Fife Derby: Pars vs Rovers - Sat 26th August

Can only presume that due to the change in font, that you've lifted that from somewhere else. 

Which is worrying, because it means at least two people (the creator and yourself) have found that either funny, or witty, or both. It's the sort of wash you'd see on cringy Facebook groups. 

3 minutes ago, HoBNob said:

Can only presume that due to the change in font, that you've lifted that from somewhere else. 

Which is worrying, because it means at least two people (the creator and yourself) have found that either funny, or witty, or both. It's the sort of wash you'd see on cringy Facebook groups. 

Not If I posted it elsewhere (fantalk), none of which makes the points less valid.

3 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

What an absolute state to get into over a banner of a rival club. But then again is a poster who has always been an oddball.

Said the pot to the kettle.

Scotty, you’re not seriously suggesting that the creator of the tifo should have done some research to ensure the accuracy of the train are you? 

Does it really have any bearing on the tongue-in-cheek point they were clearly making?

4 minutes ago, stevoraith said:

Scotty, you’re not seriously suggesting that the creator of the tifo should have done some research to ensure the accuracy of the train are you? 

Does it really have any bearing on the tongue-in-cheek point they were clearly making?

Psssst Stevo, I'm not fishing for our own guys.

Thinking back to Saturday pre and post match, the Pars supporters we met in the town were really quite welcoming and gave a good account of themselves and their club.

There was the usual wind-up attempts but it was good natured stuff. 

They are a striker away from looking up the way instead of down,  though there was no way I was admitting that in conversation after the game!

It's good to have the derby back. 

11 minutes ago, Ebanda's Handyman Services said:

Thinking back to Saturday pre and post match, the Pars supporters we met in the town were really quite welcoming and gave a good account of themselves and their club.

They are a striker away from looking up the way instead of down,  though there was no way I was admitting that in conversation after the game!

Most folk who follow football at our level appreciate the self deprecating and subject misery. I've never met anyone from the Pars side who's been a dick to me personally. You usually end up with "aye, we don't get on but at least you're on an old firm fan".

1 hour ago, Ebanda's Handyman Services said:

On the whole Rovers fans are a decent bunch and I always feel like I can have a good laugh/chat with them. I enjoy talking about football with opposition fans and getting a different perspective. Only team that’s an issue with is Falkirk - they seem to have a much higher proportion of deluded numpties than other clubs. The rivalry with you guys is certainly a lot healthier than the rivalry we have with them - those games bring out the worst in both sets of fans.

I posted after the game, then avoided this thread for the rest of the weekend (for obvious reasons). Don’t think there’s a great deal between the clubs, but you were the better team on the day and your manager got the game plan spot on. Here’s hoping we get revenge at Starks Park in October!

Edited by CallumPar

For me, the most pleasing aspect was the fight and togetherness, something often missing down recent years. We still have a couple of additions to the squad coming, we still have key players returning and/or getting up to speed so if we somehow avoid the mid season injury crisis then we should be in a much better place for the return fixture in October.

I travel to as many games as possible and always enjoy mixing with the ‘locals’. As mentioned, we are all in the same boat to an extent, easy growing up to jump on the glory wagon and support the bigot brothers like 80% of the Scottish population!

Finally, I liked the train, they got it to look real like it was really moving as well

5 hours ago, Pride of Fife said:

For me, the most pleasing aspect was the fight and togetherness, something often missing down recent years. We still have a couple of additions to the squad coming, we still have key players returning and/or getting up to speed so if we somehow avoid the mid season injury crisis then we should be in a much better place for the return fixture in October.

I travel to as many games as possible and always enjoy mixing with the ‘locals’. As mentioned, we are all in the same boat to an extent, easy growing up to jump on the glory wagon and support the bigot brothers like 80% of the Scottish population!

Finally, I liked the train, they got it to look real like it was really moving as well

Not sure when you’d have seen a moving train with all the industrial actions recently…

Not sure if it has been mentioned earlier, but one of the things that noticed was that Mcpake had spoke highly of Vaughan before the game.

Clearly he thought he would start and maybe had a wee game plan to nullify him. So Murray just left him on the bench instead.

Refreshing to have Vaughan, Gullan, Easton and Ross all available to come off the bench. It is definitely the best squad that’s been assembled for a long time. Still have Connolly to come back too, and to a lesser extent Ross Matthews. Not sure still on his time frame for return. 

58 minutes ago, Wardy said:

Not sure if it has been mentioned earlier, but one of the things that noticed was that Mcpake had spoke highly of Vaughan before the game.

Clearly he thought he would start and maybe had a wee game plan to nullify him. So Murray just left him on the bench instead.

Refreshing to have Vaughan, Gullan, Easton and Ross all available to come off the bench. It is definitely the best squad that’s been assembled for a long time. Still have Connolly to come back too, and to a lesser extent Ross Matthews. Not sure still on his time frame for return. 

Fergie levels of reverse psychology from McPake. 😉
It would have been better if we could have found the net though  

20 hours ago, CallumPar said:

On the whole Rovers fans are a decent bunch and I always feel like I can have a good laugh/chat with them. I enjoy talking about football with opposition fans and getting a different perspective. Only team that’s an issue with is Falkirk - they seem to have a much higher proportion of deluded numpties than other clubs. The rivalry with you guys is certainly a lot healthier than the rivalry we have with them - those games bring out the worst in both sets of fans.

I posted after the game, then avoided this thread for the rest of the weekend (for obvious reasons). Don’t think there’s a great deal between the clubs, but you were the better team on the day and your manager got the game plan spot on. Here’s hoping we get revenge at Starks Park in October!

Totally this. 
Many Falkirk fans fancy themselves as wee hard men no matter what team they are playing, and for some bizarre reason they bring the worst out in many of our supporters. It would be a refreshing change if our supporters could simply laugh it off and walk away, but we all know they can’t/won’t. 

we have to hope that KRH and Matty are the answer for us, because we could still be shooting at Raith goals now and failing to score. 
our management will see our squad shortcomings, and we can only hope they have it fully under control.