Coronavirus (COVID-19)

22 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Thanks. She's seen nobody in two months, except when I drop groceries off at her door. She doesn't have/want a TV and has no interest in the internet, so she's reliant on me for news on what she should be doing, and I might have missed it, but I haven't seen anything specific on the roadmap for people in the high-risk category. Are they still working on the assumption that people who are shielding will be out and about in public around the time we're all in flying cars?

Depends on her underlying conditions. My mother's 93 but isn't on the shielded list, though I'm pretending she is as I don't want her infecting me. She can't get out and about anyway without me pushing her in a wheelchair. If she's on the highest risk category of shielded she'll probably have to wait for a vaccine or for Covid to wither away unfortunately, although visits should be possible if you're ultra careful with distance, mask, cleaning etc, especially if she has a garden. I heard Nicola saying something about more guidance for the shielded coming out soon, but can't remember when. If an effective antibody test comes out and immunity is proven then she might be able to have normal visits from people who have been checked out a bit sooner.

Edited by welshbairn

22 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Depends on her underlying conditions. My mother's 93 but isn't on the shielded list, though I'm pretending she is as I don't want her infecting me. She can't get out and about anyway without me pushing her in a wheelchair. If she's on the highest risk category of shielded she'll probably have to wait for a vaccine or for Covid to wither away unfortunately, although visits should be possible if you're ultra careful with distance, mask, cleaning etc, especially if she has a garden. I heard Nicola saying something about more guidance for the shielded coming out soon, but can't remember when. If an effective antibody test comes out and immunity is proven then she might be able to have normal visits from people who have been checked out a bit sooner.

I'm no as auld as your mum but I'm in the same vulnerable category.

The day has to come when it is  okay for folk like us to go outside and act normal and socialise.

Who is gonnae volunteer to be the first guinea pig?

48 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Thanks. She's seen nobody in two months, except when I drop groceries off at her door. She doesn't have/want a TV and has no interest in the internet, so she's reliant on me for news on what she should be doing, and I might have missed it, but I haven't seen anything specific on the roadmap for people in the high-risk category. Are they still working on the assumption that people who are shielding will be out and about in public around the time we're all in flying cars?

There should be news in the next week or 2, hopefully it will relax things enough for you to see her but I doubt it will be anything more than a physically distanced chat in her house.

It's really tough, which is why I find it so infuriating that folk are taking the piss when other folk are still in a very restricted lockdown.

6 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

The day has to come when it is  okay for folk like us to go outside and act normal and socialise.

Go for it Willie, you'll be fine. Probably.

Edited by welshbairn

46 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EZVXB-pWoAEz_AF?format=jpg&name=360x360

England

2 hours ago, throbber said:

Yeah 2 helicopters arrived so it’s where they have had to assemble to allow this. The guys who got hurt jumping should be absolutely hounded for it anyway, morons.

That'll be the R number up again in a week or so.

51 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Go for it Willie, you'll be fine. Probably.

In the words of somebody - aye, right!

10 minutes ago, dirty dingus said:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EZVXB-pWoAEz_AF?format=jpg&name=360x360

England

I'll get my advice and guidance from the guid folk in P&B.

I await with interest the results in England starting tomorrow.

Looking forward to going to visit my mum and sit in the garden today at some point. 

Mate of mine pointed me to a dog walking group on Facebook that do group walks a while ago. I joined up but lockdown came into effect at the same time so I never did manage to get to one. Post on there this morning advertising a group walk taking place today. 😖

18 hours ago, Honest Saints Fan said:

I'm staying in. Read a couple Coronavirus cancer studies and those with haematology cancers are worse off than those with tumour cancers. Most likely because our ability to fight infection is fucked because of our shite blood. 

I think I will too. Been out for two wee runs in the car (didn't stop to meet anyone) to keep the battery up. Got to make a doctor's appointment for my implant, that'll be my only outing (other than take my wife for her appointment).

17 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Was told that 3 weeks after my chemo is finished my immunity should be back to near normal ,in about 6 weeks, so thinking of taking small risks if the infection rate stays low in the Highlands. Also been reading and my continued smoking apparently helps fight the Covid. Lets hope we're both freed within not too long with a vaccine or the bug gets bored and gets hungry for bats again. Most viruses lose steam eventually.

I've COPD, the cure would be worse than the diseases. That's another reason I'd be a bit cautious about mingling, I've approximately 40% lung capacity, Covid-19 would make short work of that, I'm sure.

Edited by Jacksgranda
sllepnig

10 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Apologies if this has been discussed, but this thread's fucking huge and grows like forced rhubarb, and I'm a very busy man, dontchano.

What's the advice for the auld yins? I've had my mother confined to barracks since this started, as she's right in the demographic that will probably cark it if exposed, but is the timescale for the elderly the same as for people who can be trusted not to pish themselves regularly?*

I realise I could have consulted an actual government website or something, but this is the age of refusing to believe so-called "experts", so naturally P&B was my first port of call.

* obligatory ageist comment for Granny Danger

If her name is Dominic Cummings she can do whatever the f*** she wants.

2 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

I think I will to. Been out for two wee runs in the car (didn't stop to meet anyone) to keep the battery up. Got to make a doctor's appointment for my implant, that'll be my only outing (other than take my wife for her appointment).

I've COPD, the cure would be worse than the diseases. That's another reason I'd be a bit cautious about mingling, I've approximately 40% lung capacity, Covid-19 would make short work of that, I'm sure.

No Public Health people are going to be recommending smoking for anyone for obvious reasons. I just find it a bit fun that in my case with a non-smoking related cancer a lifetime of smoking might actually be giving me some marginal benefit. If I catch covid badly it's probably lights out though, so I'll be pretty careful and only go out I can pretty well guarantee being socially distanced and protected. 

Just now, throbber said:

F5D082B0-A968-4BF4-A2F7-32B3830C3970.gif

There’s a couple who are so frail the woman was being physically helped up to go inside (lol) when I ran by. I’m not surprised young people who probably feel immune to it are gathering in numbers, but for the likes of those who the virus would undoubtedly finish off it seems mental.

2 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

There’s a couple who are so frail the woman was being physically helped up to go inside (lol) when I ran by. I’m not surprised young people who probably feel immune to it are gathering in numbers, but for the likes of those who the virus would undoubtedly finish off it seems mental.

Maybe it's getting sponsored  by Dignitas.

2 hours ago, Michael W said:

Shielding

Quite an interesting article on shielding and its merits (or lack thereof) from Devi Sridhar. 

To date, shielding has meant asking the elderly, chronically ill, and others vulnerable to hospitalisation from coronavirus not to leave home, to avoid any face-to-face interaction, and to restrict human contact to the digital realm.

That's what I'm doing.

“there’s going to be a point, assuming the epidemic flows and grows, as we think it probably will do, where you’ll want to cocoon, you’ll want to protect those at-risk groups so that they basically don’t catch the disease – and by the time they come out of their cocooning, herd immunity’s been achieved in the rest of the population”.

Can anyone explain how that helps me?

As western countries ease lockdown, suggestions have been made for those being shielded to stay “cocooned” away indefinitely until a vaccine or antiviral therapy is found or natural herd immunity is reached.

My understanding of that is that herd immunity is where folk have had the virus and survived.

If I've been shielding for weeks/months how does that affect me when I emerge from my cocoon?

1 minute ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Aye it is mental alright, the nice weather is to blame but there is only so long people will obey lockdown rules. This was eventually going to happen.