St Mirren - v - Aberdeen 27 August

1 minute ago, Dons_1988 said:

Lads, VAR is an unmitigated waste of money. It has been long before it arrived in our wee league. 

Those who know better than us have decided we will have it for all eternity so just be grateful. 

You will win some and lose some, but it’ll always be shite. 

Best post in the thread. 

9 hours ago, mcginns said:

The Aberdeen TV highlights will be a bit limited for the Dons fans. One free kick, one penalty...and all because they were a bit out of puff after playing European giants Hacken.

Who did St Mirren have in the playoffs? 

We'll comfortably finish above St Mirren, as usual, and their fans are welcome to pat themselves on the back all they like.

18 minutes ago, MikeAFC94 said:

Who did St Mirren have in the playoffs? 

We'll comfortably finish above St Mirren, as usual, and their fans are welcome to pat themselves on the back all they like.

Quoted to ensure this display of boastful arrogance doesnae get deleted. :) 

7 hours ago, Thenorthernlight said:

Aye?

What “decisions” are they?

There’s the debate on whether Miovski double kicked it or just kicked it in to the ground. 
I’ve seen a super slo-mo umpteen times & can’t make up my mind.

Not “clear & obvious”

Decisions?

What others?……………. 

There’s the clear and obvious penalty Beaton or VAR should have awarded Aberdeen following Miovski’s goal in the 100th+ minute. The other ‘clear’ VAR decisions missed appear to be awarding offside against a player who was clearly offside, and not sending Miovski off because weegies can’t be trusted to behave themselves.

The 1970’s Brazil team were lucky to even get a point given the clear additional penalty missed by the officials.

50 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

You lot have been kidding yourselves in saying that any previous footage definitely shows a double touch. This is the only one that does. 

Fully understand why it couldn't be chalked off on the evidence provided but point stands that VAR is not fit for purpose. A hard camera behind either goal would have cleared the issue up pretty quickly.

There is also the issue of what the referee and assistant are looking at in real time. Are they so focused on players encroaching the area or keeper stepping off his line that neither have eyes on the penalty taker himself?

4 minutes ago, Fraser Fyvie said:

Surely you can tell by the spin and direction of the ball its a double touch.

To disallow the goal, you have to actually see the double touch not just guess because of what the ball does.

3 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Definitely a double touch. Unlucky Saints.

I still don’t see it as definite? 
Hits the ball in to the ground? 
Not 100% clear & obvious? 

Besides who cares it was two days ago. 

As @AngusTheBull mentioned above, what about the penalty appeal we had for hand ball after the one we got? 
That kind of fell under the radar? 
Was the players arm at his side? Probably but they never showed that as forensically as the others 

9 hours ago, Captain_Sensible said:

Looks like a double touch to me. The keeper thinks it’s a double touch straight away and a couple of the Aberdeen players look like they’ve got doubts 

The keeper whose just conceded a goal is claiming something to stop it being a goal?

Have you ever watched football before?