The Garrick Club

Might be a slightly edgy issue to raise, but I was listening to the 11.00 to 12.00 LBC debate about members of the Garrick Club agreeing to allow women to become members.

Are there any other "male only" or "female only" organisations that might be due for a re-examination of their membership policies?

Also, risking raising an even thornier issue, how would such organisations deal with transgender issues?

I leave it to the members of P&B to deal with this issue in the usual calm, respectful manner.

I'm a member of the Edinburgh City Social Club and that's it. 

We let women in but the club used to have a rule about "no jeans or t-shirts in the upstairs bar after 7pm" but since the club moved and the old radge members snuffed it/f*cked off in the huff it doesn't matter anymore. 

When are the WI going to let in chaps then? Some chaps might like knitting, baking and chatting total shite. 

6 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

We let women in but the club used to have a rule about "no jeans or t-shirts in the upstairs bar after 7pm" but since the club moved and the old radge members snuffed it/f*cked off in the huff it doesn't matter anymore. 

When are the WI going to let in chaps then? Some chaps might like knitting, baking and chatting total shite. 

Learning how to knit sounds like a lot of work.

Just now, BFTD said:

Learning how to knit sounds like a lot of work.

We got taught in primary school. My mother used to insist that I was good at it. and that it was a pity I didn't continue with it. I wasn't and it isn't. 

7 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I'd have thought the old radges would be all for the women strutting about in bra & pants in the upstairs bar ?

1 minute ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

I'd have thought the old radges would be all for the women strutting about in bra & pants in the upstairs bar ?

The sort of women who were members were like Ada and Cissie from Les Dawson's show so perhaps not. 

3 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

We got taught in primary school. My mother used to insist that I was good at it. and that it was a pity I didn't continue with it. I wasn't and it isn't. 

Aye, the girls had lessons when we were all five. The boys got brought in on the first day and they had us make pom-poms. The teacher took one look at my effort and sympathetically said, "maybe this isn't for you", so me (and most of us) went back to learning about dinosaurs and shit.

3 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

I would have an opinion on this but I don't know what the Garrick Club is or what happens in it, so I don't care.

Really.  I thought there was an episode of the X-Files that was all about the Garrick Club although I could be wrong.

1 minute ago, BFTD said:

Aye, the girls had lessons when we were all five. The boys got brought in on the first day and they had us make pom-poms. The teacher took one look at my effort and sympathetically said, "maybe this isn't for you", so me (and most of us) went back to learning about dinosaurs and shit.

Obviously you didn't go to a Staunch Protestant school then...

4 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

I would have an opinion on this but I don't know what the Garrick Club is or what happens in it, so I don't care.

"Not being a woman" isn't the only criterion for membership; I wouldn't worry about it.

1 hour ago, Salt n Vinegar said:

Might be a slightly edgy issue to raise, but I was listening to the 11.00 to 12.00 LBC debate about members of the Garrick Club agreeing to allow women to become members.

Are there any other "male only" or "female only" organisations that might be due for a re-examination of their membership policies?

Also, risking raising an even thornier issue, how would such organisations deal with transgender issues?

I leave it to the members of P&B to deal with this issue in the usual calm, respectful manner.

Mason Boyne | Classic Orangeman parody by the great Robbie Coltrane ...

23 minutes ago, coprolite said:

I’ve applied to join The Nuns. See you in Strasbourg.

Nuns On The Run cast and crew credits - British Comedy Guide

1 minute ago, coprolite said:

I remember they blackballed Paxman, which sounds painful 

Bloody woke Garrick Club.