Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Posted (edited)

Linton Hotspur 0 Harthill Royal 3 HT.

Not much to report here. Routine win for the visitors awaits.

The Lintonians have improved over the course of the season. Looked a touch more competitive at the start of this game, but it didn’t last.

The second goal was one for the connoisseurs. Appeared to be scored directly from a throw-in but the referee must have saw a touch somewhere. He had a better view than me at least.

The plate of chilli was excellent before the game. 

Edited to add that a Harthill substitute is receiving treatment after injuring himself during his warm up. Haven’t seen that before but I suppose it’s not unfeasible for that to happen.

IMG_1181.jpeg

IMG_1182.jpeg

Edited by Le Tout P'ti FC
Charlie Fairhead

Posted (edited)

Edinburgh Community 1-3 Pumpherston 

Not as far for us today. Quick run over to the capital for finally finish the East Third. Craigroyston who regenerated into Edinburgh Community at the start of the season up against and Pumphy side still with an outside chance of promotion.

A team in a populated area without a huge history, founded 1976, sees Craigroyston with a very small support. Even with a few from West Lothian and a fee groundhoppers you were lucky if there's 40 folk here. A few of us as there were we were actually treated to a half decent game. A scramble in the first half and an excellent finish takes the points back to the provences. 

St Mark's Park is basic. Rail round a public park effort. But worth coming. A miracle that we were consumed by midgies so we take the win

20240508_195647.jpg

20240508_205044.jpg

Edited by Groundhopping Adventures

Posted (edited)

Larkhall Thistle 0-3 Ardrossan Winton Rovers. Game was on 30/03 but forgot to post at the time. AWR ensured their promotion from WoSFL Div 2 with the victory and a second successive promotion after coming up from Div 3 with Larky last season.

IMG_5197.jpeg

IMG_5198.jpeg

Edited by BullyWeeStonehouse

Montrose 0-0 Inverness Caledonian Thistle 

Links Park 

Scottish Championship playoff 

Admission £17

Programme £2.50

Attendance 1043

An entertaining match despite the absence of goals. Montrose were the better team in the first half, but were unable to make the most of their chances. Inverness were limited to a couple of corners and one shot that went wide before hitting the crossbar from distance towards the end of the half.

Inverness started the second half well and Montrose hardly touched the ball for 5-10 minutes. The game then evened out with both sides having chances but unable to break the deadlock.

20240509_193023.jpg

20240509_193233.jpg

20240509_193107.jpg

20240509_193130.jpg

20240509_193202.jpg

6 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

Got tickets for the Como game tonight. Win and they're in Serie A. Buzzing for it!

Forza Como 💙🤍

Well done to Como!  Was in Bari earlier picking up my daughter's boyfriend from the airport.  Stopped in at Sun Beach for a bite, waiter was sound AF, excused himself as he had to go to the game, glad to see they stayed up!

Off to Lecce on Monday for the game against Udinese.  Not sure whether to go in home or away end!

Balfron Rovers 6 Northlan Utd 0. Scottish Welfare Cup, 1st Round. Donaldson Park, Balfron.

Following last Friday's run I fancied another trip to Forth & Endrick land. Northlan FC play in the Warriors FA and describe themselves as "a football team from North Lanarkshire, focused on weight loss & mental health".

It was embarrassingly one-sided at times but played in a great spirit, with plenty of banter between both sides and the ref.

Took the missus and had a nice wee bar meal at Fintry Inn on the way over, and sampled their own Pale Ale. Anybody familiar with the BBC 'Roaming in the Wild' or the band Beluga Lagoon will know that Fintry is the heart of this, and Mark who features in best mate and paddling companion Andrew O'Donnell's films, is the brewer and server. Great crack with the regulars, couldn't get away.

IMG_9143.thumb.JPG.dee1005dccb886b3ead4986c70534945.JPG

IMG_9148.thumb.jpg.b1bc4fd287122a1037009cf9195c5ed0.jpg

IMG_9150.thumb.jpg.f1b96a3e319f30e109ae48740e39c325.jpg

IMG_9144.thumb.jpg.b1597a5ffb1f9aab0651221351de74e2.jpg

Posted (edited)

BSC Glasgow 1 Campbeltown Pupils 2 FT.

