Third Division 23/24

Kilsyth 1 Lanark 2

Deserved win but not a huge amount between the teams tbs. Won't be many teams win there this season.

Kilsyth are a good team, try and play football. Big CB recently signed from Petershill impressed.

Kilsyth went ahead through a penalty on 58 minutes. We made 2 substitutions before kicking off and then scored 2 goals on 60th and 62nd minute and had a 3rd harshly disallowed on 63 minutes.

Our good run of form continues.

Just now, bc57 said:

Kilsyth 1 Lanark 2

Deserved win but not a huge amount between the teams tbs. Won't be many teams win there this season.

Kilsyth are a good team, try and play football. Big CB recently signed from Petershill impressed.

Kilsyth went ahead through a penalty on 58 minutes. We made 2 substitutions before kicking off and then scored 2 goals on 60th and 62nd minute and had a 3rd harshly disallowed on 63 minutes.

Our good run of form continues.

Good win at a difficult venue.

Did you get some grub?

5 hours ago, Father Ted said:

Good win at a difficult venue.

Did you get some grub?

As suggested, went to local baker for a sausage roll which accompanied my home made soup to keep the chill at bay

The Gow have lost 38 goals in 14 games and lost 7 today in the cup. I'm hoping their defence doesn't all of a sudden decide to tighten up next weekend.

13 hours ago, bc57 said:

The Gow have lost 38 goals in 14 games and lost 7 today in the cup. I'm hoping their defence doesn't all of a sudden decide to tighten up next weekend.

Losing centre back Sam Duncan to St Roch's this week will not help them    probably their best player

14 hours ago, bc57 said:

We have scored 39. 

It was never a 7-1 game today. There's clearly issues that need to be addressed as we've slumped badly in the last few games.

Im not expecting much next week.

15 minutes ago, Inzaghi said:

Losing centre back Sam Duncan to St Roch's this week will not help them    probably their best player

Sam was in the team when most of these goals were shipped. Not that it's entirely his fault.

Edited by Father Ted

Talking about Lesmahagow, the Lanark games a derby game anything can happen hopeful we get something from it. The next two I feel will decide if we stay up. Port Glasgow home & West Park away if we get beat in them we are in serious trouble. 

Lanark been trimming their squad of late. Two recent signings from SBA and St Rochs who have barely featured have gone. Jordan McCrorie off to Royal Albert.

Kieran Brannan has 3 more games to go of his suspension. Thinks he's only played one half for us since he returned several months ago.  Hoping Aaron Bulloch and Scott Nicol will also be back soon from injury to bolster the quality of a squad that is performing well.

image.thumb.png.92037784d77eda4fd7f952fb5dc6f2e6.png

Plastic!!!!11111

Alexandria’s historic Millburn Park could be turned into a state-of-the-art sports hub, under community-led plans.

Vale of Leven Football Club, Vale Cricket Club, Loch Lomond Rugby Club and The Millburn Trust have come together to push for a radical redevelopment of the Millburn - which they feel will benefit the whole of Alexandria.

The Vale of Leven Community Sports Hub group hope to have a new artificial pitch installed, along with floodlights, enhanced changing facilities - and even a community cafe.

Speaking on behalf of the organisation, Nicola Norrie - club secretary of Loch Lomond RFC - said: “The facilities we have at the moment are all okay. But having one big facility that could benefit the whole community seems like a very positive step forward.

“We’ve seen the Clydebank Community Sports Hub. It’s had about £5m in investment and has been a massive success. That’s what we’re trying to replicate in Alexandria.

“We’ve got the cyclepath at the side of the Millburn, so it has great potential for a cafe or visitors centre as part of the hub. But predominantly it would be used for sport.

“It would be floodlit, it would have new 4G facilities and new changing rooms.

“The plans would provide a new home for a variety of local clubs and provide a space for other community groups to meet, socialise and deliver activities from.”

Work is at an early stage, with the group currently crowdfunding for a feasibility study to allow them access to more funding.

Nicola continued: “We’re at the very early stages of looking for funding. We need to get £10,000 together to pay for the feasibility study.

“Everyone is doing this in a voluntary capacity.

“Everyone associated with the clubs gives up their time to coach and help them run. The bid is totally for the benefit of the area and these clubs.

“We put the feelers out last year with a bid, but we weren’t in the position to move forward. We didn’t have a feasibility study or anything like that.

“We weren’t quite where we are now in terms of what we need to do. Especially with community engagement.

