Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

31 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I spent 4 years in Aberdeen as a student- you could say people from any part of Aberdeen are buttery* miserable sods incapable of treating visitors with any civility** but in the Seaton area they smile when they hand you your teeth back 

*see what I did there? 

**I've got an Aberdeen pal from Uni days and she's actually quite nice.. 

🤣

On 18/05/2024 at 22:37, GordonS said:

We were chased back into the stand by one of the club officials who said the sports centre don't allow spectators anywhere but the stand for health and safety reasons. We might get hit by a ball... 50 yards behind the goal, in a corner. Bizarre. The club are working on a move back to their home area and that can't come soon enough.

😃

You couldn't pay me to watch a game at that place. East End, who I've seen a few times, a much better / friendlier set up even if the ground is much more basic.

Aberdeen just requires time to adjust. It's a weird, weird place. There are worse though.

3 hours ago, Groundhopping Adventures said:

For anyone who thought, like we did, Downfield v Violent would be a good way to avoid the cheeks in the Cup Final on Saturday, it's been shifted to half 12 so nae luck there

I think I recommended Nairn St Ninian before. They've also added Lossiemouth Utd v Longside promotion play-off semi-final first leg, which is where I might be headed. Weather forecast is promising too.

Should also be Deveronside v Prem 14th, once they know who that is after tonight's games. 

Screenshot 2024-05-21 at 19.36.47.png

A few amateur games on. A bit nearer Edinburgh so in the LEAFA I’ll probably head for West Barns Star v Armadale at Dunbar. Haven’t seen any kickoff time yet. There’s also the Logan Cup Final at 1.30 at Albyn Park, Broxburn. In the Premier, Loganlea v Sandys at Polbeth. 
Here’s me sounding like a proper anorak looking these up. Honest, I’ve only been at 11 new grounds all season, and I’ve still managed to see ICT more than that 😂

I reckon I’ll still be watching the Uglies at 3 pm either way. 

3 hours ago, The Mantis said:

A few amateur games on. A bit nearer Edinburgh so in the LEAFA I’ll probably head for West Barns Star v Armadale at Dunbar. Haven’t seen any kickoff time yet. There’s also the Logan Cup Final at 1.30 at Albyn Park, Broxburn. In the Premier, Loganlea v Sandys at Polbeth. 
Here’s me sounding like a proper anorak looking these up. Honest, I’ve only been at 11 new grounds all season, and I’ve still managed to see ICT more than that 😂

I reckon I’ll still be watching the Uglies at 3 pm either way. 

Dunbar folk would say, naw it's at West Barns! :lol:

1 hour ago, tamthebam said:

Aye Tam, ah ken. But maist fowk on here have likely never heard o it!

8 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I see that Chris Donkin had a photie on FB of an odd couple standing by the park at Vale of Leithen last night…

Just now, The Mantis said:

I see that Chris Donkin had a photie on FB of an odd couple standing by the park at Vale of Leithen last night…

That could have been any random idiots with nothing better to do on a Tuesday :lol:

Dundee Utd 2-1 Kilmarnock, SWPL1 Play-off final, Falkirk Stadium.

A few hundred made the trip from Ayrshire while only a few dozen were backing United.

Sometimes it p*ssed it down, but at other times it was heavier than that. Thank goodness for artificial surfaces, eh?

Dundee Utd were clearly the more talented team and made all the early running, but you could see this was a side not used to winning games or scoring many goals. Killie clung on and scored a tidy goal with the last kick of the first half, spooking the SWPL1 side. United scored a cracker 10 minutes into the second half and found a scrappy winner not long after. They were never convincing and will be relieved to have escaped with their status intact. If they're planning a promotion push next season Killie need to improve because that squad is not ready for life with the big girls.

20240523_211310.jpg

2 hours ago, GordonS said:

Dundee Utd 2-1 Kilmarnock, SWPL1 Play-off final, Falkirk Stadium.

