Hello boys. We are back. It is GTF day.

After 5 years away we are back in League 1 with some of our fellow Part time teams along with the clusterfuck that is ICT. 

Our time away has been quite productive. A lot of changes behind the scenes to the ground, sponsorship, board since our last time in L1 with some more to come. On field we are in a transition phase but hopefully we get the right signings in to be in the promotion playoffs by the end of the season.

What has changed since we have been away? What have we missed?

I would like to think everyone will thoroughly enjoy their trip to a tidy looking much improved Gayfield Park. None of this hand the cash over to some old guy at the turnstile pish either you need an electronic ticket to scan in to get through the barriers these days. 

I think this looks like a cracking league with no clear favourite. I would like to think we’ve got a really good group of players already signed up and good to go for League 1 and with a wee bit more work we should find this year much more enjoyable than last.

Although there is the McIntyre thing to take into consideration, guy obviously couldn’t have had a harder situation to manage last season with the ridiculous injury count and problems to deal with since he come in but even at that it wasn’t good enough and he’s got a lot to prove. I am willing to give him time and I think the majority are now at that stage too so I hope for everyone’s sake he gets off to a decent start and we can all get behind him.

As for the other clubs, ICT could go in either direction, you could see them bouncing back right away or turning into an even bigger shit show. Either way it should be very entertaining. A night away for the away games is always also so very good Inverness is a great place and a fantastic night out (although some people at the club don’t seem to think so!!).

Kelty… never been and be a quick journey in the motor. Looking forward to playing them for the first ever time in league duty. 

We have had run ins with Dumbarton over the years and some fantastic games and occasions - f**k you Stephen Grindlay.

Stenny is a decent wee journey. I hate going to Alloa but again another team we’ve had plenty of history with recently.

Montrose… Star Bar for 11am and a superb underrated lower league derby. Always enjoyable putting them in their box… 😉

Annan is the best away day in the country. Train tickets will be bought for the away game as soon as fixtures are announced. 

And that leaves QoTs and Cove. Cove handy for the fact it’s an hour up the A90 although no offence to Cove fans it’s the ground I probably have least enjoyed visiting in the entire SPFL. QoTS a good away day on the bus and had some very good memories there recently, the place where Joel Nouble officially turned into an AFC superstar.

Cannot wait to hopefully start enjoying Saturdays and the weekends again after a good 18 month of them being an absolute chore! 

1 minute ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I would like to think everyone will thoroughly enjoy their trip to a tidy looking much improved Gayfield Park. None of this hand the cash over to some old guy at the turnstile pish either you need an electronic ticket to scan in to get through the barriers these days. 

I think this looks like a cracking league with no clear favourite. I would like to think we’ve got a really good group of players already signed up and good to go for League 1 and with a wee bit more work we should find this year much more enjoyable than last.

Although there is the McIntyre thing to take into consideration, guy obviously couldn’t have had a harder situation to manage last season with the ridiculous injury count and problems to deal with since he come in but even at that it wasn’t good enough and he’s got a lot to prove. I am willing to give him time and I think the majority are now at that stage too so I hope for everyone’s sake he gets off to a decent start and we can all get behind him.

As for the other clubs, ICT could go in either direction, you could see them bouncing back right away or turning into an even bigger shit show. Either way it should be very entertaining. A night away for the away games is always also so very good Inverness is a great place and a fantastic night out (although some people at the club don’t seem to think so!!).

Kelty… never been and be a quick journey in the motor. Looking forward to playing them for the first ever time in league duty. 

We have had run ins with Dumbarton over the years and some fantastic games and occasions - f**k you Stephen Grindlay.

Stenny is a decent wee journey. I hate going to Alloa but again another team we’ve had plenty of history with recently.

Montrose… Star Bar for 11am and a superb underrated lower league derby. Always enjoyable putting them in their box… 😉

Annan is the best away day in the country. Train tickets will be bought for the away game as soon as fixtures are announced. 

And that leaves QoTs and Cove. Cove handy for the fact it’s an hour up the A90 although no offence to Cove fans it’s the ground I probably have least enjoyed visiting in the entire SPFL. QoTS a good away day on the bus and had some very good memories there recently, the place where Joel Nouble officially turned into an AFC superstar.

