The Pie and Bovril Dead Pool 2024

11 hours ago, Clangers said:

I just had to google what a prostate was! I know nothing about the posable problems to look out for and I am what I thought do be a reasonable informed person. This need more information out there.

Really! I find that incredible.

More information won't go wrong, but I thought most adults had the gist of how the body works.

Week 42 update

One death this week, Palestinian Militant, Yahya Sinwar: IDF video appears to show final moments of Hamas leader Yahya Sinwar, throwing stick at drone | Israel-Gaza war | The Guardian

In the last months of his life, Sinwar, the main architect of the 7 October 2023 attack on Israel that set off the war in Gaza, appears to have stopped using telephones and other communication equipment that would have allowed Israel’s powerful intelligence services to track him down.

Israeli officials said they believed he was hiding in one of the vast network of tunnels that Hamas dug beneath Gaza over the past two decades, but as more and more have been uncovered by Israeli troops, even the tunnels were no guarantee of escaping capture.

Intelligence services had been searching for Sinwar for months and had been gradually restricting the area where he could operate, the military said. Dental records, fingerprints and DNA testing provided final confirmation of Sinwar’s death.

I'm not going to pretend I can offer any insight into his life, death or the situation in the Middle East but he definitely, definitely seems to be dead.

Sinwar died at 61 so he's worth 64 Base Points. He gets an Unnatural Causes bonus for an extra 50 which means 114 points for @Alex_14, @HK Hibee, @ICTChris, @invergowrie arab and @pawpar.

===============

With this in mind I had been waiting for a week of no deaths, but this seems as good a time as any. Remember Mohammed Deif, the other Hamas guy who Israel said they'd killed? Well, Wikipedia is back to saying he's alive: Mohammed Deif - Wikipedia

There doesn't seem to be any additional clarification since August when he was 'killed', and given Sinwar's death you'd expect Israel to have offered more substantial confirmation. As it stands I'm currently leaning towards not counting him as dead (and making my second update to the rules based on a @Ned Nederlander pick) but you never know, I'm sure Israel has many more bombs to drop.

After that, the standings look like this:

1. Ned Nederlander 797
2. The Naitch 593
3. psv_killie 564
4. Billy Jean King 536
5. mozam76 528
6. lolls 514
7. Moomintroll 502
8. choirbairn 501
9. The_Craig 494
10. Indale Winton 484
11. JustOneCornetto 470
12. El Guapo 457
13. chomp my root 450
14. sparky88 447
15. The DA 436
16. pub car king 430
17. Savage Henry 415
18. Lofarl 407
19. mathematics, Melanius Mullarkay 404
21. TxRover 397
22. weirdcal 378
23. Forest_Fifer 369
24. Arch Stanton 363
25. buddiepaul, cdhafc1874 360
27. lichtgilphead 351
28. peasy23 348
29. Bully Wee Villa, Darren 347
31. Desp 342
32. sleazy 340
33. Arbroathlegend36-0 324
34. Arabdownunder 318
35. HI HAT, nessies long lost ghost 312
37. scottsdad 307
38. Aim Here 306
39. invergowrie arab 300
40. pawpar 293
41. Oystercatcher 270
42. Mark Connolly 262
43. amnarab 258
44. Craig fae the Vale 251
45. Sweaty Morph 244
46.  Shotgun 231
47. Karpaty Lviv 225
48. LoonsYouthTeam 222
49. senorsoupe 219
50. Sergeant Wilson 218
51. blackislekillie 216
52. parxyz 206
53. Shipa 204
54. qos_75 203
55. ICTChris 188
56. gingette 187
57. tamthebam 171
58. Molotov 170

59. 10menwent2mow, 101, Guy Incognito, throbber 168
63. Raidernation, Salvo Montalbano 163
65. Ray Patterson 162
66. DG.Roma 159
67. alta-pete, Miguel Sanchez 156
69. ThomCat 152
70. HK Hibee 150
71. Trogdor 149
72. get_the_subbies_on, Polarbear, Scorge, The Master 144
76. Cheese 143
77. Florentine_Pogen 140
78. The Hologram 134
79. Enigma 128
80. Ash1990 126
81. Alex_14 114
82. Deanburn Dave 106

83. sophia 85
84. dagane 84
85. 19QOS19 81

86. GordonD, Suspect Device 76
88.  Bert Raccoon 72
89. Richey Edwards, superwell87 57

91. stanton 51
92. BillyAnchor, doulikefish 49
94. starksbark2 37
95. Eednud, Les Cabbage, PWL 36
98. falkirktheinvincible 27

99. Everyone else 0 

The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CsroU6IlQNJOesOqCc5gsI7SCw8ywBS-PUzQwLTJe4g/edit?usp=sharing

14 hours ago, Clangers said:

Horrible news, as a massive cycling fan (mainly road) and being the same age I grew up with him a Mr Scotland in sport.

I just had to google what a prostate was! I know nothing about the posable problems to look out for and I am what I thought do be a reasonable informed person. This need more information out there.

Surprised at that, thought it was quite well publicised as the most common cancer in men.