Good to see all four sports of Peterson Park taking place today. There’s Gaelic football, shinty, fitba and planespotting all happening simultaneously.

The planespotters took an early lead when the big beast Airbus A380 flew over from Dubai with its 800 passengers. As they disembark at Glasgow, they’ll find the weather today much as they left it in that desert. It’s hot and sticky here as we enter Day 2 of our summer.

Safe to say there are not so many in attendance here. I counted 13 at kick off! That goes up markedly as teams troop on and off the adjacent pitches and stop awhile to watch this game.

BSC are dressed like lollipop men and their goalie is handling stops and crosses well. They have taken a deserved lead here.

EDIT - completely different second half here. Campbeltown utterly dominant and scored twice but could have had more. The ball was barely out the BSC half.

IMG_1234.jpeg

IMG_1251.jpeg

Edited by Le Tout P'ti FC
Vidiprinter

Coupar Angus 0-1 Kirriemuir Thistle 

We thought about going to BSC v Campbeltown today then remembered something happening in Glasgow so played it safe with the Midland League.

Decided on the weird Angus, Fermer, grain plant bit of Perthshire called Coupar Angus and found ourselves at Foxhall Park. It's not the most promising looking online but it's a belter. Originally a fenced off public park but Coupar have done excellently to have several buildings and even a wee stand. Their hospitality suite is named after the Town's most famous son Alan Gilzean. From one of the other building we purchased a quite magnificent Scotch Pie. Up there with Forres Mechanics.

The more astute amongst you will notice that I haven't mentioned the game yet. That's because it was rotten. A last minute winner for the visitors summing up the host's season. Yes Coupar are fighting to not finish bottom and Kirrie are in with an outside chance of a European place but this was an end of season game on too warm a day that only really got going once the wind got up a wee bit and cooled it down. The highlight of the game is the hosts magnificently snazzy shirts. More of this sort of thing.

I highly recommend it here. Won't be much fun in January but s splendid way to spent a May Saturday afternoon 

20240511_145843.jpg

20240511_143844.jpg

20240511_161415.jpg

Headed up to sunny Dundee today for Dundee North End v Brechin Victoria. 6-0. £6 entrance about 250 attendance. in the midlands league. My first match in this league. Easy enough to get to North End Park, it's a straight line from the centre of Dundee up that very steep street! Takes forever to get there, but half the time afterwards!

North End are second at the time of writing and need to win their last two matches to over take Broughty Athletic to win the title. They faced 16th placed Brechin Victoria today and make light work of them. 5-0 at half time and I thought I was on the cards to see my first double figure scoreline in over 33 years today. But the hosts took the foot of the gas as the visitors tightened up at the back in the second. Devine helped himself to a hatrick, 2 of which were similar as he cut inside and beat the goalkeeper at the near post. 

The visiting goalkeeper would have been disappointed at the goals he did concede, but also he made several fine saves to keep the score down.

North End Park is a fine ground with a social club, covered terrace and elevated grass banking behind one goal.

20240511_151206.jpg

45 minutes ago, atfccfc said:

Headed up to sunny Dundee today for Dundee North End v Brechin Victoria. 6-0. £6 entrance about 250 attendance. in the midlands league. My first match in this league. Easy enough to get to North End Park, it's a straight line from the centre of Dundee up that very steep street! Takes forever to get there, but half the time afterwards!

North End are second at the time of writing and need to win their last two matches to over take Broughty Athletic to win the title. They faced 16th placed Brechin Victoria today and make light work of them. 5-0 at half time and I thought I was on the cards to see my first double figure scoreline in over 33 years today. But the hosts took the foot of the gas as the visitors tightened up at the back in the second. Devine helped himself to a hatrick, 2 of which were similar as he cut inside and beat the goalkeeper at the near post. 

The visiting goalkeeper would have been disappointed at the goals he did concede, but also he made several fine saves to keep the score down.

North End Park is a fine ground with a social club, covered terrace and elevated grass banking behind one goal.

20240511_151206.jpg

Fun fact: The fence round the pitch came from the Tay Road Bridge (seen on the left of this old photo)

trb.jpg.f71dbd60129f09e22aecb335f8b8f4d7.jpg

Posted (edited)

Hall Russell Utd 3-0 Dufftown, NRSJFA Championship.

