WokeWatch

BFTD

I'm nae Roger Whittaker but I enjoy a wee whistle while playing along to tunes I forget the words to and it's preferable to my singing voice. So I'm all for a wee whistle but naw the two fingers in the mouth Ned warning call.

5 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

"James Melville" is not a real person and people who whistle in public should be killed as violently as possible. 

John Beaton, Les Mottram, Hugh Dallas & Willie Collum all live in fear of the Dead Pool organiser's wrath

I was thinking about this the other day actually. I whistle all the time and I'm pretty adept at it, although next time I'm in Glasgow I guess I'll need to be wary of @Miguel Sanchez jumping out on me like Kato. 

Nobody does it any more and I do think mobile phones have killed it. It's a skill that requires practice and a bit of dead time to do that. Kids don't really have dead time now because they can fill it (as can adults) with screen time. 

40 minutes ago, velo army said:

I was thinking about this the other day actually. I whistle all the time and I'm pretty adept at it, although next time I'm in Glasgow I guess I'll need to be wary of @Miguel Sanchez jumping out on me like Kato. 

Nobody does it any more and I do think mobile phones have killed it. It's a skill that requires practice and a bit of dead time to do that. Kids don't really have dead time now because they can fill it (as can adults) with screen time. 

Well now I'm intrigued. I always assumed it was unconscious. Are you telling me that whistlers - and people who hum, who are just as obnoxious - are actively thinking about it as they're doing it?

I was going to suggest that the built up environment is perhaps not as conducive to strolling as it once was due to the car-centric nature of town planning, and also that towns and cities are louder because cars are loud, so any whistling might not be heard. But then I remembered that there are no cars any more due to the woke war on motorists, so that can't be a factor.

2 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Well now I'm intrigued. I always assumed it was unconscious. Are you telling me that whistlers - and people who hum, who are just as obnoxious - are actively thinking about it as they're doing it?

Please don't put us whistlers, the virtuosi of auto-generated melifluous melody, with hummers. It's comparing flutes with kazoos. 

Mate not only do I focus on my chirrups and warblings,  but I bounce down Buchanan St like Julie Andrews in the Sound of Music.

14 hours ago, velo army said:

Please don't put us whistlers, the virtuosi of auto-generated melifluous melody, with hummers. It's comparing flutes with kazoos. 

Mate not only do I focus on my chirrups and warblings,  but I bounce down Buchanan St like Julie Andrews in the Sound of Music.

👏👏

18 hours ago, Alan Twelve said:

I was going to suggest that the built up environment is perhaps not as conducive to strolling as it once was due to the car-centric nature of town planning, and also that towns and cities are louder because cars are loud, so any whistling might not be heard. But then I remembered that there are no cars any more due to the woke war on motorists, so that can't be a factor.

So if we all buy Tesla cars we will hear whistling again, a better argument for everyone getting diesel cars with burst exhausts I cannot imagine.

49 minutes ago, MEADOWXI said:

So if we all buy Tesla cars we will hear whistling again, a better argument for everyone getting diesel cars with burst exhausts I cannot imagine.

Well, no. Most of the noise you get from cars these days is from the tyres, not the engines and with electric cars being heavier than ICE cars the noise pollution isn't going to get any better.

As the saying goes: cities aren't loud, cars are loud. Whereas back in the 1920s they used to say: cities aren't loud, whistling is loud.

Although the subtext of Elon Musk being a c**t is something we can all get behind.

18 hours ago, velo army said:

That's your Mum, that is.

300px-Whistlers_Mother_high_res.jpg

On 07/08/2024 at 22:12, velo army said:

flutes should be replaced by kazoos. Especially in July. The Larkhall Defenders Kazoo band has a ring to it.