12 hours ago, Shankland1874 said:

I want a decent modern ground with a stand and proper terracing. If it’s plastic or hybrid then would help with the finances going forward 

Give us peace newlandsfield is a great venue and the more and more I see these pish community plastic venues then the more I fall out of love with the game.  

If you want to watch woman's and weans football go to petershill.

14 hours ago, Shankland1874 said:

I want a decent modern ground with a stand and proper terracing. If it’s plastic or hybrid then would help with the finances going forward 

Imagine hoping that for your club.

5 minutes ago, Shanner said:

What sort of dosh do clubs make on their plazzy pitches after overheads like cleaning, utilities and general maintenance costs? 

Would reckon costs are even higher on a hybrid pitch.

Just now, jimbaxters said:

Would reckon costs are even higher on a hybrid pitch.

I'm sure there is some money to be made but I would think this is overstated at times. I don't really blame clubs for trying it but I'd be gutted if Talbot turned round and came out with this.

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, Shanner said:

What sort of dosh do clubs make on their plazzy pitches after overheads like cleaning, utilities and general maintenance costs? 

It's more about money saved, less postponed, reduced training costs for first and any youth teams. Costs less to subsidise youths etc.

Hires might bring some money in, but nearly every school and sports centre has pitches now.

Eta, hybrid is really just a grass pitch, the synthetic percentage isn't  much, just makes it a bit more robust.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

It's more about money saved, less postponed, reduced training costs for first and any youth teams. Costs less to subsidise youths etc.

Hires might bring some money in, but nearly every school and sports centre has pitches now 

Whether folk like it or not, with the increased wetter climate to look forward to. Plastic pitches may be the only way to get a season completed before the next one starts sooner rather than later at lower levels.

1 minute ago, An Absolute Imposter said:

Whether folk like it or not, with the increased wetter climate to look forward to. Plastic pitches may be the only way to get a season completed before the next one starts sooner rather than later at lower levels.

Clubs, generally, need to be pragmatic. We'd all love old Petershill or Kirkintilloch but it's not going to happen.

Armadale got the best of both worlds by improving the existing ground and installing astro. Not all cubs will be able to do that.

2 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Clubs, generally, need to be pragmatic. We'd all love old Petershill or Kirkintilloch but it's not going to happen.

Armadale got the best of both worlds by improving the existing ground and installing astro. Not all cubs will be able to do that.

KRR would love a home anywhere.

Each club will need to look at options available to them, if it comes to having to make a decision.

Like you say Armadale has worked for them as has Cummock/Clydebank/Yoker. Others will have to go down the route of Kilwinning/Eglinton/Petershill and KRR if that ever gets sorted.

But we will probably end up with a load of Huntershill's, Stepford, Sportsfield's etc.

20 hours ago, Shankland1874 said:

Newlandsfield is one of if not the best grounds with one of the best pitches in non-league football. Even hinting at being happy to lose that in favour of a plastic pitch and some unknown new location is madness. It being harder to compete with complete non-entitys such as Gartcairn and St Cadoc's should not come into the thinking when the alternative is to completely rip up the fabric of the club. 

You've mentioned that you want the club to work closer with the community previously and have done so again. it's as baffling a statement to me now as it was then. It's completely separate from the situation in reality. 

On 01/05/2024 at 10:47, Fulton One Nil said:

My only agenda is to highlight the execs who are completely responsible (and remain in place) for taking Pollok to the edge of oblivion but have the arrogance not make the appropriate changes required, be transparent, not move away from cliques and generally intend running the club like it's a wee youth football team.

I want members and supporters to see how many bad or seemingly selfish decisions are made, who's making them and try to encourage everyone to both ask questions and ask for substance to the answers.

This would never happen in any other multi million pound company - businesses are circling and preparing to take full advantage of the execs weekly demonstartion of ineptitude and dysfunction.

There is not a single doubt in my mind that you are being extremely disingenuous with all of this. If you have the clubs best interests at heart, why not become a member and try and be part of the positive change that you are supposedly so desperate to see? 

From my limited experience with a number of members of the committee over the years, each and every one of them put the club first in every decision they make.