5 hours ago, Moomintroll said:

I know this is a thread for dark humour, but once again f**k cancer

Exactly this. Chris Hoy's news deserves better than just an inclusion on this thread. Any chance of the mods splitting them into their own thread?

Edited by s_dog

On 20/10/2024 at 12:53, Miguel Sanchez said:

Week 42 update

One death this week, Palestinian Militant, Yahya Sinwar: IDF video appears to show final moments of Hamas leader Yahya Sinwar, throwing stick at drone | Israel-Gaza war | The Guardian

I'm not going to pretend I can offer any insight into his life, death or the situation in the Middle East but he definitely, definitely seems to be dead.

Sinwar died at 61 so he's worth 64 Base Points. He gets an Unnatural Causes bonus for an extra 50 which means 114 points for @Alex_14, @HK Hibee, @ICTChris, @invergowrie arab and @pawpar.

===============

With this in mind I had been waiting for a week of no deaths, but this seems as good a time as any. Remember Mohammed Deif, the other Hamas guy who Israel said they'd killed? Well, Wikipedia is back to saying he's alive: Mohammed Deif - Wikipedia

There doesn't seem to be any additional clarification since August when he was 'killed', and given Sinwar's death you'd expect Israel to have offered more substantial confirmation. As it stands I'm currently leaning towards not counting him as dead (and making my second update to the rules based on a @Ned Nederlander pick) but you never know, I'm sure Israel has many more bombs to drop.

After that, the standings look like this:

1. Ned Nederlander 797
2. The Naitch 593
3. psv_killie 564
4. Billy Jean King 536
5. mozam76 528
6. lolls 514
7. Moomintroll 502
8. choirbairn 501
9. The_Craig 494
10. Indale Winton 484
11. JustOneCornetto 470
12. El Guapo 457
13. chomp my root 450
14. sparky88 447
15. The DA 436
16. pub car king 430
17. Savage Henry 415
18. Lofarl 407
19. mathematics, Melanius Mullarkay 404
21. TxRover 397
22. weirdcal 378
23. Forest_Fifer 369
24. Arch Stanton 363
25. buddiepaul, cdhafc1874 360
27. lichtgilphead 351
28. peasy23 348
29. Bully Wee Villa, Darren 347
31. Desp 342
32. sleazy 340
33. Arbroathlegend36-0 324
34. Arabdownunder 318
35. HI HAT, nessies long lost ghost 312
37. scottsdad 307
38. Aim Here 306
39. invergowrie arab 300
40. pawpar 293
41. Oystercatcher 270
42. Mark Connolly 262
43. amnarab 258
44. Craig fae the Vale 251
45. Sweaty Morph 244
46.  Shotgun 231
47. Karpaty Lviv 225
48. LoonsYouthTeam 222
49. senorsoupe 219
50. Sergeant Wilson 218
51. blackislekillie 216
52. parxyz 206
53. Shipa 204
54. qos_75 203
55. ICTChris 188
56. gingette 187
57. tamthebam 171
58. Molotov 170

59. 10menwent2mow, 101, Guy Incognito, throbber 168
63. Raidernation, Salvo Montalbano 163
65. Ray Patterson 162
66. DG.Roma 159
67. alta-pete, Miguel Sanchez 156
69. ThomCat 152
70. HK Hibee 150
71. Trogdor 149
72. get_the_subbies_on, Polarbear, Scorge, The Master 144
76. Cheese 143
77. Florentine_Pogen 140
78. The Hologram 134
79. Enigma 128
80. Ash1990 126
81. Alex_14 114
82. Deanburn Dave 106

83. sophia 85
84. dagane 84
85. 19QOS19 81

86. GordonD, Suspect Device 76
88.  Bert Raccoon 72
89. Richey Edwards, superwell87 57

91. stanton 51
92. BillyAnchor, doulikefish 49
94. starksbark2 37
95. Eednud, Les Cabbage, PWL 36
98. falkirktheinvincible 27

99. Everyone else 0 

The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CsroU6IlQNJOesOqCc5gsI7SCw8ywBS-PUzQwLTJe4g/edit?usp=sharing

*goes to edit Wikipedia*

😜

On 19/10/2024 at 17:41, Clangers said:

Horrible news, as a massive cycling fan (mainly road) and being the same age I grew up with him a Mr Scotland in sport.

Usually an unforgivable question to ask on here but are you female? Surely there can't be any adult men out there who don't know what their prostate is.

Edited by jimbaxters

One GP at my practice checks my prostate every time I am in with him. "Just while you're here," he says. I usually go to someone else now. He checked it first when I was about 35. Just gets a bit tiresome going in for, say, a sore elbow and ending up with your knees up to your chest. 

7 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

One GP at my practice checks my prostate every time I am in with him. "Just while you're here," he says. I usually go to someone else now. He checked it first when I was about 35. Just gets a bit tiresome going in for, say, a sore elbow and ending up with your knees up to your chest. 

Presumably that's your GP's complaint after he's finished with you.

3 hours ago, scottsdad said:

IMG_0006.jpeg

5 hours ago, scottsdad said:

I went for a prostate check up last week.

The Doctor told me, 'Don't be embarrassed sir, it's not unusual to get an erection during this procedure.'

I said 'I haven't got an erection'

He replied, 'I know, but I have'