"The ICT Thread - From the Premiership to the Seaside"

41 minutes ago, RayBees said:

From what I recall it was just the sale of Telford Street Park as Thistle didn’t own their ground.

After a Scottish Cup tie in 1988 I was told in the Kingsmills boardroom that the ground was owned by the Commissioners of the Church of Scotland.

1 hour ago, Cardle is Magic said:

Dundee got hit with 25 points in 2010/2011 I’m sure.

Think if you add the 25 points back onto their final total then they’d have finished just behind us that year.

Dundee still had Leigh Griffiths for 9 games before he was sold. They also had Rab Douglas, Gary Harkins and a host of other senior players until the end of the season. ICT have nothing of that comparable calibre other than Billy McKay, who hasn’t been used optimally. 

3 hours ago, Stephen Malkmus said:

Malcolm Cohen is the King of Administrators. We're in good hands.

Aye, but Shane, no-one wants bad news for someone called Shane. If he was a Doctor I'd want a second opinion.

2 hours ago, Buzz Killington said:

How did it come to this?

Here are The Caley's profit and loss results for the last 30 years.

30/04/1995 - Loss £130,780
31/05/1996 - Profit - £207, 608 - Sale of land (presumably old grounds)
31/05/1997 - Loss - £803,303 - Exceptional costs (stadium road build costs)
31/05/1998 - Loss - £384,658
31/05/1999 - Loss - £380,949
31/05/2000 - Loss - £331,251
31/05/2001 - Loss - £513,424
31/05/2002 - Loss - £272,099
31/05/2003 - Profit - £129,711
31/05/2004 - Loss - £238,152
31/05/2005 - Loss - £102,414
*31/05/2006 - Profit - £218,197
*31/05/2007 - Profit  - £279,099
*31/05/2008 - Loss - £432,496
*31/05/2009 - Loss - £113,937
31/05/2010 - Loss - £946,198
31/05/2011 - Loss - £190,059
31/05/2012 - Loss - £348,487
31/05/2013 - Profit - £22,204
*31/05/2014 - Profit - £28,186
*31/05/2015 - Profit - £254,240
*31/05/2016 - Loss - £14,957
*31/05/2017 - Loss - £415,850
+31/05/2018 - Loss - £803,231
+31/05/2019 - Loss - £892,465
+31/05/2020 - Loss -  £328,758
+31/05/2021 - Loss - £235,282
+31/05/2022 - Loss - £835,751
+31/05/2023 - Loss - £588,053

*Profit or loss based on balance sheet movement on P&L account
+ Profit or loss based on information in the Going Concern note

Aye, but apart from that...

6 minutes ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

After a Scottish Cup tie in 1988 I was told in the Kingsmills boardroom that the ground was owned by the Commissioners of the Church of Scotland.

General Trustees.

It was discovered in Oct 1993 that Thistle had been donated it in 1949.

For whatever reason despite it being worth £400k v Telford £750k united club sold former and kept latter until 1996.

image.thumb.png.429275bc68fc6f9f4b4bbc7a478a1989.png          image.thumb.png.3777e2fb51527025d83e666f262341e3.pngimage.png.d1e2215fbc535f96aa675cad7c9d9887.png     

image.thumb.png.88218a268cc82ce78c08ee5561cf150c.pngimage.thumb.png.27b735131b309abfb4c5903ccb1cfea9.png          image.thumb.png.3bdaa5f590156cba595f3107df2e8713.png

33 minutes ago, bunglebonce said:

Dundee still had Leigh Griffiths for 9 games before he was sold. They also had Rab Douglas, Gary Harkins and a host of other senior players until the end of the season. ICT have nothing of that comparable calibre other than Billy McKay, who hasn’t been used optimally. 

We'll get a decent amount selling Cameron Ferguson to the for factory. 

Communication from the club seems pretty poor considering the circumstances. On the day of administration being announced they first thought to wish some jobber who will probably be out of work in a week, happy birthday. 

Good luck with it all though, hopefully you still have a club to follow regardless of the level, at the end of it all. 

Edited by grumswall

1 hour ago, bunglebonce said:

True.

They’re also playing against far weaker opposition.

5 minutes ago, ExiledLichtie said:

Good its official.  Thankfully, Inverness have this in hand.  They will control the administration, make sure the administrators do what they are told, and then be out as part of the "pre pack" administration before you can say 1690!

Arbroath fans are weird as f**k. 

2 hours ago, Grumpy Soo-sider said:

If you get rid of Dunc, who do you see taking over a club in administration? I hear that Ferguson hasn't been taking a salary and has been helping the team out off the park.

Jobby McCall's out of a job.  It's been a while, but he used to have a reputation for doing pretty well with clubs that were going doon the stank - Clydebank and then Airdrie, and last year he kept Clyde in League 2, albeit he seemed to have relatively decent funding when he came in.

9 minutes ago, A Diamond For Me said:

Jobby McCall's out of a job.  It's been a while, but he used to have a reputation for doing pretty well with clubs that were going doon the stank - Clydebank and then Airdrie, and last year he kept Clyde in League 2, albeit he seemed to have relatively decent funding when he came in.

Aye. but his requirements for taking a job are that he can commute within about 20 minutes of his flat in the west end of Glasgow. So it'll be a no. 

16 minutes ago, grumswall said:

Arbroath fans are weird as f**k. 

Not all of us. I certainly have no love for ICT, however I take no pleasure in this. Yes you can argue that it’s self inflicted, bad management, living out with their means etc etc. but I really feel for genuine fans of the club. No matter the reason for this, it doesn’t make it easier for the innocent.

Many clubs overspend in chasing higher level football and ICT have a recent history of success which probably meant it felt that it was worth the risk. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Still, from a selfish point of view, I hope you go down to L2, regroup and take it from there.

4 minutes ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

Aye. but his requirements for taking a job are that he can commute within about 20 minutes of his flat in the west end of Glasgow. So it'll be a no. 

Move training to the Ruchill Park.