Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

It establishes a principle that operating EBT's the way Rangers and the Murray Group did is illegal tax evasion which fundamentally doesn't make much odds at this stage of the Oldco's existence and makes no odds at all to Newco. It is important to HMRC in terms of using it as a precedent against others though.

It means HMRC are owed a lot more money by Oldco which they won't get. In the event Oldco had a few pounds more to distribute to creditors they are far less likely to see it now as the Revenue will be in for a greater share of any crumbs.

It means nothing for Rangers in their current guise unless you took remotely seriously the suggestion that Dave King was going to pay off old debts and transfer the business back into Oldco. I doubt that would ever have happened but it certainly won't now.

It's doubtful there will be any pursuit of the individuals who benefited. The liability really lies with the company. Unless the individual can be proven

Thanks for that. I suspected it meant little to the current clumpany but wasn't sure.

If oldco owe 42mill. And newco are found to have been set up fraudulently, and according to the results today the assets are worth in excess of 42mill. Does that mean the assets will be transferred back to oldco and sold off to pay the debt? And also do we get our 2001 cup?

The assets are worth that amount (no laughing at the back!) as a going concern. They would not be worth this amount if they were to be sold in a firesale.

This current crop of diddies isn't a patch on the 2012 mob.

Aye, sure, we're getting the 'financial doping' 'Lance Armstrong FC' title-stripping bollocks as one would expect but to truly make this Groundhog Day we need reference to schools that could have been built or nurses employed if only we'd paid our taxes.

Even a reference to Good Rangers Men paying Her Majesty's Revenue would be an advance on this anodyne pap.

Aye, sure, we're getting the 'financial doping' 'Lance Armstrong FC' title-stripping bollocks as one would expect but to truly make this Groundhog Day we need reference to schools that could have been built or nurses employed if only we'd paid our taxes.

Even a reference to Good Rangers Men paying Her Majesty's Revenue would be an advance on this anodyne pap.

Do you accept that the old Rangers cheated?

Strange that Sevco Rangers chose to release the accounts on the very day that the Moonbeams Rangers verdict was given.

@BBCchrismclaug: #Rangers announce loss of £7.5 million for year ending June 30th. Reduced loss compared to 8.1m year before.

Pyoor co-incidence all that, eh Wee Man?

What was that about a good day to bury bad news....?

All already mentioned.

How do hmrc plan to get money off the old Rangers? Or is it the players they will go after?

It's a scandal that assets where allowed to be sold without auction back in 2012

That matter is before the court right now with Whyte, Green and the administrators all up on racketeering charges that they fraudulently sold the assets without regard to their true value. There are potential custodial sentences awaiting if found guilty

Our brave boys were fighting on 2 fronts during this time. Hope you wear your poppy with pride, you thieving b*****ds.

Not up to reading through the full judgement, but I would think that (old) Rangers has some liability to settle with HMRC. But I would guess that everyone who benefitted from this tax dodge is now liable to pay tax on their earnings obtained through their EBT.

So that should include most Rangers legends you can think of, some of whom used to be household names people looked up to.

Probably HMRC will be getting letters out to all these tax dodgers pretty damn quick.

_46832182_billy_dodds_301109_512.jpg

You've hit the gin early today. Understandable given the news I suppose.