Highest value player in the Championship

With chat tonight that Airdrie have possibly set a staggeringly high transfer value of 500k for the in demand Mason Hancock, who do we reckon the most valuable player in the league is in terms of who would command the highest transfer fee currently and what ballpark figure would it be?

Hancock is clearly our most  "sellable" asset and it's highly likely that he will go for at least 150-200k if not more if he does move on in this window.

ETA before any Ayr fans chip in we all know big George isnae worth a billion quid 😉

Edited by cb_diamond

Cant think of any at Thistle, really, and our track record for getting big fees is remarkably poor.

Doolans publicly addressed it to be fair to him, with a need for longer contracts to stop a cycle of players leaving for nothing/nominal fees thats dogged us.

Even a decade or so ago Falkirk/Accies were coining it in on some players (Biabi went for a fair whack iirc!) while tonnes of ours ended up running their contracts down or we got low balled. Liam Lindsay, Stephen O'Donnell etc.

Milne/Fitzpatrick would be lowish 6 figures I reckon. Maybe Diack/Stanway. Just let Loney go to Everton, so I'm looking forward to 3% of a future £60M move to West Ham or some nonsense.

I'll go for a Dunfermline regen to go to, oh, lets say West Brom for £1.5M.

Edited by Thistle_do_nicely

31 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

With chat tonight that Airdrie have possibly set a staggeringly high transfer value of 500k for the in demand Mason Hancock, who do we reckon the most valuable player in the league is in terms of who would command the highest transfer fee currently and what ballpark figure would it be?

Hancock is clearly our most  "sellable" asset and it's highly likely that he will go for at least 150-200k if not more if he does move on in this window.

ETA before any Ayr fans chip in we all know big George isnae worth a billion quid 😉

Naw but wee Marco will be by the end of the season

36 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

Dylan Watret is likely ours. 17 years old and already looking like he’ll be our first choice right back. He’s on a three year deal so we’re protected on that front and I’d guess we’ll have more concrete offers come in next summer. 

Marco Rus will earn us a good wedge next summer as well but he’s on a shorter contract than Watret so I’ve went for him. 

Mind Mason Hancock running around Somerset like a headless chicken for Arbroath a few seasons ago. Wild. You have to hand it to Aberdeen, they have an uncanny ability to produce decent players and give them way for f**k all. 

A wee while ago I'd have said Ruari Paton, as tbh he had to be one of if not the most valuable player in the league.
After him, maybe Dom Thomas? He's still got a good few years in him and he's such class at his best. Roddy MacGregor looks good from what I've seen, so he could be up there as well, but I have limited knowledge of him.
Were it not for injuries then Grant Savoury would easily be topping the list, but who knows if he'll be the same player as he was before that ACL

Hard to comment on other clubs players, as I've not seen enough of them.

For me Ewan Otoo. 4-500k if he was in the top division.   Kane Ritchie-Hosler would've been up there if played as right winger. McPake has let him down badly though and plays him right wing back or attack central  midfielder.

Edited by Chubbychops

9 hours ago, Thistle_do_nicely said:

Even a decade or so ago Falkirk/Accies were coining it in on some players (Biabi went for a fair whack iirc!) while tonnes of ours ended up running their contracts down or we got low balled. Liam Lindsay, Stephen O'Donnell etc.

The amount of money Falkirk made in their last stay in this division was wild for a Championship club, and shows what can be done when you get a reputation for producing players who can make that step up.

Produced Jay Fulton and Stephen Kingsley who both moved to Swansea while they were in the English Premier League and were good enough to be involved in the first team. All of a sudden everyone you produce is being watched just due to the reputation of your club for developing players rather than the quality of the players themselves and you can get far more money out of them than they're worth. Botti Biabi and Ryan Blair were both clearly not good enough for the Scottish Championship which is why they've both spent time as low down the pyramid as the West of Scotland league: Swansea still paid six figures for them. Tony Gallacher played like he'd never seen a football before and went to Liverpool for an initial £200K, then they got add-ons on top of it because he made a first team appearance in that League Cup game where they played a youth team. Get a reputation and you'll even make money on players who are objectively crap as big clubs take a gamble on any slight glimmer of potential they see from your players, whereas if Biabi or Blair had come through at literally any other Championship club there's no chance they'd have ended up on any English clubs' radar.

Even someone who was clearly a good player like Conor McGrandles and was deserving of a move went for a deal worth £1M. Some of that presumably included add-ons which weren't all received in the end, but that's fucking massive money.

Hard to say if anyone in the division now is on the brink of having a similar conveyor belt to the top levels reputation. Queen's Park have brought in a few fees and you wonder if they're already benefiting purely in size of fee for their long standing reputation for youth development - does another club get so much for Callan McKenna? - but to be at the level of the Falkirk to Swansea conveyor belt they'd have to get a six-figure fee for Lucas McCormick or someone like that to be as mad as the likes of Biabi getting moves.  

Deniz Mehmet - £10 million for when Man City lose Ederson to Saudi Arabia money, bargain at that price. 

In all seriousness for us it would be Ewan Otoo after laughing Crawley Town out the door for a £100k offer. Matty Todd if he didn't pick up these freak injuries would be up there as well. 

As for other sides in the league Stephen Kelly must be the highest value in the championship, terrific player at this level 

We sold Fitzpatrick for six figures years ago, and it’s probably still him that’s our highest value asset now. Him or Ricco Diack.

If Milne was younger then it’d be him, but he’ll be 28 in a few months.

We’ve had a few guys recently who were poached by bigger clubs from our youth system, most recently Loney to Everton, so hopefully a sign that they’re doing something right.