sjc Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 You miss a lot of things mate True....but one thing I didn't miss was the 2nd half of the 2012 Scottish Cup Final...... Did you get that refund for your season ticket btw?! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desert Nomad Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 The Tannadice and Hampden pictures are superb.I miss the old "giraffe" floodlights at Tannadice. The shorter ones at Dens are still there, but the instantly recognisable outline as you cross the bridge from Fife will disappear forever if they come down. It's not so much an issue with satnav, etc now. But looking for the floodlight pylons used to be great way of finding the stadium if you hadn't been before! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yoda Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 But looking for the floodlight pylons used to be great way of finding the stadium if you hadn't been before! A mate and I did that for County's Scottish Cup trip to Easter Road. Ended up at Meadowbank Stadium. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HibeeJibee Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 (edited) I miss the old "giraffe" floodlights at Tannadice. The shorter ones at Dens are still there, but the instantly recognisable outline as you cross the bridge from Fife will disappear forever if they come down. It's not so much an issue with satnav, etc now. But looking for the floodlight pylons used to be great way of finding the stadium if you hadn't been before! Whether the story's true or apocryphal, over the years this supposedly led some fans headed for Easter Road across to Meadowbank... EDIT: And if I'd actually read the next post instead of hammerring on with a reply, evidently it's still happening today. Edited January 23, 2014 by HibeeJibee 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pozbaird Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WILLIEA Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 A mate and I did that for County's Scottish Cup trip to Easter Road. Ended up at Meadowbank Stadium. We ended up at a railway shunting yard down south somewhere! The lights were spaced just as you would expect a football pitch. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cowdenbeath Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 It was the White City stadium. The other one was The Albion dog track. St Anthony's junior ground is also in the photo to the left of the gasometer. Tinto Park (Benburb) was close by but not in this photo I'm sure. Prob out of shot to the left. Cheers for that I remember someone telling me about the White City being near Ibrox and being part of the M8. Can't remember ever seeing St Anthony's ground but knew it was close to Ibrox so thanks for clearing that up. Never knew about the dog track! I was at a game at Benburb years ago classic old ground. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 (edited) I would like to state on the record that this is a magnificent thread. Main Stand being enlarged after the sale of Ian St John and Pat Quinn. The framework shown is the same nowadays and the floating box at the front of the frame is where the TV cameras and commentators go. The Knowetop end, that is now the Davie Cooper stand. I can just about remember being able to look over it (from the Main Stand) and see the Ravenscraig works before the new stand was built. Apparently the Davie Cooper stand was a scaled down version of the away stand and the architect allegedly forgot to make the front overhang thing smaller and is the same size as the one on the away stand East stand with optional roof seating. All there to see the Pride of Lanarkshire. Rod, do you know when the last pic was from? Is the No. 4 Tam Forsyth? Edited to add: Great thread, especially for wee auld yins, and thanks to QLP for starting it. Edited January 23, 2014 by The_Kincardine 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tam the bud Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 www.scottishgroundguide.co.uk is a good site for old and present grounds all over the uk. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HibeeJibee Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 See Love Street's "semi-permanent stand"... ...did anyone buy it? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sjc Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 See Love Street's "semi-permanent stand"... ...did anyone buy it? Is that not the one Morton bought? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jagfox Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 See Love Street's "semi-permanent stand"... ...did anyone buy it? Is it not lying behind the Cowshed down at Cappielow or is that the one from the home end? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highlandmagyar Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 See Love Street's "semi-permanent stand"... ...did anyone buy it? Did Morton not buy it? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dirtydave Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 Fantastic thread. Love seeing some of the old terraces. Favourite away grounds in the 80's we're broomfield, firhill, brockville and east end park. Regret that I never ever got to muirton park though. Here's a pic I love of fir park 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gc_smfc Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 As far as i'm aware Morton bought the Reid Kerr stand, which sat behind the opposite goal. I thought Hibs had bought parts of the Caley Stand, though i've probably made that up. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highlandmagyar Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 When I was a kid going to these grounds I was in awe of them, even if it was a shit hole. Of course as a wean I never saw them as shit holes. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 We ended up at a railway shunting yard down south somewhere! The lights were spaced just as you would expect a football pitch. sounds like the Millerhill marshalling yard. Ironically enough Hearts had a scheme to move to Millerhill in the 1990s. I miss old floodlight pylons- Hibs had a system called "Drenchlighting" and the style where the lights were angled towards the pitch seemed to have been, according to Simon Inglis' seminal book "The Football Grounds of Great Britain", a particularly Scottish feature. Two English grounds were notable for having Scottish style floodlights- Ashton Gate and the Goldstone Ground. I think having lights on top of stands is a bit crap tbh- at Starks they have done a sort of compromise, building a new stand and keeping sort of half pylons on it but it looks a bit weird. angled lights at Palmerston. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ark loyal Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highlandmagyar Posted January 23, 2014 Share Posted January 23, 2014 These old grounds looked faboulous when lit up. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...