What Was The Last Movie You Watched?

Rugster

1 minute ago, GordonD said:

The Program - about Lance Armstrong's exposure (and I don't mean the Lycra shorts).

HMV in Princes Street shuts at the end of the month and I got the DVD in the five for twenty quid sale.

Get Kodi on your phone/laptop and you can watch any movie for f**k all.......even the ones at the cinema.

2 minutes ago, 11thHour said:

Terrible copies though.

Fair comment. Depends upon what platform you've installed I suppose. Point stands though, f**k paying for and then keeping DVD's when you can get any movie for free on Kodi!

3 minutes ago, sjc said:

Fair comment. Depends upon what platform you've installed I suppose. Point stands though, f**k paying for and then keeping DVD's when you can get any movie for free on Kodi!

Aye i'm with ye! Getting an android box was the best thing I ever done did!

1 hour ago, sjc said:

Typical thieving Jambo.

Sausage Party

I dunno, I reckon I'm just over the Seth Rogen/Judd Apatow comedy formula. Superbad and Knocked Up were pretty great for their time but those were nigh on ten years ago. 

This time, it's the same juvenile humour with the same gags (stoner gags, lots and lots of swearing, taking the piss out of Steven Hawking) but it's animated, so you know, originality. I didn't really fancy this movie at all based on it's premise and after getting the opportunity to view it for nothing, it pretty much lived up to expectations. 

That's not to say it wasn't without its moments. Couple of wee clever, if not subtle wordplays and whoever acted as the douche (haven't checked) was absolutely superb in their delivery and that Jersey accent. 

Oh and a special shout out to the last 5 minutes which was probably my least comfortable movie viewing experience since I went and watched Hostel in the cinema. Thankfully I was watching this alone and didn't have to curl up in a ball at how excruciating this was. Though I still did a bit. 

4/10. 

Lights Out

Naw really sure how we've not had this type of horror villain yet. We've had variations on it, but not exactly this. Given how basic the premise is, it's kinda shocking. The basic premise is, it's a thing that can attack only with no light on it. It's a VERY effective gimmick and it works through the whole movie. Another big positive is the cast throwing everything behind it. Especially a brilliantly unhinged Maria Bello. I'd say it's a bit over reliant on loud scares and jumps, but given how many of them work, even when they're obvious, I can't fault it for that, and the tension has the hands over the eyes at times. Also points for a bloody good ending. Points away for the back story to the monster being daft as f**k, but it's a horror movie, so exceptions need to be made at times. I loved this.

9/10

7 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Sausage Party

I dunno, I reckon I'm just over the Seth Rogen/Judd Apatow comedy formula. Superbad and Knocked Up were pretty great for their time but those were nigh on ten years ago. 

This time, it's the same juvenile humour with the same gags (stoner gags, lots and lots of swearing, taking the piss out of Steven Hawking) but it's animated, so you know, originality. I didn't really fancy this movie at all based on it's premise and after getting the opportunity to view it for nothing, it pretty much lived up to expectations. 

That's not to say it wasn't without its moments. Couple of wee clever, if not subtle wordplays and whoever acted as the douche (haven't checked) was absolutely superb in their delivery and that Jersey accent. 

Oh and a special shout out to the last 5 minutes which was probably my least comfortable movie viewing experience since I went and watched Hostel in the cinema. Thankfully I was watching this alone and didn't have to curl up in a ball at how excruciating this was. Though I still did a bit. 

4/10. 

I was disappointed with this too. After the initial novelty wears off, it's not got much substance or storyline. 

Lights Out

Naw really sure how we've not had this type of horror villain yet. We've had variations on it, but not exactly this. Given how basic the premise is, it's kinda shocking. The basic premise is, it's a thing that can attack only with no light on it. It's a VERY effective gimmick and it works through the whole movie. Another big positive is the cast throwing everything behind it. Especially a brilliantly unhinged Maria Bello. I'd say it's a bit over reliant on loud scares and jumps, but given how many of them work, even when they're obvious, I can't fault it for that, and the tension has the hands over the eyes at times. Also points for a bloody good ending. Points away for the back story to the monster being daft as f**k, but it's a horror movie, so exceptions need to be made at times. I loved this.

9/10

Sooo like the dr who weeping angels then?

Man of Steel

I quite enjoyed it, certainly the best Superman film since Superman 2. Henry Cavill is fine as Kent/Superman and I thought General Zod was a great old school baddie. Russell Crowe was clearly phoning his performance. I wasn't a fan of Lois Lane knowing Superman's identity from the start though.

3 hours ago, dogmc said:

Correct me if I'm wrong but the weeping angels didn't give a a monkeys whether the lights were on or off, only whether they were being looked at. ;)

I've not seen many horrors in the last 10/15 years, seem to have went off them as I get older plus I'm not fan of gratuitous gore. Saw the trailer for 'Lights Out' and it looked pretty scary, something the torture porn trend completely failed to achieve.

6 hours ago, dogmc said:

Tommy Nooka has the right idea here. The thing simply doesn't exist where there's light. Light goes on, the thing is not to be worried about.

It's pretty much a one gimmick movie, but unlike so many horror movies with an interesting gimmick, this one seems to know exactly how to play it.

Wes Craven's They also revolved around monsters that only existed in the dark. Cue lots of flickering lights and suchlike.

Wasn't bad; got a little bit of a soft spot for it. Better than most things that WC actually directed post-Nightmare on Elm Street.