“The rugby club has about 100 children just now, the football club has in the high hundreds. On match days for the clubs you have lots of people coming from all over.

“I’ve had a thought, which hasn’t been discussed, about the benefits of opening a community cafe. But staffing it with people with additional support needs who are looking for a wee job out in the community.

“My own son has additional support needs so it sprung to mind as I was thinking about how we make it work for everyone and benefit the whole community.

“There’s also the potential for older people to come along for a cup of tea and a wee chat; the potential is endless, the ideas are there. We just need to get the funding and attract it pretty quickly.

“Moving forward, depending on the benefit, we may attract other funding sources for longer periods of time, which is the aim.”

And Nicola stressed that the Millburn’s rich history as a sporting venue since the Victorian-era will form a key part of the plans.

“I think it’s important that whatever we do moving forward, the history is maintained”, she added.

“Be that with an exhibition inside or something else. That certainly won’t be lost, and that’s why it’s so important to have The Millburn Trust as part of our working group.

“All the clubs will be respected in their own right. Just because we use this facility doesn’t mean you lose your identity.

“We’re all still affiliated with our own sports and memberships. But we’re also part of this one central location.”

A crowdfunder to help with the cost of the study is open at justgiving.com/crowdfunding/valeoflevencommunitysportshub.

Edited by GNU_Linux

Surprised the Gow never went for Mcgroie far too good for the Albert. Watched him a few times can score goals and very quick. Speaking to his father told me started training too be a fireman missed a lot of training at Lanark. Local boy would have jumped at it probably well worth a punt.

Big game tomorrow for both teams hope Gow can pull it off. The keeper on loan fae Bellshill hopefully he comes onto a game. Not nice to say thought he struggled against Adeer.

4 hours ago, TM1947 said:

Surprised the Gow never went for Mcgroie far too good for the Albert. Watched him a few times can score goals and very quick. Speaking to his father told me started training too be a fireman missed a lot of training at Lanark. Local boy would have jumped at it probably well worth a punt.

Big game tomorrow for both teams hope Gow can pull it off. The keeper on loan fae Bellshill hopefully he comes onto a game. Not nice to say thought he struggled against Adeer.

On loan keeper didn't play against Cumbernauld, it was Jordan Thomson filled in between the sticks in the past.

Hopefully Lewis Melvins thumb has recovered, as might still be too early for Jordan Brown but not out of the question.

Lanark United 1 Gow 2

Three new loan signings  in the team, who aquitted themselves well and our top striker out. The Gow ground out an important win.

Gow went ahead just before half time, through an og by Lewis Meikle.

Lanark pushed for the equaliser in the second half and got it midway through.

Gow were under pressure for large spells of the second half but held out quite well.

A break up the park from the Gow with a few minutes to go and Matty Clarke finished with aplomb to make it 2-1.

Lewis Meikle got sent off for a rash tackle near the end as Gow went for a third.

Much needed win against a good team on their own patch. Reversed the points lost earlier in the season at the Craighead.

Mon the Gow.

Edited by Father Ted

5 hours ago, Father Ted said:

Lanark United 1 Gow 2

Three new loan signings  in the team, who aquitted themselves well and our top striker out. The Gow ground out an important win.

Gow went ahead just before half time, through an og by Lewis Meikle.

Lanark pushed for the equaliser in the second half and got it midway through.

Gow were under pressure for large spells of the second half but held out quite well.

A break up the park from the Gow with a few minutes to go and Matty Clarke finished with aplomb to make it 2-1.

Lewis Meikle got sent off for a rash tackle near the end as Gow went for a third.

Much needed win against a good team on their own patch. Reversed the points lost earlier in the season at the Craighead.

Mon the Gow.

Fair. We were awful first half. 3 half time substitutions changed the dynamic considerably without creating lots of opportunities. When we eventually equalised I could only see one team winning but, a huge defensive blunder put paid to that.  The 2nd yellow was always on the cards and made a painful defeat more costly than it needed to be.

1 hour ago, bc57 said:

Fair. We were awful first half. 3 half time substitutions changed the dynamic considerably without creating lots of opportunities. When we eventually equalised I could only see one team winning but, a huge defensive blunder put paid to that.  The 2nd yellow was always on the cards and made a painful defeat more costly than it needed to be.

Have to agree, after your equaliser I thought it didn't look good and regards to 2nd yellow.

Pies were top notch.

Good to see young yins getting behind team.