Golfers Thread

Gaz

Just now, Bairnardo said:

Wonder what there is in the LIV contracts to prevent a return to the PGA..... I reckon Koepka would wobble if asked. Imagine the scenes 🤣

Allegedly double what their sign on fee is as that exact scenario was being discussed a few weeks ago. 

2 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Wonder what there is in the LIV contracts to prevent a return to the PGA..... I reckon Koepka would wobble if asked. Imagine the scenes 🤣

Was it not reported that the LIV contracts stipulated all players had to wear LIV branding on their hats/polo shirts etc. when they played in non-LIV events? I think Reed had the LIV logo on his hat but Koepka didn’t have any branding on him and I don’t think Mickleson did either. 

It’s possibly just his laid back manner, but Koepka is one of the only LIV players that isn’t cheerleading them in interviews. As much as the journalists try and bait him in to a controversial answer about LIV he does his best not to get involved. I don’t know if that means he’s likely to try and get back on to the PGA Tour or not because it’s hard to tell what he’s thinking, he might be really enjoying playing on the LIV tour, but if anyone was to try and break their contract Koepka would be high on my list. 

22 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

That's some stat he's the first European to win both the Masters and the US Open. 

Faldo, Lyle and Seve won the Masters and the Open, Mcilroy obviously has everything but the Masters, Kaymer has US open and PGA, Jacklin had Open and US Open. 

Edit : plus all the guys who have only won one eg Willett, Mcdowell etc 

He's the first,  really successful,  european to have gone through us college system 

Big fan of Rahm, good to see him win.

There have been big rumours over the last week that Koepka is looking for a way back to the PGA Tour. Could be some interesting times ahead there.

2 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

Imagine the feeling of knowing you hit the centre of the club face

FTFY

1 hour ago, Mark Connolly said:

Big fan of Rahm, good to see him win.

There have been big rumours over the last week that Koepka is looking for a way back to the PGA Tour. Could be some interesting times ahead there.

FTFY

A wee lightning bolt of realisation for him having enjoyed a week of not only being taken seriously, as a serious golfer, but also carting home a nonsensical amount of cash for his efforts. How much greener could the grass really be playing exhibition 54 holers with Ian Poulter 

5 hours ago, IrishBhoy said:

Was it not reported that the LIV contracts stipulated all players had to wear LIV branding on their hats/polo shirts etc. when they played in non-LIV events? I think Reed had the LIV logo on his hat but Koepka didn’t have any branding on him and I don’t think Mickleson did either.

I think for most players so far the LIV branding has come into play once a player's current clothing deal has ended. I'm guessing that Koepka signed a long-term deal with Nike which is why he's still wearing their stuff. 

I don't know if it was the logo of his LIV team, but Mickelson was sporting a logo on his shirt and cap that I hadn't seen before. 

1 hour ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

I think for most players so far the LIV branding has come into play once a player's current clothing deal has ended. I'm guessing that Koepka signed a long-term deal with Nike which is why he's still wearing their stuff. 

I don't know if it was the logo of his LIV team, but Mickelson was sporting a logo on his shirt and cap that I hadn't seen before. 

It was indeed Mickelson’s team logo

Something really needs done about the time players are taking to hit their shots. Cantley in particular is horrific, although the Amatuer Bennett ran him close. To see Rahm and Koepka sitting on each tee as if they were down the local park was ridiculous.

It's definitely trickling down to amateur level too, there's always been slow players but I've definitely noticed it getting worse - a combination of using every bit of technology available to them to work out their carries, distances etc (before chunking it 20 yards down the fairway..) and increasingly elaborate pre shot routines. 

Apart from just being annoying it's making golf less accessible to people. Playing a fourball that can take up to 5 hours at the weekend, plus the time before and after the round means it's half a day out your weekend. For people with families it's hard to justify being away for that length of time. There's also a sporting fairness issue, I'm sure most people would score a bit better taking 3 minutes to assess every putt, but most people realise that it's not really fair to do that because if we all did a round would take 7 hours.

