The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

10 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

Ooft! That must have been a sore one.

I forget he played for Ayr. Was he on loan? 

He signed. He was a team mate of Daziels at Raith and signed for him pretty early on after he took over.

11 minutes ago, Chubbychops said:

Always thought Albinson looked really good the times I've seen him. Bit surprised at you guys wanting him punted. Swap you for Mehmet.

he was average when we signed him, he was very good last season and this season he has been a bit suspect. He was dropped by Bullen after he gifted a goal earlier in the season, Mutch came in and was poor and Albinson came back in. 
it seemed harsh that Albinson was dropped at the time, Mutch made a couple of howlers when he came in and was rightly dropped.

Albinson came back in for the Dundee United game and was at fault for both goals. He was dropped again for the Airdrie game, he came on when Mutch got injured.

Everyone out of the inner circle at the club assumed signing Clarke was cover for Albinson. For him to come straight in is a massive slap In the face of Albinson and sends a message that he is persona non grata at the club. He’s not been as good as last season but hasn’t been dreadful. He also doesn’t seem to deserve the treatment he’s getting from the club. 

The new signings aren't an upgrade that what was there. Willoughby seems to be a Poundland version of Rose. McHugh has done nothing anytime he's played (and I include the reserve game on Tuesday in amongst that). Sanders steady enough and Clarke didn't seem to be any upgrade on Charlie. Woeful window and if Bullen had been in charge today, there would have been no end of pelters about him. Pish performance 

Struggling to think of a worse season for transfers (I'm only going back maybe 6 years, the Neil Watt juniors and Shanks days given me PTSD). 

Pendelbury, Senga, Ahui, Rose, Young (4 duds and a good one but all away by January end). Chalmers not as good as last season but gets pass marks, Willoughby, McHugh, Sanders all various degrees of meh. McGeady pish. Armatey fell off and has been bombed out

Dowds and Murphy the best of the lot 

Edited by Thereisalight..

8 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said:

Struggling to think of a worse season for transfers (I'm only going back maybe 6 years, the Neil Watt juniors and Shanks days given me PTSD). 

Pendelbury, Senga, Ahui, Rose, Young (4 duds and a good one but all away by January end). Chalmers not as good as last season but gets pass marks, Willoughby, McHugh, Sanders all various degrees of meh. McGeady pish. Armatey fell off and has been bombed out

Dowds and Murphy the best of the lot 

Past few seasons have been absolutely dire for transfers - with a handful of exceptions. It shows that something is wrong with our recruitment model. 

2 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

Past few seasons have been absolutely dire for transfers - with a handful of exceptions. It shows that something is wrong with our recruitment model. 

Aye, some absolute dross. Gandoh, Kenyan, Maguire, Bangala etc etc. for every Dipo we have 6 bags of shite 

Just now, Thereisalight.. said:

Aye, some absolute dross. Gandoh, Kenyan, Maguire, Bangala etc etc. for every Dipo we have 6 bags of shite 

My heart sank scrolling through Twitter earlier and seeing a picture of Dipo in a York City kit. I miss him.

We very much have a League 1 squad. Its a worry.

As much as Bullen definately needed launched, it's very naive to think Brown will get much more of a tune out this lot.

Massive rebuild needed. Next season's going to be another transitional one I'm afraid.

4 minutes ago, Scott-ish said:

We very much have a League 1 squad. Its a worry.

As much as Bullen definately needed launched, it's very naive to think Brown will get much more of a tune out this lot.

Massive rebuild needed. Next season's going to be another transitional one I'm afraid.

But but but we will have a new stand!!!! Honestly, first the hub now the stand. And the backslapping of offield progress. Call me old fashioned but I'd rather we won on the pitch first and foremost...and I'm bitter about the NT being out of commission this season. The stand and SRE have been woeful for me aided by woeful performances (by and large) at home 

Back to being plucky wee Ayr.

We could have won if the defender we signed could defend a high ball and the keeper could shout “fucking clear it” 

An average Dundee United team and a Raith team that had won one in 6 games and we only lost by fine margins…..

1 minute ago, Thereisalight.. said:

But but but we will have a new stand!!!! Honestly, first the hub now the stand. And the backslapping of offield progress. Call me old fashioned but I'd rather we won on the pitch first and foremost...and I'm bitter about the NT being out of commission this season. The stand and SRE have been woeful for me aided by woeful performances (by and large) at home 

Christ alive we’re back to this. 

1 minute ago, Trogdor said:

Keep the heid lads. Brown & Whittaker know what they are doing.

I'm confident we'll stay up and they are under no illusions on the size of overhaul this squad needs! 

I hope Brown is given free reign to build the team he wants.

5 minutes ago, Trogdor said:

Keep the heid lads. Brown & Whittaker know what they are doing.

I'm confident we'll stay up and they are under no illusions on the size of overhaul this squad needs! 

I agree with the first part, we have been a lot more professional since they took over but the rebuild, I have major concerns over that. 

I'm excited for the new stand to open. Not into the construction porn but think it's a very positive step for the club.

Definately think whoever is continuing to find the bargain basement players from down south needs ejected from the planet (Glendinning). Let the new management team use their own contacts for players.

It's a huge leap to think we'll be anywhere near promotion next season again.

I personally think McGinty, Murphy, Chalmers and Dowds(who aren't ours) are there only players who'd really be classed at proper Championship level players in that squad.

1 hour ago, shizzlemanizzle said:

Bangala will go through his whole ‘career’ and never having as dedicated a fan as Richey. Don’t get too excited excited Richey, Raphael Schidt had fans. That said, don’t you go losing faith. I think Moffat signed for us when he was 25. Same age as “the ghost” is now.

🤣🤣🤣

2 minutes ago, Scott-ish said:

I personally think McGinty, Murphy, Chalmers and Dowds(who aren't ours) are there only players who'd really be classed at proper Championship level players in that squad.

I'm beginning to think along similar lines to this. We have too many players who aren't good enough.

A lot of them will do a Hewitt and Houston, drop down a level and still not get played.