The home side were formed as a worker's team for an Aberdeen shipyard that closed in 1992. Possibly the most famous ship they built was later renamed the Rainbow Warrior, on board which the French government murdered an anti-nuclear weapons testing campaigner by attaching underwater mines to the ship's hull in Auckland harbour. The "punishment" for the murderers was to spend two years on a Polynesian island; the people who ordered the attack were never punished. 

Anyway...

Final day of the season for both sides, who sat 4 points apart in mid-table. Hall Russell took the lead midway through the first half, then put a gloss on the scoreline with two late goals. Not much else worth reporting on a hot afternoon.

Football grounds don't come more basic than this; a rail around a pitch and a small pavilion on halfway. An ever-present roar drifted from the old road north behind the far side of the pitch and Hermes' ground was visible 50 metres to the north. No food before the game, but mercifully a hatch opened at half-time and scorchingly hot pies were served, with drinks options being squash in plastic cups or hot drink in mugs. I approve.

20240511_135625.jpg

20240511_141627~2.jpg

20240511_145626.jpg

Edited by GordonS

15 hours ago, Groundhopping Adventures said:

We thought about going to BSC v Campbeltown today then remembered something happening in Glasgow so played it safe with the Midland League.

Decided on the weird Angus, Fermer, grain plant bit of Perthshire called Coupar Angus and found ourselves at Foxhall Park. It's not the most promising looking online but it's a belter. Originally a fenced off public park but Coupar have done excellently to have several buildings and even a wee stand. Their hospitality suite is named after the Town's most famous son Alan Gilzean. From one of the other building we purchased a quite magnificent Scotch Pie. Up there with Forres Mechanics.

The more astute amongst you will notice that I haven't mentioned the game yet. That's because it was rotten. A last minute winner for the visitors summing up the host's season. Yes Coupar are fighting to not finish bottom and Kirrie are in with an outside chance of a European place but this was an end of season game on too warm a day that only really got going once the wind got up a wee bit and cooled it down. The highlight of the game is the hosts magnificently snazzy shirts. More of this sort of thing.

I highly recommend it here. Won't be much fun in January but s splendid way to spent a May Saturday afternoon 

20240511_145843.jpg

20240511_143844.jpg

20240511_161415.jpg

If you’re ever back I recommend The Red House down the road. 

13 hours ago, GordonS said:

Hall Russell Utd 3-0 Dufftown, NRSJFA Championship.

The home side were formed as a worker's team for an Aberdeen shipyard that closed in 1992. Possibly the most famous ship they built was later renamed the Rainbow Warrior, on board which the French government murdered an anti-nuclear weapons testing campaigner by attaching underwater mines to the ship's hull in Auckland harbour. The "punishment" for the murderers was to spend two years on a Polynesian island; the people who ordered the attack were never punished. 

Anyway...

Final day of the season for both sides, who sat 4 points apart in mid-table. Hall Russell took the lead midway through the first half, then put a gloss on the scoreline with two late goals. Not much else worth reporting on a hot afternoon.

Football grounds don't come more basic than this; a rail around a pitch and a small pavilion on halfway. An ever-present roar drifted from the old road north behind the far side of the pitch and Hermes' ground was visible 50 metres to the north. No food before the game, but mercifully a hatch opened at half-time and scorchingly hot pies were served, with drinks options being squash in plastic cups or hot drink in mugs. I approve.

20240511_135625.jpg

20240511_141627~2.jpg

20240511_145626.jpg

A contrast to my only visit 30 years ago. A Junior Cup tie between Hall Russell and Tranent. It start to sleet, I started to freeze to death, the well freshed Belters didn't care about the weather. 

Fortunately a mate lived near by in Bridge of Don so I was able to thaw out but probably the coldest ground I've been to. 

On 11/05/2024 at 10:51, The Mantis said:

Balfron Rovers 6 Northlan Utd 0. Scottish Welfare Cup, 1st Round. Donaldson Park, Balfron.

Took the missus and had a nice wee bar meal at Fintry Inn on the way over, and sampled their own Pale Ale. Anybody familiar with the BBC 'Roaming in the Wild' or the band Beluga Lagoon will know that Fintry is the heart of this, and Mark who features in best mate and paddling companion Andrew O'Donnell's films, is the brewer and server. Great crack with the regulars, couldn't get away.