A few hundred made the trip from Ayrshire while only a few dozen were backing United.

Sometimes it p*ssed it down, but at other times it was heavier than that. Thank goodness for artificial surfaces, eh?

Dundee Utd were clearly the more talented team and made all the early running, but you could see this was a side not used to winning games or scoring many goals. Killie clung on and scored a tidy goal with the last kick of the first half, spooking the SWPL1 side. United scored a cracker 10 minutes into the second half and found a scrappy winner not long after. They were never convincing and will be relieved to have escaped with their status intact. If they're planning a promotion push next season Killie need to improve because that squad is not ready for life with the big girls.

20240523_211310.jpg

A few hundred Kilmarnock fans.

Fair play to them.

Makes me wonder how many would have turned up had they just played the game at Rugby Park.

Broxburn Athletic v Dalbeattie Star lowland league Play-Off 2nd leg for me tonight.

www.youtube.com/@derektaylor84

Posted (edited)

Wednesday night, Macedonian cup final:

Tikvesh 2-1 Voska Sport (Ohrid).

So, the Macedonian showpiece on Wednesday night at the national stadium, for the cup final between two first time contstants at this stage; Tikvesh, a long established club from the wine growing town of Kavadarci (I think you can buy Tikvesh wine in certain UK stores- M&S I think- well worth a look). Tikvesh have had a largely moderate history in Yugoslav times and a patchy one in the 33 years of Macedonian independence; recently however they have become a well established and respected club in the top flight, finishing fourth this season in the first league. The players to watch were their two Brazilians, centre forward Santos and attacking midfielder Robertinho, but they had one or two very tidy domestic players as well. 

Voska Sport for their part were playing parks football in front of friends and family five years ago; their rise has been meteroic. Of course the reason is financial doping. I don't know anything about who needed another club in Ohrid, a beautiful lake resort in the south west of Macedonia (Ohrid Lychnidos, the successor to the defunct GKF Ohrid, have a long history and roots in the folk who care about Macedonian football).. Clubs like these appear with banal regularity in the Macedonian system and vanish just as quickly when the businessman decides to spend his money elsehwere, or gets bored, and they vanish like fireflies.

The national stadium holds 33,000 (on paper) and I'd reckon there was about 7,500 there, the vast majority from Tikvesh- Kavadarci must have been a ghost town on Wednesday. Voska only had a small following and the rest were neutrals. Astonishingly, given the ballots, the booking of seats and parking places months in advance for the Scottish equivalent, you could just rock up to the game and entry was again only 200 denars- about £3. Fair play. It was like strolling up to watch a meaningless end of season game in the early 2000s between Montrose and the Shire.

The atmosphere was great. The Voska fans may have been small in number but gamely tried to keep up with the Tikvesh support; however, outnumbered 8:1 , they were no match for the Lozari (grape growers) ultras and their battalion-strength deployment of red pyro and flash bangs throughoutb the game, Unlike most games here, this was a real occasion.

The game itself was a little odd. Tikvesh could and should have been about 4 up by the 70th minute mark, but had to content themsevles with a wonderful free kick six minutes before half time, and a loveley finish from Santos for the second- the Brazilian  forward was by a distance the best player on the park, with a wonderful touch and array of passing- one or two of these were worth the entry fee alone. Tikvesh also hit the bar and the post, with Santos also coliding heavily with the right hand post chasing a ball which just eluded him. Really the game was pretty one sided, but Tikvesh somehow almost conspired to throw it away.

With fifteen minutes remaining a Voska sub broke down the Tikvesh right and attempted to cross the ball from the byeline, which deflected awakwardly off the covering Tikvesh defender. The ball looped menacingly across the six yard box and the Tikvesh keeper made an absolute rickett of it- my inner Jim McLean was grumbling "The goalkeeper hasn't dealt with that properly at all." Voska's top scorer stabbed home in the confusion and suddenly the Kavadarci carneval softened audibly. Voska really pressed hard for extra time and almost got it in injury time. The Tikvesh keeper redeemed himself with a brillient right hand tip onto the post from a goalbound effort that looked as though it was in.