Time will tell if that's the same with yourself but I suspect I know the answer. 

9 minutes ago, Dean Learner said:

Newlandsfield is one of if not the best grounds with one of the best pitches in non-league football. Even hinting at being happy to lose that in favour of a plastic pitch and some unknown new location is madness. It being harder to compete with complete non-entitys such as Gartcairn and St Cadoc's should not come into the thinking when the alternative is to completely rip up the fabric of the club. 

You've mentioned that you want the club to work closer with the community previously and have done so again. it's as baffling a statement to me now as it was then. It's completely separate from the situation in reality. 

There is not a single doubt in my mind that you are being extremely disingenuous with all of this. If you have the clubs best interests at heart, why not become a member and try and be part of the positive change that you are supposedly so desperate to see? 

From my limited experience with a number of members of the committee over the years, each and every one of them put the club first in every decision they make.

Time will tell if that's the same with yourself but I suspect I know the answer. 

Used to be one of the best grounds. Floodlights are a good start but the council found fault when they cut the capacity limit.  Surprised you don’t think advertising crowd funding in ihe area or promoting season tickets locally. Frozen prices are a good start 

Plastic or hybrid are the future, like it or not. Look at our traditional pile-up of April-May fixtures owing to Guy's Meadow being unplayable much of the winter.

Pains me to say it but one of the exceptions is Duncansfield where the grass surface is always superb.

32 minutes ago, Shankland1874 said:

Used to be one of the best grounds. Floodlights are a good start but the council found fault when they cut the capacity limit.  Surprised you don’t think advertising crowd funding in ihe area or promoting season tickets locally. Frozen prices are a good start 

The capacity limit has been greatly increased this season so unsure what point you are trying to make with that? For actually going to watch a game of football it remains easily one of the best grounds. There is no debate to be had on that and it's a cast iron guarantee that attendances would drop significantly if the club moved to some new, soulless 'facility'. 

Season tickets went on sale today. The club were at a primary school open day last weekend promoting them. They also have good relations with a number of local businesses(local pub sponsoring the bus and hosting the pre/post game for the cup final, as a very recent example). 

47 minutes ago, Shankland1874 said:

Would you rather the club went bust or unable to compete due to finances

Pollock have existed for well over a century and well before plastic pitches were even thought about . 

9 minutes ago, Dean Learner said:

The capacity limit has been greatly increased this season so unsure what point you are trying to make with that? For actually going to watch a game of football it remains easily one of the best grounds. There is no debate to be had on that and it's a cast iron guarantee that attendances would drop significantly if the club moved to some new, soulless 'facility'. 

Season tickets went on sale today. The club were at a primary school open day last weekend promoting them. They also have good relations with a number of local businesses(local pub sponsoring the bus and hosting the pre/post game for the cup final, as a very recent example). 

I think you should be asking more questions of the committee about this reported move as highlighted by another poster on here

3 minutes ago, Shankland1874 said:

I think you should be asking more questions of the committee about this reported move as highlighted by another poster on here

Reported by who? 

If I'm wrong, I'm wrong but I'll wait and see it coming from a more reliable source than a guy on a forum who so very clearly has an axe to grind. 

20 minutes ago, Dean Learner said:

Reported by who? 

If I'm wrong, I'm wrong but I'll wait and see it coming from a more reliable source than a guy on a forum who so very clearly has an axe to grind. 

To be fair his username is decent from one of our greatest ever cups wins and fanzines back in the day

1 hour ago, Shankland1874 said:

I have, and it’s complete bull. Moves from Newlandsfield have been considered numerous times since the 80s, but theres nothing on the cards just now. Not even close. Interesting ‘Fulton One Nil’ chooses to post his tinpot theories on here and not on the Pollok Forum!

1 hour ago, mtln said:

I have, and it’s complete bull. Moves from Newlandsfield have been considered numerous times since the 80s, but theres nothing on the cards just now. Not even close. Interesting ‘Fulton One Nil’ chooses to post his tinpot theories on here and not on the Pollok Forum!

Spot on.Not sure what the hidden agenda is here!