What's The 'Poshest' Thing You've Ever Done?

I used to pay my driving instructor in champagne. Mostly because he liked champagne, the Mrs worked for a boozeco and you could get a bottle of Moet from the staff shop cheaper than the driving lesson was. 

Edited by carpetmonster

2 minutes ago, carpetmonster said:

I used to pay my driving instructor in champagne. Mostly because he liked champagne, the Mrs worked for a boozeco and you could get a bottle of Moet from the staff shop cheaper than the driving lesson was. 

Did he drink it just before each lesson? 

8 minutes ago, carpetmonster said:

Moët. And you better know how to pronounce it.

Posh-ye-say!

Here we go;

Ballet... tick.  I absolutely love it.  Go to something pretty much every year (believe it or not, the Royal Opera Hoose, if my favourite venue).  [Aye, I ken it's caa'd the Opera Hoose, but they do host ballets]. I'll also go to the cinema to see live ballets etc.

Opera... tick.  What a pile 'oh shyte!  Opera is the Emperors new entertainment.  

Operettas... tick. Also file under shyte!  Bless me I've tried (my in-laws love operettas), be it D'oyly Carte productions of Gilbert and Sullivan (think It ain't half hot mum, but without the wit and joy of Don Estelle and Windsor Davis), through to Offenbach's - Orpheus in the underworld!  All fvkkin' gash!

The Proms - tick.  Mixed bag but generally to be avoided.    Can be entertaining, but can also be a waste of your life.

Polo at Windsor Great Lawn - tick.  Nae the mints with the hole or in a swimming pool, but the Hooray Henry type stuff, with the horses.  Surprisingly good, but a properly completely alien world.  [One of my daughters friends families, own about half a dozen polo ponies, as you do 🫣]

However my favourite Hooray Henry event is the Henley Royal Regatta... tick, tick, tick.  Rowing is the least glamorous, glamorous thing you can do.  I think it's one of the toughest sports out there.  My daughter is a rower, so we sometimes get tickets for the Stewards enclosure, or Upper Thames etc, but the best part is actually open to the public, down near the start line.  It has everything you need for a day at the regatta (i.e. it's got a bar).

Yours, I've just realised I'm as posh a fvk, you peasants!

aDONis

3 hours ago, carpetmonster said:

Did you hide it in the central console like in GoldenEye?

I went to an event where they served strawberry soup.

It was served cold like a consommé.

The speaker at the event was the despicable arch Tory for Perth and suspected abuser Nicholas Fairbairn.

19 minutes ago, aDONisSheep said:

Posh-ye-say!

Here we go;

Ballet... tick.  I absolutely love it.  Go to something pretty much every year (believe it or not, the Royal Opera Hoose, if my favourite venue).  [Aye, I ken it's caa'd the Opera Hoose, but they do host ballets]. I'll also go to the cinema to see live ballets etc.

Opera... tick.  What a pile 'oh shyte!  Opera is the Emperors new entertainment.  

Operettas... tick. Also file under shyte!  Bless me I've tried (my in-laws love operettas), be it D'oyly Carte productions of Gilbert and Sullivan (think It ain't half hot mum, but without the wit and joy of Don Estelle and Windsor Davis), through to Offenbach's - Orpheus in the underworld!  All fvkkin' gash!

The Proms - tick.  Mixed bag but generally to be avoided.    Can be entertaining, but can also be a waste of your life.

Polo at Windsor Great Lawn - tick.  Nae the mints with the hole or in a swimming pool, but the Hooray Henry type stuff, with the horses.  Surprisingly good, but a properly completely alien world.  [One of my daughters friends families, own about half a dozen polo ponies, as you do 🫣]

However my favourite Hooray Henry event is the Henley Royal Regatta... tick, tick, tick.  Rowing is the least glamorous, glamorous thing you can do.  I think it's one of the toughest sports out there.  My daughter is a rower, so we sometimes get tickets for the Stewards enclosure, or Upper Thames etc, but the best part is actually open to the public, down near the start line.  It has everything you need for a day at the regatta (i.e. it's got a bar).

aDONis

a-man-stands-dressed-in-a-union-jack-suit-outside-a-souvenir-shop-J4AHWX.jpg

34 minutes ago, aDONisSheep said:

Posh-ye-say!

Here we go;

aDONis

Ballot Paper Stock Photos & Ballot Paper Stock Images - Alamy