Double Winning St Johnstone FC Thread

The other clubs will have played a blinder on it from their perspective though. 

Very likely they'll be paying significantly less of the wage % then they would if they signed them at the start of the window knowing fine well we'd be in very very keen of getting some of it off the wage bill at least. 

Edited by SJFCtheTeamForMe

8 minutes ago, SJFCtheTeamForMe said:

Very likely they'll be paying significantly less of the wage % then they would if they signed them at the start of the window knowing fine well we'd be in very very keen of getting some of it off the wage bill at least. 

With the dafties in charge at the moment we're probably paying them a fee to take them on loan.

5 minutes ago, SJFCtheTeamForMe said:

Yeah theres no chance we've "won" out of these deals really, financially anyway.

Ideally this, plus the Wotherspoon/Murphy/Carey conundrum, helps focus them into building a more balanced, streamlined, squad for next season.

Shame to see him go like that, though I don’t think he ever really recovered from his injury in the second half of last year. Anytime he played this season his turn of pace looked non existent. 

1 hour ago, PauloPerth said:

Two former Saints in action for Raith Rovers at home to Ayr on bbc Scotland just now. Dylan Easton and Scott Brown.

Always liked Brown, a very tidy passer but just lacked pace.

From Memory Brown played quite well v Luzern at home as well. Always felt he had something about him too.

9 hours ago, mizfit said:

From Memory Brown played quite well v Luzern at home as well. Always felt he had something about him too.

He did,  but then unfortunately sold the jersies v Spartak Trnava.  I'm surprised that he's never had another chance at Premiership level tbh.

7 minutes ago, The Marly said:

He did,  but then unfortunately sold the jersies v Spartak Trnava.  I'm surprised that he's never had another chance at Premiership level tbh.

Wonder if he just felt wanted at Peterhead and maybe was a bit scared he'd move and end up stuck on a bench somewhere?

Cant be easy for players who hit 22/23 and have still never really played regularly to give that up by moving up a level. 

Charlie Gilmour might end up with a similar career. 

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

Wonder if he just felt wanted at Peterhead and maybe was a bit scared he'd move and end up stuck on a bench somewhere?

Cant be easy for players who hit 22/23 and have still never really played regularly to give that up by moving up a level. 

Charlie Gilmour might end up with a similar career. 

No doubt it could be a factor, but wages must play a huge part.  Obviously he would have been part time at Peterhead and I'm not sure what other job he may have had.  

Anyone else on Spoony watch during that?

Kept himself to himself during half time then left it early to sign autographs, maybe reading too much into it.

Still worried about how the manager freezes at the end of tight games too. Hallberg was absolutely done for the final 10 minutes, maybe more, yet we left him trudging about, presumably as the manager was once again scared to change a team that wasnt losing at that stage of a game.

21 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Kept himself to himself during half time then left it early to sign autographs, maybe reading too much into it.

Still worried about how the manager freezes at the end of tight games too. Hallberg was absolutely done for the final 10 minutes, maybe more, yet we left him trudging about, presumably as the manager was once again scared to change a team that wasnt losing at that stage of a game.

He's just so beige. A nothing manager.

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

Your right on Twitter regarding nailing the personalities in the team and they seem to be getting to grips with his tactics more. Callum’s substitutions were always a gripe of mine even when it was the first season though. 

Had a wee look at Falkirk, Morton and Cove threads, and all seem fairly happy with the early impact of our loan players they’ve recently signed.

Surely we have to

look to get Bair a loan move until the end of the season if we’re still able to up til the end of February.

He needs a fresh start, drop a level to find his form and actually show what he’s capable of.

We have May, Clark, McLennan and Rudden to play up front, with Chris Kane likely to be looking for game time over the next couple of months.

Plenty of championship clubs need a striker, Arbroath being an obvious example.

Even if we pay practically all his wages it would be worth it as I don’t see any benefit to the team or to the player himself in carrying on the way things are just now, and we’ll end up starting next season no further forward with him.

7 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Had a wee look at Falkirk, Morton and Cove threads, and all seem fairly happy with the early impact of our loan players they’ve recently signed.

Surely we have to

look to get Bair a loan move until the end of the season if we’re still able to up til the end of February.

He needs a fresh start, drop a level to find his form and actually show what he’s capable of.

We have May, Clark, McLennan and Rudden to play up front, with Chris Kane likely to be looking for game time over the next couple of months.

Even if we pay practically all his wages it would be worth it as I don’t see any benefit to the team or to the player himself in carrying on the way things are just now, and we’ll end up starting next season no further forward with him.

Max is quality 

7 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Surely we have to

Max has been outstanding for us so far.

10 hours ago, mizfit said:

Your right on Twitter regarding nailing the personalities in the team 

Aye theres just so much more fight in this squad.

We'd be around the bottom without it IMO as its dragged us back into games where they would've chucked it last season. 

58 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Max has been outstanding for us so far.

Where's he been playing?