Airdrie v Falkirk, 1st leg

7 minutes ago, Mybitchunderprotest said:

To favour the team from the top flight, make sure the team playing them have to go through additional matches and potentially pick up injuries etc. SPFL is a cartel designed to favour the top flight and certain teams in particular, as evidenced by the proposal for another league between L2 and the Lowland/Highland league and forcing their kiddie teams in.

Aye but the Prem teams still have 4 games to go, so they’ll be playing another couple of weeks whilst the Championship teams slug it out, so it’s not like they’ll be away relaxing before the playoffs. 

29 minutes ago, The Toun Clock said:

Anyone know why the Championship playoffs don’t follow the same format as the Premiership playoffs? Makes more sense to have 4th play 3rd, winner plays 2nd, winner plays the Championship team. 

Is it purely because Championship, L1 & L2 are all now finished but the Premiership still have the rest of the split to go? 

Should be decent. Accies don’t seem to offer much but it would be very on brand for them to survive just as they did in the Prem for years. We’ve taken 12/12 from Alloa, I actually think there’s better L1 teams than them not making the playoffs.

Airdrie/Falkirk will be a big couple of games, likely the team that comes through will go up. Airdrie the best team I’ve seen us play this season and Falkirk have previous for filling their kegs in pressure situations. Both very capable of beating each other, wouldn’t be surprised to see it go to penalties.

Play offs format for both is shite. If you're bottom and 2nd bottom you should be straight down, not gifted a shot at redemption. It's absolute gash. They don't do that anywhere else. Just in our fu(ked up system. 

28 minutes ago, AlwaysAPar said:

Airdrie this is your one shot of being the good guys, all neutrals on P&B are behind you. Don’t f**k it up.

We are most definitely unused to being seen as "the good guys". Unfortunately we are most definitely used to fucking it up.

Being an Airdrie fan is a perfect YTS for being a Scotland fan, absolute specialists in the "so near but so far" stakes.

Edited by cb_diamond

53 minutes ago, The Toun Clock said:

Aye but the Prem teams still have 4 games to go, so they’ll be playing another couple of weeks whilst the Championship teams slug it out, so it’s not like they’ll be away relaxing before the playoffs. 

Suspensions also effect the championship teams more with 2 bookings = suspension, a PREM team only has two games and needs to get sent off to miss a game, whereas a championship team can have up to six games to reach the prem 

1 hour ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Because the Premiership clubs are a shower of cnuts and want to make it as difficult as possible for another team to get into the Self Preservation League.

A set up all the diddy clubs voted for. Only got themselves to blame 

I'm strangely not shiting it for this. I'm very selectively choosing the game we won 3-1 over there as the most representative one....

I think I have been fairly consistent in my view that we were never catching Dunfermline because they never looked like having much in the way of f**k ups in them. I was saying that early doors. But I was also saying since January that I fancied us to be too strong in the playoffs. 

Clouded though those thoughts have been by the post Ayr dip in form, I still feel I have to back us to do this. Just a feeling iv had for a wee while. 

Could Falkirk lack of playoff experience in recent years play a part? 

We must have taken something from last years playoff campaign. I think we’ll be a bit calmer this time around. Was pretty frantic last year after chasing cove for months and then running out of steam in the final. 

Not a clue how this is going to go 

2 hours ago, The Toun Clock said:

Anyone know why the Championship playoffs don’t follow the same format as the Premiership playoffs? Makes more sense to have 4th play 3rd, winner plays 2nd, winner plays the Championship team. 

Is it purely because Championship, L1 & L2 are all now finished but the Premiership still have the rest of the split to go? 

Should be decent. Accies don’t seem to offer much but it would be very on brand for them to survive just as they did in the Prem for years. We’ve taken 12/12 from Alloa, I actually think there’s better L1 teams than them not making the playoffs.

Airdrie/Falkirk will be a big couple of games, likely the team that comes through will go up. Airdrie the best team I’ve seen us play this season and Falkirk have previous for filling their kegs in pressure situations. Both very capable of beating each other, wouldn’t be surprised to see it go to penalties.

The official.answer would be as both leagues finish on the same date then nobody is getting any advantage of time off etc.

Championship finishes weeks before the SPL so the staggered playoffs then .ean by the time the winner of the semi final playoff game is determined the the Spl will just wrap up . Without the stagger the championship team gain and extra couple of weeks off to recuperate and study film etc.

It's a load of tosh though as it just means every thing is slanted toward the spl team from the physical and especially the mental rigours of getting through the playoff scheme

18 minutes ago, Diamond1924 said:

Could Falkirk lack of playoff experience in recent years play a part? 

We must have taken something from last years playoff campaign. I think we’ll be a bit calmer this time around. Was pretty frantic last year after chasing cove for months and then running out of steam in the final. 

Not a clue how this is going to go 

Not so much playoff experience it's much more likely our bottle will crash. Happens all the time. We are the biggest shit the bed merchants going, we all live in hope one day it won't happen but it never fucking does. 

First thing’s first, I’m really glad Arbroath aren’t in these playoffs because they were the team I feared the most.

I think both semi final ties should be tight fixtures. Alloa have done really well under Brian Rice and they’ll make it very difficult for a Hamilton side that don’t know them too well. Obviously Hamilton will rightfully be favourites in that tie but I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Alloa are in the final.

I’d be lying if I said I was confident. It’d be typical given our excellent record against Falkirk over the last 4 years if we ended up losing to them when it mattered most. Gallagher and McGill’s form gives me some hope - and I think the ideal scenario is us starting the game like we started the 4-3 loss to Dunfermline by pressing their defence, forcing them into making mistakes, and taking our chances. The worst scenario is ending the game like we ended that Dunfermline game - by completely capitulating under pressure.

I think it’s very very hard to call either semi and will be equally hard to call the final, regardless of who progresses. I can see any of the four teams beating any of the other three.

5 minutes ago, ebobsboy said:

Not so much playoff experience it's much more likely our bottle will crash. Happens all the time. We are the biggest shit the bed merchants going, we all live in hope one day it won't happen but it never fucking does. 

A battle to see who can bottle it harder out of Airdrie and Falkirk. Spectacular.