Dundee United 23/24

To echo @Sarto Mutiny and @captainkev above, Goodwin's stock has been lowered over the past wee while. It's not just the dreadful cup (various cups) performances, when the pressure was on after the split last year his side came up short.

I'm hoping that the league record this season isn't simply down to getting better players in than other clubs *, but that Jim Goodwin has contributed to the side in a major way as well. We'll find out soon enough.

* credit to Goodwin for his part in recruitment, of course.

Edited by Dundee Hibernian

It's very odd, isn't it? We're talking about a manager who hasn't lost a league game this season, and we're almost in December. Despite that, given the way we finished last season it always felt as if he was two bad results away from being under pressure...and we've just had two bad results.

The next three league games are massive. Win them and we'll be strong favourites to go up. Lose any of them, especially the Rovers game on the 16th, and we're in a bit of bother.

Is LIam Grimshaw really doing so badly for yous? He was consistently rock-solid for us and everyone was scunnered to see him go. Mind -Tyler French came to us on loan from Dees with a massive reputation for pace and quality, and apart from the first few games, he's been rank rotten.

16 minutes ago, ArabFC said:

Didn't see it so can't really comment, and honestly don't care about any cup when promotion is the only real concern.

Possibly an element of the players viewing it that way too.

If this is the case, then it's totally unprofessional/tinpot. IMO.

1 hour ago, ArabFC said:

Didn't see it so can't really comment, and honestly don't care about any cup when promotion is the only real concern.

Possibly an element of the players viewing it that way too.

It is possible to have a good cup run and be promoted. It isn't a case of one or the other, especially since cup dates are included in the matchday calendar.

On 17/11/2023 at 21:33, ArabFC said:

Indeed. Couldnae give a fcuk. 

On 17/11/2023 at 21:27, Cardle is Magic said:

It’s the Challenge Cup mate - literally no one gives a shit.

Is this another diddy cup you’ve pumped out off , two cups in one week from league 1 teams ?

8 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

It was a bit disjointed today and we lost two poor goals so that's shite but im not going to be losing sleep over the performance. On another day we scored half a dozen in that match.

A frustrating watch but it certainly wasn't shite. 

On a day when the officials perform something remotely akin to their jobs, you only score one.

To suggest you "lost two poor goals", while failing to mention the nature of your own second, is laughable.

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

On a day when the officials perform something remotely akin to their jobs, you only score one.

To suggest you "lost two poor goals", while failing to mention the nature of your own second, is laughable.

We're allowed a handball goal in the Scottish Cup every ten years or so. I don't make the rules 

2 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

We still would have created a million chances if we had lost 2-1. Take a day off from being the site's biggest bore and enjoy your win