I love Roaming in the Wild, ended up buying them all on Amazon, and the music is a big part of it. Thanks, I might make an embarrassing pilgrimage to Fintry. 

On 11/05/2024 at 16:23, Groundhopping Adventures said:

From one of the other building we purchased a quite magnificent Scotch Pie. Up there with Forres Mechanics.

I'm assuming they're still supplied by Blairgowrie butcher James Pirie, five times World Scotch Pie Champion since 2018. Magnificent things and a highlight of a visit there.

https://scotchpieawards.com/news/champions-crowned-for-fifth-time-17-01-2024 

3 hours ago, tamthebam said:

A contrast to my only visit 30 years ago. A Junior Cup tie between Hall Russell and Tranent. It start to sleet, I started to freeze to death, the well freshed Belters didn't care about the weather. 

Fortunately a mate lived near by in Bridge of Don so I was able to thaw out but probably the coldest ground I've been to. 

It didn't seem especially exposed but there's not a lot of buildings between the ground and North Sea, and even less shelter from a north wind, so I assume it's grim in wind from those directions. 

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, GordonS said:

I love Roaming in the Wild, ended up buying them all on Amazon, and the music is a big part of it. Thanks, I might make an embarrassing pilgrimage to Fintry. 

I was inspired by the music and looked up Beluga Lagoon. I had a spell in hospital in the Autumn and listened to their stuff on Apple Music. Saw them at Stirling Albert Halls in March with Mrs Mantis, and going to Barrowland on May 30. Both sold out in about 3 minutes. In fact I was on at the woman who sold me a spare for Barrowland, just  yesterday, she still has another one her daughter bought her. Look up their short movies on belugalagoon.com and get in there! 

I had been in Fintry when it had a youth hostel and I was in the pub under age. Can't remember if we were walking or cycling back then but it sure seems well out of the way now... went in by the Carron Valley but went back by the A811 which was far faster.

Edited by The Mantis

Posted (edited)

Kirkintilloch Rob Roy 0-3 Largs Thistle in tropical Cumbernauld Village.

Third goal for Largs was a cracking strike. Kirkie player didn't exactly help their team mates by getting himself sent off while 2-0 down in the first half after reacting to being fouled, they finished game with 9 as had used all their subs prior to an injury.

kirkie-Copy.thumb.jpg.d8780d28dcbf2dc376af1a187012f00d.jpg

Edited by Caro-Kann

Posted (edited)

I missed Montrose's sad demise at the hands of Inverness, as I'm in Macedonia. So instead of the misery of yet another playoff defeat, I got to marinade myself in someone else's misery, as FK Shkupi, who played the blue arse cheek in Steven Gerrard's time, faced off against "Brera" Strumica, with issues at both ends of the Macedonian Prva Liga to be decided. The game was at Čair Stadium, a northern suburb of Skopje with a majority Albanian / Macedonian Muslim population. "Shkupi" is the Albanian word for Skopje. Entry was 200 denars, around £3.

Shkupi claim to have been around since 1927 but are the unofficial continuation of a defunct Yugoslav-era club, "Sloga" Jugomagnat. Sloga used to play at Čair stadium when it was a big socialist-era bowl. The park has been substantially modernised with two new-ish McDiarmid-Park style structures on eaither side of the pitch, although the bowl shape is still very much there. Shkupi have a big Albanian following and you are more likely to hear the Albanian language at Čair than Macedonian. I sat in front of a father and son who excitedly commented on the game in Albanian throughout.

Brera for their part are a much newer entity, having been founded in 2010 by Macedonian international legend Goran Pandev, as "Akademija Pandev", in his home city of Strumica in the south east of Macedonia.. Funded by the striker's largesse from his telephone-number annual salaries in Italy, the club rocketed up the leagues in no time and made the top flight maybe five years ago, and have since won the Macedonian Cup and appeared in Europe, however briefly.

