Falkirk vs Stirling

9 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

Think so, Falkirk keeper should have been sent off in the first minute for saving a shot outside the penalty area (Craig Nelson I think) but only yellowed, Albion had 2 men sent off at 1-1 then incredibly went 2-1 up, eventually collapsed in the last ten minutes and conceded four goals. 

The most incredulous part was when that numptie Dallas sent Riley off for the sin of getting launched up in the air by a Falkirk player from behind and off the ball about 30 yards back from where the ball was.  Far from the first or last time that eejit sent people off in ludicrous circumstances.  No surprise he ended up having to get escorted from a stadium in a tank at his first world cup.

20 minutes ago, Quentin Taranbino said:

I know this thread is about the game in Falkirk but as there was a mention of the return fixture - how many Falkirk fans do you think would make the trip to Stirling? A similar number that you would take to Alloa?

About 7,500 I'd say. 

I too was at that fucking baltic, rainy game at Forthbank btw. Would have been a mere whippersnapper but I was there. 

Another 6 goal thumping please Fawkirt. 

4 hours ago, WC Boggs said:

The most incredulous part was when that numptie Dallas sent Riley off for the sin of getting launched up in the air by a Falkirk player from behind and off the ball about 30 yards back from where the ball was.  Far from the first or last time that eejit sent people off in ludicrous circumstances.  No surprise he ended up having to get escorted from a stadium in a tank at his first world cup.

That was a different game to the 5-2, game you are referencing is a 2-0 defeat in 93, the Albion really loved a red card at Brockville back in the day.  Pretty sure that was a game that saw two Binos sent off, can't remember the other one, Tom Callaghan also duly obliged with a red in a rearranged midweek game on a freezing cold night in January that season for attempting to kill Richard Cadete with a neck high tackle. 

54 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

That was a different game to the 5-2, game you are referencing is a 2-0 defeat in 93, the Albion really loved a red card at Brockville back in the day.  Pretty sure that was a game that saw two Binos sent off, can't remember the other one, Tom Callaghan also duly obliged with a red in a rearranged midweek game on a freezing cold night in January that season for attempting to kill Richard Cadete with a neck high tackle. 

My memory just seems to keep getting worse, so I'd trust yours over mine. I was at the 5-2 game and don't even remember the 2-0 one, but if I'm getting  two games muddled up it wouldn't be the first time to be honest.

4 minutes ago, WC Boggs said:

My memory just seems to keep getting worse, so I'd trust yours over mine. I was at the 5-2 game and don't even remember the 2-0 one, but if I'm getting  two games muddled up it wouldn't be the first time to be honest.

Robert Reilly got sent off in the 2-0 game in 93 for elbowing Ian McCall, the Albion finished with nine men, think the other sending off may have been Colin Mitchell but the Reilly one sticks in my mind as think he went apeshit at the red card and ended with a 5 or 6 game ban for a volley of fucks to the referee and had to be dragged off the pitch by team mates.

3 hours ago, Quentin Taranbino said:

I know this thread is about the game in Falkirk but as there was a mention of the return fixture - how many Falkirk fans do you think would make the trip to Stirling? A similar number that you would take to Alloa?

Yes, I reckon between 1,000-1,500 depending on how well we're doing.

Probably near that upper number given it's been a few years since our last visit

4 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

Robert Reilly got sent off in the 2-0 game in 93 for elbowing Ian McCall, the Albion finished with nine men, think the other sending off may have been Colin Mitchell but the Reilly one sticks in my mind as think he went apeshit at the red card and ended with a 5 or 6 game ban for a volley of fucks to the referee and had to be dragged off the pitch by team mates.

I didn't see the elbow, but that would explain why McCall put Reilly up in the air. Reilly maybe protesting they both should have got red?  I do remember Reilly sat on the pitch going apeshit at the ref. Then again my memory is clearly so shot I can't trust it on anything very far back.  If only it would blank out on that 7-0 pasting at the Recs.

2 hours ago, Flybhoy said:

Tom Callaghan also duly obliged with a red in a rearranged midweek game on a freezing cold night in January that season for attempting to kill Richard Cadete with a neck high tackle. 

Did he not throw him into the advertising hoardings, and then proceeded to start walking down the tunnel before the red was even shown? Its one of those incidents where the folklore behind it is probably more interesting than what actually happened! 

1 hour ago, WC Boggs said:

I didn't see the elbow, but that would explain why McCall put Reilly up in the air. Reilly maybe protesting they both should have got red?  I do remember Reilly sat on the pitch going apeshit at the ref. Then again my memory is clearly so shot I can't trust it on anything very far back.  If only it would blank out on that 7-0 pasting at the Recs.

He was still protesting his innocence when he was invited to an Albion game last season and met us all in the pub beforehand, explaining the incident in his inimitable style. 🤣

Given the amount of red on our strip, and the fact that this is under the lights, I wonder if the ref will see any issue with SA wearing their all red kit? Their away kit is all black I think, so that would definitely be unsuitable.

Shouldn't be a problem as far as I'm concerned, but you know what officialdom's like these days!

12 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Given the amount of red on our strip, and the fact that this is under the lights, I wonder if the ref will see any issue with SA wearing their all red kit? Their away kit is all black I think, so that would definitely be unsuitable.

Shouldn't be a problem as far as I'm concerned, but you know what officialdom's like these days!

I think we might be in our away strip tbh

I could be talking pish but I'm sure I read somewhere that if sleeves are same colour needs to be change of strip to help refs with handball decisions etc 

Edited by Amarillo Bairn

5 minutes ago, Amarillo Bairn said:

I think we might be in our away strip tbh

I could be talking pish but I'm sure I read somewhere that if sleeves are same colour needs to be change of strip to help refs with handball decisions etc 

Aye, I did wonder if maybe both teams will be wearing their away colours?

3 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

Darvel were probably thinking the same thing to be fair...

In fairness, Darvel were 5 divisions below Aberdeen, that was a lightning in a bottle moment, they were always going to lose to you in the next round. 

31 minutes ago, StewartyMac said:

Well, if we play like we did tonight, we've got a great chance of getting something from this game. I would certainly take a point. 

100% agree Stewarty, just hope we can hit those levels again

10 hours ago, ShaggerG said:

Both teams in home kits - Falkirk will wear a change of socks though