Cannot wait to hopefully start enjoying Saturdays and the weekends again after a good 18 month of them being an absolute chore! 

As previously mentioned, the good old days of an early start at The Star are long gone as they don’t open until 4pm. They would possibly open early if someone contacted them in advance to say there’s a decent amount of folk coming through but I wouldn’t bank on it. 

Just now, Aidan said:

As previously mentioned, the good old days of an early start at The Star are long gone as they don’t open until 4pm. They would possibly open early if someone contacted them in advance to say there’s a decent amount of folk coming through but I wouldn’t bank on it. 

I remember this now you’ve said it. That is absolutely gutting. You’d hope they’d clock on that it’s the place we all go come match day and open up for 11. If not plenty of other smashing pubs in close vicinity, a wee opening day game would be some carry on… 

1 hour ago, RedLichtie86 said:

After 5 years away we are back in League 1 with some of our fellow Part time teams along with the clusterfuck that is ICT. 

Our time away has been quite productive. A lot of changes behind the scenes to the ground, sponsorship, board since our last time in L1 with some more to come. On field we are in a transition phase but hopefully we get the right signings in to be in the promotion playoffs by the end of the season.

What has changed since we have been away? What have we missed?

There was this other side who were here for a while, but you seem to have missed them. Can't remember their name.

Maybe you'll pass them again on the way up this season?

10 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I remember this now you’ve said it. That is absolutely gutting. You’d hope they’d clock on that it’s the place we all go come match day and open up for 11. If not plenty of other smashing pubs in close vicinity, a wee opening day game would be some carry on… 

They did open for the Falkirk game, but even that took plenty of persuading. They weren’t even aware that a big game was on until I happened to mention the amount of ticket sales about a week beforehand. 

Like you say though, hardly a lack of pubs in the town to pick from.

8 minutes ago, BFTD said:

There was this other side who were here for a while, but you seem to have missed them. Can't remember their name.

Maybe you'll pass them again on the way up this season?

Clearly not as big as us if you cant remember their name. Probably some diddy club.

29 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I would like to think we’ve got a really good group of players already signed up and good to go for League 1 and with a wee bit more work we should find this year much more enjoyable than last.

I do not wish to seem like a big negative downer but the last time Dumbarton fans felt like this we had to resort to Jim Duffy to save us. And we had the greatest footballer League 1 has ever seen banging them in from all angles!

Strap yourself in buddy and hope that Mr McIntyre doesn’t take you down that same bumpy road Stevie Aitken took us down. 

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

I do not wish to seem like a big negative downer but the last time Dumbarton fans felt like this we had to resort to Jim Duffy to save us. And we had the greatest footballer League 1 has ever seen banging them in from all angles!

Strap yourself in buddy and hope that Mr McIntyre doesn’t take you down that same bumpy road Stevie Aitken took us down. 

This. Coming down from the Championship as a part-time club isn’t as fun as you might think. Just see ourselves, Cowden and Brechin as prime examples… When you’re in a negative tailspin on the pitch (which Arbroath seem to have been for the last 18 months or so?), it’s not that easy to get out of it. We had a great team on paper the season we came down and optimism was pretty high. I don’t think it’s a given that Arbroath will do well. I’d also find it pretty funny if they don’t due to growing up playing them in the local derby in the Dundee league. Sorry guys, but Rancel (the worst named club of all time) have earned the smokies a lifelong prejudice from me.

Edited by FifeSons

Just now, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

I think there were positives there with McIntyre before Raith away (that was when it all started, the game Ali Adams had to go on uptop) to convince me that we will be at the very least ok.

A chunk of the current squad signing on to longer contracts has given me the re assurance that McIntyre has the backing of the group. 

I am not worrying. I fully trust the board and guys in charge to change it up if required too. 

I, for one, am sorry to see Arbroath back at this level.

I thought your venture into the Championship was well earned and your exploits in the 21/22 season, for a club of your size, were bordering on legendary.

Good luck this season.

