A Photographic History Of Scottish Football

5 minutes ago, jupe1407 said:

Standard 80s style Jacquard scarf there emoji38.png I've still got my Dundee one somewhere

I was absolutely positive those scarves weren't out until we moved to McDiarmid Park, as we had hardly any merchandise at all back then and it was only the blue and white bar scarves you could get for Saints.  Obviously wrong.

6 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

I was absolutely positive those scarves weren't out until we moved to McDiarmid Park, as we had hardly any merchandise at all back then and it was only the blue and white bar scarves you could get for Saints.  Obviously wrong.

I got mine in the 87-88 season, from the old club shop in the Keillor Centre just before we drew at home to Brechin (i think) in the cup. They were quite a new thing at the time so i'd be surprised if they go further back than that season. 

The crazy thing about that semi final and replay v Rangers at Celtic Park, which held over 60,000 at the time, was that the reported attendances were 47000 and 44000.
If ever there was ever any doubt about Celtic lying about attendances, then not after those games!  You couldn't move, and there was barely a space in the ground anywhere.
More Muirton porn; in the quarter final we beat Morton in a midweek replay after a 2-2 draw.  The game was delayed as 8300 or so attended, with some Saints fans having to stand in the Morton end.  Brilliant seeing a packed Muirton under the floodlights as there are so few colour videos like this of the old ground.

Brilliant stuff.

I saw Thistle at Muirton in season 88/89.

Much preferred to McDiarmid.

1 hour ago, H Wragg said:

Brilliant stuff.

I saw Thistle at Muirton in season 88/89.

Much preferred to McDiarmid.

Funny you mention that match, as I'm pretty sure that game was where Saints made the official announcement at half-time that we were moving to a new ground. The Thistle fans in the enclosure booed and chanted right through it and we couldn't hear a word!

No recollection of that.

All I remember is it was October ‘88 and we lost 2-1 with Ian Spittal scoring a last minute OG to seal your win.

Billy Lamont got the bullet a couple of weeks later.

11 hours ago, 7-2 said:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1970–71_Aberdeen_F.C._season

2 Jan 1971 - Saints 0 Aberdeen 1 Attendance 21,500. It'd take about 2 seasons games to match that now unfortunately. 

That'd probably be the last ever 20k crowd at a Saints home game.  I wonder how many we actually had. I think mid teens for the bigots was about normal so doubt it would be too many, even in the pre-war days.

I was at that one.

13 hours ago, Jacksgranda said:

I was at that one.

Me too. In the stand enclosure. I’d been at Pittodrie the day before for the 3.0 win against Dundee with a 24,000 crowd. 45,000 at two Aberdeen matches in 2 days outwith Edinburgh or Glasgow.

9 hours ago, Bohemian said:

Radio Hibs... Coming in your ears .. 

44832283_1939042062877946_1114625527496310784_n.jpg

Coming in your ears... aye, if you were standing next to the DJ! I remember the speakers in the  east terrace being shagged and inaudible by 1987 before being replaced! 

10 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Me too. In the stand enclosure. I’d been at Pittodrie the day before for the 3.0 win against Dundee with a 24,000 crowd. 45,000 at two Aberdeen matches in 2 days outwith Edinburgh or Glasgow.

I was in slightly better shape at that one than I was at the Dundee game...

Edited by Jacksgranda

Denis Law in action in the 1963 2-1 win at Wembley. According to Blether with Broon in the Tully he played fr 3 different sides at wembley that year. Manchester United in the FA Cup Final and for the Rest of the World in the FA Centenary game.

5bc9dc8e04177-e1539959369404-588x372.jpg

On 10/26/2018 at 22:29, PauloPerth said:

We finished third and Aberdeen second that season apparently.

I have a major gripe with the way the SPFL have taken away fixtures on Boxing Day and the 1st or 2nd of January. They have always been the biggest crowds of the season, and yet they've removed them from the fixture card.

Look at that list. The Dons had a game on Boxing Day, the first AND second of January! 21500 at Muirton and I bet that was way over our average. And aberdeens crowds were around 10,000 most of the season, then went up in December and peaked at 24000 on the 1st of January.

The folk that run our game today are so out of touch it's incredible.

Boxing day fixtures in Scotland are a relatively recent innovation though. Early nineties or so. It just so happened in the season above that Boxing Day was a Saturday. Your point about those running the game still stands though

Loving all these old Muirton pics by the way. Been there a good few times. Favourite moment was a ball being cleared and ending up going straight into the ice cream van sitting at the top of the terracing. Whoever cleared it couldn't have got it through the wee window again if they'd kept trying until now.

Yes that was brilliant, remember it well