The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

Here are the Quiz League tables for season ending 31 May 2024. Thankfully this is my official last week of doing them 🥳  before @SlipperyP takes over from Monday. Thanks to all of you for posting your scores and not having to send out too many reminders. Apologies for any stuff ups but you’ll get over it. Anyway here’s what your here for 🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻

Pfizer: It’s title no. 10 for @Leeds Saint who wins in on QD from joint runners up @Arch Stanton (33rd) and @MEADOWXI (4th) who couldn’t be separated. @JamesP_81 goes straight back to the Wannabe on QD from @scottsdad. Joining them is last week’s runnerup @Arthur Orton who misses out on the playoff spot on QD to @Bully Wee Villa.

Wannabe: It’s quick return to the top table for @Duszek with his 12th title. @The Hologram is runnerup on QD from @Cardinal Richelieu. @Ronaldo Jeremy is in the playoff. Heading to the seaside are @CaspianChris @Claudia Gentile (back to back relegation for) and @kingjoey. Playoff spot for @specsaver as @Ross. had a better QD.

The Last Chance winner is @senorsoupe with win no. 4 and a big turnaround from last week’s controversial Wooden Spoon. Moving up with him are @mathematics and @BigBo10. Playoff spot for @Snobot. Wooden Spoon 44 for @BaSeDG0DSA1NT.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Posted (edited)

Playoff questions

@Bully Wee Villa     v   @Ronaldo Jeremy      

@specsaver     v     @Snobot    

In another topic it was mentioned that the Football Association of Greenland is applying to join CONCACAF. The national team nickname is Polar-Bamseme (The Polar Teddy Bears) and they compete regularly in the Island Games. They have faced FIFA members only 15 times since 1980, the most recent being a 0-5 loss against Turkmenistan yesterday in Kiriş, Turkey. Their other FIFA opponents have been Bermuda, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar and Iceland. What is their W-D-L record over these 15 games? Just in case a tie break is required Greenland has met Scottish opposition in the Island Games over the years facing Orkney twice, Shetland four times and the Western Isles three times. How many of the nine games has Greenland won?

Please DM your answers by 23:59 BST Tuesday 4 June 2024.

Nuuk Stadium where Greenland play home games.

IMG_2083.jpeg

Edited by Eednud

P&B Quiz League Unofficial Press Release

The Pie and Bovril Quiz League is a competition that has no concerns about biased referees, artificial or unartificial pitches, VAR, arse cheeks, pretending an opponent has amputated your leg when all you did was step on your ingrown toenail and other tinpot things that happen in futba/fitba/fitbaw. We’re not playing for sheep stations, just the enjoyment of annoying yourself for getting a question wrong that you really knew the answer to. Thankfully cheating in the league is rare as we all trust one another not to be coming the raw prawn. 

The above waffle is just to announce the return of the previous High Heid Yin as the next High Heid Yin as from Monday 3 June 2024. Laddies and gentlemen a warm welcome back to @SlipperyP. Although he’s the only Loons supporter in the league he's most certainly not the only loon. He will be guaranteed to treat any moans or groans with an appropriate degree of disdain.

Playoff results

@Bully Wee Villa   FIFA 1-2-12/Scottish 2  v   @Ronaldo Jeremy   FIFA 1-3-11/Scottish 2

@Bully Wee Villa wins by having the correct number of losses against FIFA opponents so no change of division.

@specsaver  FIFA o-3-12/Scottish 0  v     @Snobot    0 

@specsaver wins so no change of division.

In another topic it was mentioned that the Football Association of Greenland is applying to join CONCACAF. The national team nickname is Polar-Bamseme (The Polar Teddy Bears) and they compete regularly in the Island Games. They have faced FIFA members only 15 times since 1980, the most recent being a 0-5 loss against Turkmenistan yesterday in Kiriş, Turkey. Their other FIFA opponents have been Bermuda, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar and Iceland. What is their W-D-L record over these 15 games?

ANSWER: P 15 W 2 D 1 L 12 F 14 : A 41 (both wins were against Gibraltar)

Just in case a tie break is required Greenland has met Scottish opposition in the Island Games over the years facing Orkney twice, Shetland four times and the Western Isles three times. How many of the nine games has Greenland won?

ANSWER: P 9 W 5 D 2 L 2 F 22 : A 19

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenland_national_football_team_results

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenland_national_football_team