It was the moment that won the cup for Tikvesh, although they made heavy weather of that last fifteen minutes. Celebrations were going on long after the majority of folk had left the stadium and I guess the squad's hagover is just about lifiting now, 2 days later.

So Tikvesh will have the opportunity maybe to humiliate St.Mirren in the Conference League, and we'll see what becomes of Voska Sport in the next couple of seasons.

I've thoroughly enjoyed the Macedonian games I've seen on my worktrips here and there's one more to go, the relegation play off where Vardar Skopje play the little known Detonit Plachkovica from Radovish. It's not the strongest league, but you can see decent players at both ends of the spectrum- those finishing up with one last European deal and emerging players from Africa, Kosova, Albania and of course Macedonia.

Those who can't be arsed with the asinine ramblings above can watch the highlights for themselves here:

Edited by Ivo den Bieman

Posted (edited)

Preston Athletic 0-1 Haddington Athletic East of Scotland League cup semi final. Decent game played in pouring rain settled by an opportunistic long range strike following poor kick out by Preston keeper. Good crowd despite the weather. 

IMG_9791.jpeg

IMG_9792.jpeg

IMG_9793.jpeg

Edited by Jute

Was also at Athletic v Athletic at Prestonpans. I’ve just about dried out now.

Most excitingly my old Dad is back from Lanzarote with tales of trips to not one but two fitba grounds over there! And I’ve managed to extract a couple of photos from him.

The ground underneath the volcano is not Meadowbank, rather it is Union Sur Yaiza. I have serious envy looking at it, I want to go there!

The ground with the running track is not Meadowbank, rather it is UD Lanzarote. That was taken at the big derby match.

He is highly recommending a trip to either ground, he enjoyed them thoroughly.

IMG_1347.png

IMG_1348.png

Aberdeen East end1-deveronside 1 in the north juniors promotion/relegation playoff this afternoon.had forgotten what a bunch of moaning hoors deveronside are.

While the rest of the country had glorious sunshine,we had the infamous northeast harr.poor game,better than watching the arsecheeks on the TV mind you.at least the AEE keeper had an 80s pornstar look,though

IMG_20240525_153726.jpg

IMG_20240525_153758.jpg

Posted (edited)

LEAFA Championship. West Barns Star 2 Armadale Ath 5. (ht 1-3)
A noon kickoff and nae rain today - a lovely day in sunny Dunny. Dale went ahead after about 7 minutes after a goalkeeper mistake which Jack Butland  maybe saw as he did the exact same at Hampden later on, and were comfortable from then on. Looks like the final day fixtures in the LEAFA Saturday setup although I could be wrong as they haven't updated the league tables as yet, although the results are up.

IMG_9192.thumb.JPG.f1599a33a415d0dbaac2187695f947fe.JPG

IMG_9195.thumb.JPG.36bb1c061416019fe763941c1e0401d4.JPG

IMG_9196.thumb.JPG.3224e7862b464440ffe8e129dce46bf3.JPG

Edited by The Mantis

Lossiemouth Utd 3-1 Longside, NR SJFA Promotion Play-off semi-final, first leg. Attendance about 60.

A game that started scrappy and finished niggly. United scored a cracking free kick into the bottom left corner with the last touch of the ball to put them in control of the tie, with the second leg to come on Tuesday.

A ridiculously picturesque venue in the middle of a park, to the extent there's not even a path or driveway to the pavilion. And excluding posh bakers, the best sausage roll I've ever had. Add in glorious weather and it couldn't have been better.

Rounded off a perfect day with my wife by achieving a long-held dream of seeing Peat & Diesel live, at Black Isle Belter at Muir of Ord. Everything we hoped it would be.

20240525_154820.jpg

20240525_143408.jpg

20240525_201313.jpg