I don't know the quick solution, and it doesn't matter that much as a TV viewer because there's other shots they can show you in the meantime. But I think dealing with it more strictly at pro level would start making amateurs think a bit more about their own pace of play.

31 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

Something really needs done about the time players are taking to hit their shots. Cantley in particular is horrific, although the Amatuer Bennett ran him close. To see Rahm and Koepka sitting on each tee as if they were down the local park was ridiculous.

It's definitely trickling down to amateur level too, there's always been slow players but I've definitely noticed it getting worse - a combination of using every bit of technology available to them to work out their carries, distances etc (before chunking it 20 yards down the fairway..) and increasingly elaborate pre shot routines. 

Apart from just being annoying it's making golf less accessible to people. Playing a fourball that can take up to 5 hours at the weekend, plus the time before and after the round means it's half a day out your weekend. For people with families it's hard to justify being away for that length of time. There's also a sporting fairness issue, I'm sure most people would score a bit better taking 3 minutes to assess every putt, but most people realise that it's not really fair to do that because if we all did a round would take 7 hours.

I don't know the quick solution, and it doesn't matter that much as a TV viewer because there's other shots they can show you in the meantime. But I think dealing with it more strictly at pro level would start making amateurs think a bit more about their own pace of play.

It's infuriating and one of the reasons I can't really be arsed with club golf these days. Kirriemuir is a short 18 holer, there's absolutely no excuse for anything over 3.5 hours, yet one of the few medals I could be bothered with last year was a shade under 5. We were waiting on every tee. 

56 minutes ago, Benjamin_Nevis said:

It's infuriating and one of the reasons I can't really be arsed with club golf these days. Kirriemuir is a short 18 holer, there's absolutely no excuse for anything over 3.5 hours, yet one of the few medals I could be bothered with last year was a shade under 5. We were waiting on every tee. 

That’s criminal Round Kirrie. It’s not like there are any massive walks between greens and tee’s either. 

11 minutes ago, lichtie23 said:

That’s criminal Round Kirrie. It’s not like there are any massive walks between greens and tee’s either. 

Tell me about it 😂

It always the same group of old guys that hold everyone up, but nothings ever said because they've been members for decades. 

1 hour ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

I don't blame Bennett too much, guy is probably having the time of his life being in the mix at the Masters and I'd probably just take as long as I could to soak it all in. Cantlay is a wee creepy weirdo though so I'm all for throwing the book at him. 

I've been booking early/late tee times now for years to get around the slow players if you can fit them its an ok way to avoid them,0715 on a Sunday is a struggle to make sometimes though 

41 minutes ago, Benjamin_Nevis said:

Tell me about it 😂

It always the same group of old guys that hold everyone up, but nothings ever said because they've been members for decades. 

Older members are the absolute worst. Obnoxious auld b*****ds as well. 

4 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

Older members are the absolute worst. Obnoxious auld b*****ds as well. 

Aye absolute bellends. They properly hate juniors as well. We used to get regular bollockings for absolute nonsense like pitching on the putting green (we were practising belly wedges from the fringe) 

Jason Kokrak was quite vocal about Sandy Lyle not being allowed to finish on Friday, Sandy doesn't seem to have been too bothered though. After finishing on Saturday and doing a quick bit of media, he went back out and waited in the pishing rain for Larry Mize to finish his final Masters round 

https://golf.com/news/a-masters-champion-goodbye-caddies-gesture/?amp=1

Edited by peasy23

28 minutes ago, Benjamin_Nevis said:

Aye absolute bellends. They properly hate juniors as well. We used to get regular bollockings for absolute nonsense like pitching on the putting green (we were practising belly wedges from the fringe) 

Yea juniors are usually looked down on by the older members. I’m very much of the opinion that the old boys shouldn’t be allowed playing on the weekend. They’ve got all week to play while we are at work. 

11 minutes ago, lichtie23 said:

Yea juniors are usually looked down on by the older members. I’m very much of the opinion that the old boys shouldn’t be allowed playing on the weekend. They’ve got all week to play while we are at work. 

Or at least don't let them out in front of the competition tee priority 😂