The Queen of the South thread

1 hour ago, HighlandQueen said:

Any tips to find it? 

My memory fails me. It genuinely took me a while to find it though, although I may have taken a wrong turn or two. My advice would be to give yourself an extra 15 minutes or so. That said, your sense of direction may be better than mine. And your satnav!

Edited by louisxiv

13 minutes ago, louisxiv said:

My memory fails me. It genuinely took me a while to find it though, although I may have taken a wrong turn or two. My advice would be to give yourself an extra 15 minutes or so. That said, your sense of direction may be better than mine. And your satnav!

Thanks! 

3 hours ago, louisxiv said:

Took me an hour o find the ground last time. 

I know where the ground is, walk my dog in Calderglen Country Park sometimes, only 7 miles north of me.

2 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

I know where the ground is, walk my dog in Calderglen Country Park sometimes, only 7 miles north of me.

Very helpful advice for the rest of us,  thanks for that.

1 minute ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Very helpful advice for the rest of us,  thanks for that.

Aye, just realised! 🤣🤣🤣

I'm about to hit the sack tonight, I'll jot down some directions in the morning ...

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

If you find the country park (which any satnav should guide you to) you'll find K-Park. It's not too difficult.

Yep park at the overflow car park which is the very first left as you cone into Calderglen would be my suggestion. Walk down the hill and you are there within 2-3 minutes, K-Park is on your left hand side directly across from the cricket club. 

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

If you find the country park (which any satnav should guide you to) you'll find K-Park. It's not too difficult.

What is this satnav you speak off? I've got AA Road Atlases but there's been motorways built since I bought it.

11 hours ago, louisxiv said:

Thanks! 

Aye, so apart from the fact that Google tells me that postcode G75 0QZ will take your sat nav to K-Park, coming up from Dumfries I'd say the main options leaving the M74 are either Junctions 8 (Stonehouse), 6 (Hamilton) or 5 (Raith Interchange).

Given that East Kilbride being a "new town" is a land of many roundabouts probably the simplest way to find K-Park is to leave at J8 by-passing Stonehouse on the A71 to Strathaven in 6 miles and then take the A726 to East Kilbride (about 7 miles north of Strathaven).  Just after passing the Crutherland Hotel on your right you reach EK at its first roundabout (Torrance), go straight across (signposted A726 Town Centre), pass the Carrigans bistro pub on the right and go straight across another small roundabout and you will see the entrance to Calderglen Country Park signposted on your right - options are either to park in the overflow car park close to the entrance or carry on to the main Country Park car park.  K-Park itself is a short walk from either.

I wouldn't recommend taking J6 as its quite awkward to find a way to EK via Hamilton as you'd be taking a number of minor roads.

The other main alternative would be J5 which takes you straight onto the main A725 East Kilbride Expressway dual carriageway.  This isn't too bad but its probably a few more miles than the J8 route and the traffic is busier, although on faster roads.  On reaching EK the Expressway ends and you have two options - ignore the exit signposted right for Nerston, take the left option for Town Centre.  This takes you onto the big Whirlies roundabout (can be fun for the uninitiated) taking the second left exit keeping on the A725 (now Kingsway) signposted for Town Centre/Paisley/Strathaven - note, don't take the initial left slip lane which takes you into Calderwood.  Straight across the next roundabout (signed for The Murray/Hairmyers), then left at the next roundabout (Birniehill) signposted for Strathaven A726.  After about a mile you'll see the entrance for K-Park signposted on your left.

Hope this helps ...

44 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Aye, so apart from the fact that Google tells me that postcode G75 0QZ will take your sat nav to K-Park, coming up from Dumfries I'd say the main options leaving the M74 are either Junctions 8 (Stonehouse), 6 (Hamilton) or 5 (Raith Interchange).

Given that East Kilbride being a "new town" is a land of many roundabouts probably the simplest way to find K-Park is to leave at J8 by-passing Stonehouse on the A71 to Strathaven in 6 miles and then take the A726 to East Kilbride (about 7 miles north of Strathaven).  Just after passing the Crutherland Hotel on your right you reach EK at its first roundabout (Torrance), go straight across (signposted A726 Town Centre), pass the Carrigans bistro pub on the right and go straight across another small roundabout and you will see the entrance to Calderglen Country Park signposted on your right - options are either to park in the overflow car park close to the entrance or carry on to the main Country Park car park.  K-Park itself is a short walk from either.

I wouldn't recommend taking J6 as its quite awkward to find a way to EK via Hamilton as you'd be taking a number of minor roads.

The other main alternative would be J5 which takes you straight onto the main A725 East Kilbride Expressway dual carriageway.  This isn't too bad but its probably a few more miles than the J8 route and the traffic is busier, although on faster roads.  On reaching EK the Expressway ends and you have two options - ignore the exit signposted right for Nerston, take the left option for Town Centre.  This takes you onto the big Whirlies roundabout (can be fun for the uninitiated) taking the second left exit keeping on the A725 (now Kingsway) signposted for Town Centre/Paisley/Strathaven - note, don't take the initial left slip lane which takes you into Calderwood.  Straight across the next roundabout (signed for The Murray/Hairmyers), then left at the next roundabout (Birniehill) signposted for Strathaven A726.  After about a mile you'll see the entrance for K-Park signposted on your left.

Hope this helps ...

Google maps is showing the off ramp at J8 is closed until 28 July. It recommends your J5 option.

15 minutes ago, Artemis said:

Google maps is showing the off ramp at J8 is closed until 28 July. It recommends your J5 option.

Cheers @Artemis didn't realise J8 was closed. That's a shame, but as you say going on up past Hamilton to the J5 A725 East Kilbride Expressway exit will be the next best option ... just be careful to pick the correct lane approaching the end of the expressway going into the Whirlies roundabout. It's fairly straightforward after that.

1 hour ago, Otis Blue said:

Hope this helps ...

Fuckit, I'll get the bus.

3 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

The other main alternative would be J5 which takes you straight onto the main A725 East Kilbride Expressway dual carriageway

That's the one, simple. Good tip on the fork though, can imagine that catching some people out.

Edited by DG.Roma
Unwanted autocorrect!

On 18/07/2024 at 18:45, QoS99 said:

Todorov been freed by Airdrie, would love him back at us. You’d imagine he’d have half the Championship interested though.

Signed for Hamilton 

7 hours ago, the philosopher said:

Hold your head in shame everyone, the Stag in Bank Street is now shut I hear - a lovely traditional wee boozer,honestly will be missed.

Id honestly cease your charm offensive operation towards the Doon hammers cant see it has legs on here, the Arbroath  forum ( although you probably got the most pathetic response yet tbf ICT RESERVES AND THAT ) The HI Skyline intro on the Kelty forum suggests its time to Hang up your boots ?

Good and bad news on our injured players .

Church going to be out for at least a month it is a worry that his old injury has returned . Hopefully Brydon will be back in 2 weeks we really miss his physical presence at the back.

Still to add 2 players we are desperate for pace and another option in  the forward areas .

They will be loan signings nothing will happen till after the Cup games are done.

21 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

Good and bad news on our injured players .

Church going to be out for at least a month it is a worry that his old injury has returned . Hopefully Brydon will be back in 2 weeks we really miss his physical presence at the back.

Still to add 2 players we are desperate for pace and another option in  the forward areas .

They will be loan signings nothing will happen till after the Cup games are done.

Curb Your Enthusiasm Bingo GIF by Jason Clarke