League Reconstruction 20/21 season

Regarding the Dundee Utd bit ;

"To be fair for everyone, if you are going to make promotions when the league isn't finished, and therefore we are rewarding people who have invested to try and achieve success, then I think we should also be recognising that some of us have made substantial investments to try to avoid relegation"

So, what @JamieThomas said is technically correct.

However imo Budge is stretching reality here in a way that makes The Matrix seem credible.

She is not giving one flying f**k about Partick or Stranraer.

The only time they will be mentioned if it suits her answer at the time.

Everyone can see right through her bullshit.

I now hope that only reconstruction happens in the lower leagues, a 12-12-10-10 set up if you like.

Get fuckin doon.

Well Anne you may have had a fairly poor start to the season and spent shitloads of cash to try and get out of it. All you had to do was look at St Johnstone, they had an even worse start, or even half, season. They had to sell their best player for 70 grand, 70 fucking grand, just so they could bring in a guy they'd signed on a pre contract from the championship. Guess what Anne? They finished top 6.

You and your club DESERVE relegation for the constant mismanagement and state of your first 11, laughable like your kiddy on bigoted *** support. 

1 hour ago, JamieThomas said:

Far be it from me to drop fact into you lads' lives, but what Budge said is it's bollocks to say Dundee United HAVE to come up at Hearts expense because they've spent hunners on Shankland, because we too have spent hunners on Boyce etc. It's not a particularly difficult argument to grasp tbh, and yet here we are.

Was someone making that argument? If so they are a fucking idiot too.

Or was the auld boot trying to draw a false comparison?

1 hour ago, Green Day said:

Regarding the Dundee Utd bit ;

"To be fair for everyone, if you are going to make promotions when the league isn't finished, and therefore we are rewarding people who have invested to try and achieve success, then I think we should also be recognising that some of us have made substantial investments to try to avoid relegation"

So, what @JamieThomas said is technically correct.

However imo Budge is stretching reality here in a way that makes The Matrix seem credible.

That's Budge saying it 😂

My idea of league reorganisation would be.

I think that a top league of 14 teams. With the league splitting after 26 games to two sections of 7. With each team playing each team in their section twice again. Resulting 38 games.

Also I would love to see us copy the Spanish, Dutch, Belgians, Germans, and Portugal in allowing the big Scottish sides to play youth or reserve teams in the lower divisions. Either every team in the Premier would be a given a place or just Aberdeen, Celtic, Rangers, Hearts, Hibs, Dundee United and Motherwell. It would guarantee that young Scottish players get competitive experience of football at a young age. This would allow the big sides to produce a conveyor belt of talent for the Scottish football system, and more importantly the national team. They could be promoted up to League One.  This would be a good standard for young Scottish players to develop at. Andy Robertson developed at Queen's Park. Kenny Dalglish played for Cumbernauld United. So this is a good level to develop players at.

Some will say that it is wrong to put the Celtic, Aberdeen, Hibs, Hearts or Motherwell, Dundee United, or Rangers reserve teams above a part time like Kelty Hearts or Brora Rangers. But I am not attacking those clubs. I support all Scottish clubs, and want them all to do well. I am just saying that if we could develop more top players for the national side then that would be more important than Kelty Hearts or Brora Rangers finishing 5 or 6 places above where they would end. My priority is the national side and our club's performances in Europe, not whether Kelty Hearts finish 5 places higher in League One. With all respect to Kelty Hearts.

We need to create a system that keeps and attracts top players to Scottish football, that develops top young players, and that allows us to have teams that do Scotland proud in terms of European performances. I think a major way to do that is to allow the top clubs to have youth teams playing against real teams in the lower tiers.

We should look all the time at how we can get bigger amounts of money into Scottish football, more top quality players and top quality international players in the game.

My League organisation would be

All Premier teams playing a reserve side in League Two

14 team Premier.  Splitting into two groups of seven.

14 team Championship. Splitting into two groups of seven.

18 team League One North.

18 team League One South.

Below that Highland and Lowland Leagues.

That equals 64 teams.

That is an increase of 22 teams.

Those 22 extra teams would be the 14 Scottish Premier sides, under 23 year old sides starting off in League One North or South. They would not be allowed to be promoted from League One. So would not take places in the Championship, from bigger sides.    

There would also need to be 8 teams brought up from non league, to make up the numbers. I would promote Brora Rangers, and Kelty Hearts. But the other 6 places would go to teams by a vote from the existing SPFL sides.

4 minutes ago, Thistle Scotland Europe said:

I think that a top league of 14 teams. With the league splitting after 26 games to two sections of 7. With each team playing each team in their section twice again. Resulting 38 games.

Also I would love to see us copy the Spanish, Dutch, Belgians, Germans, and Portugal in allowing the big Scottish sides to play youth or reserve teams in the lower divisions. Either every team in the Premier would be a given a place or just Aberdeen, Celtic, Rangers, Hearts, Hibs, Dundee United and Motherwell. It would guarantee that young Scottish players get competitive experience of football at a young age. This would allow the big sides to produce a conveyor belt of talent for the Scottish football system, and more importantly the national team. They could be promoted up to League One.  This would be a good standard for young Scottish players to develop at. Andy Robertson developed at Queen's Park. Kenny Dalglish played for Cumbernauld United. So this is a good level to develop players at.