15 minutes ago, FifeSons said:

This. Coming down from the Championship as a part-time club isn’t as fun as you might think. Just see ourselves, Cowden and Brechin as prime examples… When you’re in a negative tailspin on the pitch (which Arbroath seem to have been for the last 18 months or so?), it’s not that easy to get out of it. We had a great team on paper the season we came down and optimism was pretty high. I don’t think it’s a given that Arbroath will do well. I’d also find it pretty funny if they don’t due to growing up playing them in the local derby in the Dundee league. Sorry guys, but Rancel (the worst named club of all time) have earned the smokies a lifelong prejudice from me.

Rancel no longer exists! 

Also no Arbroath fan thinks it is a given that we will do well. 

You could use examples of teams that have come up or down from x league and went on to do x or y the year after, good examples and bad ones but none of it is really relevant in the here and now. Every situation is different 

Good luck to Dumbarton this season 👍🏻

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, FifeSons said:

This. Coming down from the Championship as a part-time club isn’t as fun as you might think. Just see ourselves, Cowden and Brechin as prime examples… When you’re in a negative tailspin on the pitch (which Arbroath seem to have been for the last 18 months or so?), it’s not that easy to get out of it. We had a great team on paper the season we came down and optimism was pretty high. I don’t think it’s a given that Arbroath will do well. I’d also find it pretty funny if they don’t due to growing up playing them in the local derby in the Dundee league. Sorry guys.

I'm less worried than I was.  We've got a new chairman, new CEO, so that should freshen things up a bit.  I'd also argue that the three teams you mentioned did not invest off the field to the extent that we did.  Since we were last here we have massively renovated our stadium, professionalised our operation, got a new club shop, and gained a whole load of fans.  On the pitch, I think we will end up punting McIntyre, but if we do it quickly enough, we should be in a good position, as it looks like he's made some decent signings (while admittedly losing a couple massive players). 

What's interesting for me is whether our new fans still have the anti-Montrose fire.  Will our new youngsters and season ticket holders fucking hate Montrose to the same extent?  They're used to us having derbies with the Dundee teams.

Edited to add, l'm hoping for a competitive position, hopefully in and around the playoffs, but I don't think we're going to be winning the title, probably not even close.  Our board have explicitly said we are pushing for the title, but I don't see it.  Top half of the table would suit me, as long as we see some actual goals and wins.

Edited by ExiledLichtie

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Rancel no longer exists! 

Well that goes some way towards healing the old wounds!

FWIW I think Arbroath will do well this season, but I’d definitely proceed with caution.

I’m hoping a trip to Gayfield and Links Park will be on the cards. Hopefully the dates will align with when I’m back up. It’s been a long old time since I’ve been to either.

Edited by FifeSons

Posted (edited)
29 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Rancel no longer exists! 

Also no Arbroath fan thinks it is a given that we will do well. 

You could use examples of teams that have come up or down from x league and went on to do x or y the year after, good examples and bad ones but none of it is really relevant in the here and now. Every situation is different 

Good luck to Dumbarton this season 👍🏻

When did they cease to exist? I played for Rancel back in the early 80s and winning the cup at Gayfield was a highlight. Never really thought much about the name at the time but looking back it is a fucking atrocious name and idea.

Arbroath was a very different place back then though re football. Pretty much everyone supported the OF or Dundee United. Barely any kids went to Gayfield then.

Anyway - not expecting much this coming season and would be delighted with a drama free mid table finish.

Edited by Tattie36

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, ExiledLichtie said:

I'm less worried than I was.  We've got a new chairman, new CEO, so that should freshen things up a bit.  I'd also argue that the three teams you mentioned did not invest off the field to the extent that we did.  Since we were last here we have massively renovated our stadium, professionalised our operation, got a new club shop, and gained a whole load of fans.  On the pitch, I think we will end up punting McIntyre, but if we do it quickly enough, we should be in a good position, as it looks like he's made some decent signings (while admittedly losing a couple massive players). 

What's interesting for me is whether our new fans still have the anti-Montrose fire.  Will our new youngsters and season ticket holders fucking hate Montrose to the same extent?  They're used to us having derbies with the Dundee teams.

When I was in Montrose a few weeks ago, I saw someone wearing an Arbroath strip 😳 appears the new fans you’ve gained have even extended to up the road!

Edited by FifeSons