Reasons to be Cheerful

Happy birthday Raider. That's at least 2 of us in here that are over 50 now.

My reason to be cheerful is that the Christmas phone call to my sister turned out a lot better than expected. My niece, who I love, had a wean in the spring and as they were visiting, I was anticipating the obligatory 3 minutes of listening to a baby breathing while a voice in the background prompts "Say hello to great-uncle Shotgun...say hello to great-uncle Shotgun". I'll happily talk to the kid when it can form sentences and has some idea of who I am but can't get enthusiastic about it until then. Especially not when I'm paying for the transatlantic phone call.

However as it turned out, I got to speak to my niece but avoided the bairn as her Dad had taken her out for a walk. Score.

Happy birthday Raider. That's at least 2 of us in here that are over 50 now.

My reason to be cheerful is that the Christmas phone call to my sister turned out a lot better than expected. My niece, who I love, had a wean in the spring and as they were visiting, I was anticipating the obligatory 3 minutes of listening to a baby breathing while a voice in the background prompts "Say hello to great-uncle Shotgun...say hello to great-uncle Shotgun". I'll happily talk to the kid when it can form sentences and has some idea of who I am but can't get enthusiastic about it until then. Especially not when I'm paying for the transatlantic phone call.

However as it turned out, I got to speak to my niece but avoided the bairn as her Dad had taken her out for a walk. Score.

I'm with you bros. Had the extended family around all day yesterday, siblings, nephews and neices rioting around , all over 20, which was quite fun, but after I'd put my elderly parents to bed on lock down, I was hinting they should bugger off and let the Grandparents go to sleep. My churchie sister asked if it was so I could watch Downton Abbey in peace. I replied indignantly that I just wanted to let our Mum and Dad to settle down for the night so I could put on the porn channel. Cue a mixture of laughter and embarrassed "Does he mean it" looks. Hopefully they won't refer to me as Uncle Perv.

With the wife on nightshift and therefore sound asleep and the boy out somewhere destroying bus shelters with his plook-ridden troglodyte mates, it seems I am able to go watch the fitba in the pub with a pint of refreshing McEwan's 60 /-.

It's a tough gig, but I like a challenge. 8)

At the carlise/York game I was on about how my dream is to get the ball back in the park in one hit rather than catch it and throw it back on.

3 minutes later I turn around and the ball is falling out the sky, tempted to head it I went for the super punch and it ended up at the York keeper and I was standing about halfway.

Dream lived.