Some will say that it is wrong to put the Celtic, Aberdeen, Hibs, Hearts or Motherwell, Dundee United, or Rangers reserve teams above a part time like Kelty Hearts or Brora Rangers. But I am not attacking those clubs. I support all Scottish clubs, and want them all to do well. I am just saying that if we could develop more top players for the national side then that would be more important than Kelty Hearts or Brora Rangers finishing 5 or 6 places above where they would end. My priority is the national side and our club's performances in Europe, not whether Kelty Hearts finish 5 places higher in League One. With all respect to Kelty Hearts.

We need to create a system that keeps and attracts top players to Scottish football, that develops top young players, and that allows us to have teams that do Scotland proud in terms of European performances. I think a major way to do that is to allow the top clubs to have youth teams playing against real teams in the lower tiers.

We should look all the time at how we can get bigger amounts of money into Scottish football, more top quality players and top quality international players in the game.

That equals 64 teams.

Those 22 extra teams would be the 14 Scottish Premier sides, under 23 year old sides starting off in League One North or South. They would not be allowed to be promoted from League One. So would not take places in the Championship, from bigger sides.    

There would also need to be 8 teams brought up from non league, to make up the numbers. I would promote Brora Rangers, and Kelty Hearts. But the other 6 places would go to teams by a vote from the existing SPFL sides.

Why would Highland and Lowland league teams want to get promoted into the SPFL to end up playing 7 reserve teams in a regional set up, in other words a glorified Highland and Lowland league?

6 minutes ago, Thistle Scotland Europe said:

That equals 64 teams.

I agree with a lot of what you have written! However I vehemently oppose colt teams being played in the senior leagues, as it's demeaning. I believe St. Mirren fielded a side in the juniors, once upon a time - if it has to be done, maybe that's the way forward. But I would very much resent the Saints playing a colt side, were we ever to be unfortunate enough to grace the lower leagues.

Ann Budge might be utterly incompetent but whinging about her pointing out that early relegation might just be a tad harsh when there is a possible alternative is quite bizarre. I'd be worried if she wasn't continually doing just that. 

All clubs are acting in their own self interest just now. Quelle surprise. 

Monty Ha

14 minutes ago, Thistle Scotland Europe said:

That equals 64 teams.

tenor.gif

22 minutes ago, Thistle Scotland Europe said:

That equals 64 teams.

Hideous shite.

Absolute fucking garbage in fact. Glad nothing even close to this spiteful fucking pish will never happen. Get this so far to f**k 

Edited by DA Baracus

14 minutes ago, Falcor Roar said:

Ann Budge might be utterly incompetent but whinging about her pointing out that early relegation might just be a tad harsh when there is a possible alternative is quite bizarre. I'd be worried if she wasn't continually doing just that. 

Yeah, she isn't doing that. She's specifically stating that because Hearts are Hearts they shouldn't go down. It's a "tad harsh" on everyone in this league if they aren't relegated imo.

I had started off having a level of sympathy for Hearts' position but after her sanctimonious ramblings, I will be absolutely gleeful if reconstruction is refused and your club is huckled out of the division.

I can only imagine Grey is sitting there, head in hands, thinking "this woman is going to f**k us both over here".

As much as the end of this season is unprecedented, we have to acknowledge that if  Hearts were a notch or two higher in the league we'd be voting Yes to that resolution vote last week too. The bold Ann would probably have flung in a decent lecture aimed at any clubs threatening to derail cash coming into the bank.

Once the season has got up and running a side like ours with what has been spent on it should at no point be bottom of the league. She was only saying in Aug that the incumbent fanny of a manager, after a shocker the season before, was doing a great job. The fans have been left pulling their hair out at this woman. Keeping Levein in position for as long as she did, allowing that guiser MacPhee to take the team for as long as he did then fucking about for weeks on end getting a replacement have played a bigger part in our relegation than a virus. It is my own personal opinion formed after the St Mirren game that we were down.

This situation is convenient in many way's because it's something to hide behind, that question of perhaps we would have stayed up? We will never know as thing's stand. One thing that was abundantly clear is we were on a downward trajectory long before some poor sod in China scoffed a scabby bat.

3 minutes ago, Hey! Ho! Jambo! said:

As much as the end of this season is unprecedented, we have to acknowledge that if  Hearts were a notch or two higher in the league we'd be voting Yes to that resolution vote last week too. The bold Ann would probably have flung in a decent lecture aimed at any clubs threatening to derail cash coming into the bank.

Once the season has got up and running a side like ours with what has been spent on it should at no point be bottom of the league. She was only saying in Aug that the incumbent fanny of a manager, after a shocker the season before, was doing a great job. The fans have been left pulling their hair out at this woman. Keeping Levein in position for as long as she did, allowing that guiser MacPhee to take the team for as long as he did then fucking about for weeks on end getting a replacement have played a bigger part in our relegation than a virus. It is my own personal opinion formed after the St Mirren game that we were down.

This situation is convenient in many way's because it's something to hide behind, that question of perhaps we would have stayed up? We will never know as thing's stand. One thing that was abundantly clear is we were on a downward trajectory long before some poor sod in China scoffed a scabby bat.

Bit of a shame too, I really like Stendel and think given time he would have built a really good team there. Just made the change too late.