'dresses like a 20-something in ill-fitting suits' Stephen Flynn quaffing an Aperol Spritz.

You're a bit behind if you are fishing Kincy.

This was the main topic of discussion on this thread on Monday.

2 hours ago, Trogdor said:

wtf GIF

That would have meant quite a bit of discussion within the party leadership you would have thought, who was going to use it, how they were going to use it etc. It would make you presume NS at least was aware of it being bought in advance. Unless Murrell decided to surprise her , "wait you see what ive got outside for you."

1 minute ago, ScotiaNostra said:

That would have meant quite a bit of discussion within the party leadership you would have thought, who was going to use it, how they were going to use it etc. It would make you presume NS at least was aware of it being bought in advance. Unless Murrell decided to surprise her , "wait you see what ive got outside for you."

Irrespective of where the police investigation goes it's clear that there has been nothing like an acceptable level of transparency and governance.

1 minute ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

You're a bit behind if you are fishing Kincy.

This was the main topic of discussion on this thread on Monday.

I was in Bath catching up with my wee yin and helping her structure her Honours dissertation.

Glad I came back in time to find you using the word "edgelord'" though.  Very amusing.