Israel Vs Scotland 28th March

Gordopolis

Just now, Scary Bear said:

McGregor is 39. And retired. Hardly one for the future. Is he going to make Scotland win games?

While Marshall is continuing to chuck them in on the rare occasions he isn't sat on Derby's bench, then you'd have to say the answer is yes.

Just now, G51 said:

Difference is, McGregor hasn't hit his aging curve yet. It'll come eventually - only Tom Brady can defy nature. But given that he's been by far and away the best keeper in Scotland this year, produced excellent displays in Europe and just made one of the best saves of his career a few weeks ago, it's pretty clear McGregor hasn't hit terminal decline yet.

What position does he play?

Tbf McGregor moves like an old man now. His shot stopping is fine but the rest of his game has fallen apart. He's not an upgrade on Marshall.

Marshall made a mistake tonight which usually he wouldn't make. What concerned me more was his distribution which was pretty awful. 

Liam Kelly is very comfortable with the ball at his feet. We should be maybe looking at him as a successor, and making a call to Angus Gunn. And Ryan Fredericks, and Matt Targett. And Karlan Grant.

This was a better result than the draw at home to Austria.

You've got to win home matches and stop your rivals picking up full points at their place.

We have very little chance of winning away from home against any half decent team, we are just not good enough, so home wins are absolutely what it's all about.

What was up with our first touch tonight? It was shocking across the board. Surely these players can't be as bad at controlling the ball for their club sides? McGinn and McGregor were particularly guilty but Fraser, Robertson and Christie also looked less than sharp.

Just now, Ya Bezzer! said:

You've got to win home matches and stop your rivals picking up full points at their place.

We have very little chance of winning away from home against any half decent team, we are just not good enough, so home wins are absolutely what it's all about.

Pish. Israel are essentially fucking shite. 

We treated them like they were Brazil 1970 tonight and made them look like that.

For the 15 minutes we were aggressive they looked like Raith Rovers. You have to treat shite like they're shite, all teams now if you sit off them can pop the ball about. 

1 minute ago, HalfCutNinja said:

What position does he play?

Tbf McGregor moves like an old man now. His shot stopping is fine but the rest of his game has fallen apart. He's not an upgrade on Marshall.

Marshall made a mistake tonight which usually he wouldn't make. What concerned me more was his distribution which was pretty awful. 

Liam Kelly is very comfortable with the ball at his feet. We should be maybe looking at him as a successor, and making a call to Angus Gunn. And Ryan Fredericks, and Matt Targett. And Karlan Grant.

Behave yourself. Even when the two of them were at the peak of their careers, McGregor was a better keeper than Marshall. McGregor is still at his peak and Marshall looks like he's fallen off a cliff.

Just now, G51 said:

While Marshall is continuing to chuck them in on the rare occasions he isn't sat on Derby's bench, then you'd have to say the answer is yes.

Looking to a 39 year old retired goalkeeper for salvation is complete and utter desperation.

3 minutes ago, Thumper said:

Right now it's looking like we'll watch two drab losses or shit draws at an empty Hampden and get pumped at an empty Wembley. Hoo fucking rah.

It’s still more than I’ve ever seen in my lifetime! Let’s not pretend it’s nothing despite how poor and negative in our play I think we’ve been

1 minute ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

Israel aren't "our rivals". They're the diddy fourth seeds who haven't qualified for a tournament in over fifty years, and unlike us that isn't due to underperformance.

Just now, Scary Bear said:

Looking to a 39 year old retired goalkeeper for salvation is complete and utter desperation.

Desperation sounds about right for the Scotland goalkeeping situation.

Just now, HalfCutNinja said:

Pish. Israel are essentially fucking shite. 

We treated them like they were Brazil 1970 tonight and made them look like that.

For the 15 minutes we were aggressive they looked like Raith Rovers. You have to treat shite like they're shite, all teams now if you sit off them can pop the ball about. 

6 matches against Israel, 1 win.

I guess we just keep on playing them till our superior quality averages out in results, eh?  How many games do you think will take?

22 minutes ago, Need2Speak2Caesar said:

Every lose ball and 50/50 seemed to fall to an Israeli player. They looked like they wanted it more.

To be fair they knew losing their first two (home) games would effectively knock them out. As per they are a perennial pain. If we played them away end of the campaign it may just have been easier if they were already out. Plus you know they are still p1ssed we knocked them out of the play offs for the Euros. 

My worry is they will not play like that against Austria. But you never know. They are certainly capable of giving most teams a game in Tel Aviv even though they don’t win that many. 

1 minute ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

Correct.  The best Scotland teams I've ever seen almost never won a big away game.  98, 90, 86, 82, 78 and 74 were almost exclusively qualifications off the back off solid home form and beating the minnows away.

And bar 98 we had at least one pretty poor home result in each campaign from memory

1 minute ago, Thumper said:

Israel aren't "our rivals". They're the diddy fourth seeds who haven't qualified for a tournament in over fifty years, and unlike us that isn't due to underperformance.

Any Scotland fan calling other teams diddy is a deluded lunatic.

2 minutes ago, G51 said:

Behave yourself. Even when the two of them were at the peak of their careers, McGregor was a better keeper than Marshall. McGregor is still at his peak and Marshall looks like he's fallen off a cliff.

Aye but they urnae anymore. McGregor isn't still at his peak, just Rangers face one shot every twelve games. 

He's good and will be a good shot-stopper till he's 55, but he can't move anymore and isn't any better than Marshall. He was pish at home to Slavia. One top save doesn't make him Lev Yashin.

1 minute ago, welldaft said:

To be fair they knew losing their first two (home) games would effectively knock them out. As per they are a perennial pain. If we played them away end of the campaign it may just have been easier if they were already out. Plus you know they are still p1ssed we knocked them out of the play offs for the Euros. 

My worry is they will not play like that against Austria. But you never know. They are certainly capable of giving most teams a game in Tel Aviv even though they don’t win that many. 

They won't, for the same reason they didn't against Denmark - Austria won't let them.