Last year Pandev needed backers, and did a deal with Italian club Brera, the "third club in Milan", who now have become an international football project, backed by American investors. In return, Akademija Pandev changed the name- the club's full name only contains the ghost of its origins, "AP Brera Strumica". Pandev continues to sit on the board and the team colours changed from white and blue to Brera's green and black stripes. They are in effect a youth team who also aim to bring on younger talents from Africa and sell them on for profit. If it works, they should become a force, or they could be a footnote in footballing history in five years. Balkan clubs outwith the very biggest have butterfly lives, having periods of great success, going spectacularly bust, then re-emerging in slightly different form.

Well, yesterday Shkupi needed a win to keep their title hopes alive, and Brera needed a point to ensure they wouldn't be sucked into the relegation play-off, after a mediocre season. In the end it was the visitors who got their wish with a scarcely merited point, in a goal-less draw. The homesters had enough chances to win three games but just couldn't score, through a mixture of 80% terrible finishing and 20% good goalkeeping.

In point of fact Brera started much the better against their nervous hosts with no. 10 Matej Cvetanovski looking very lively in the opening part of the game, quick, creative, and spraying passes around. Shkupi looked crippled by nerves, but gradually relaxed into the game and began to push the visiting southerners back. The visitors goalkeeper, Alchevski, was busy collecting crosses and making a couple of sprawling stops as his defence, increasingly ragged, fell back. Brera's big centre half, the Brazilian Kauan, had a good game but I wasn't so convinced by some of his defensive team-mates. Shkupi had the ball in the net just after the half hour mark. The impressive Serafimov sent a cross over and Vosha stabbed home, but was about half a yard off. 

Shkupi started the second half much as they had ended the first, in frantic attack. By this stage Brera had given up pretending they wanted to win and were in a crabbed defensive crouch, like a cornered riot police unit in the face of an angry mob. Shots went wide, were hashed, Alchevski produced a tremendous one handed save to turn a goal bound rocket from 25 yards around the right hand post. An almighty melee saw the bar hit, the ball bounce down into a ruck of players, and somehow it stayed out.

I'd guess there were about 1600 in the stadium and the home tifo kept up a great racket throughout. There were about 150 visiting fans who tried their best to get behind their team, but in the end everyone left feeling a bit frustrated. Tempers boiled over a bit; the ludicrous visiting coach Krulj, attired in a bodywarmer as though he were off to record the Beechgrove Garden, was yellow carded for a needless teachnical area temper tantrum. Brera began to waste time ludcrously, and Cvetanovski, who had long faded, engaged in some histrionic hypochondriac shithousery, much to the fury of the home fans and players.

Goalless, then, and Shkupi finish third, missing out on the European spots occupied by champions Struga (another astroturfed outfit funded by who knows what- imagine Forfar being taken over by a shadowy billionaire) and nasty guys Shkendija from Tetovo. No chance for a cup winner to bail Shkupi out either- this year's cup final, which I shall go to next Wednesday evening, is the Macedonian equivalent of our 1997 final, between the unfancied "winemakers" of Tikvesh and the absurd Gr£tna equivalent , "Voska Sport", who aren't even the biggest club in Ohrid, a town of 10,000.

Shkupi I quite liked, they're a team with promise. I was a bit disappointed in Brera really, bar one or two players they look the part of a professional team but fell a bitty short and it's not difficult to see why they have had a tough season. They lacked an identity, really, despite one or two fine indivdual players- Alchevski, Kauan would look the part at a higher level. For Shkupi, keep an eye on Voisha who was impressive and also the Senegalese player Albert Diène, a powerful and combative box to box midfielder who carried Shkupi forward on his own at times.

Next week I'll go and see my Skopje team, Rabotnichki, close out the season against nasty Shkendija and their horrible fans. Then it's the cup final and, if I'm really lucky, I might see the relegation play-off between 10th placed Vardar- fallen giants crushed by a mountain of debt just before Covid- and the floridly named "Detonit" (Detonation) Plachkovica, who finished third in the second league.

441237046_1005985474209798_219632980155056020_n.thumb.jpg.5a68f953f8df904ba22d0b550e2e411c.jpg

441255846_292397413926657_6188813865038304588_n.thumb.jpg.2d6914d28fe28b32c6922595b9133264.jpg

439273278_815940090423598_4872680541976266230_n.thumb.jpg.89fc032e8fa3b6a8cbc649ad75303fd4.jpg

Edited by Ivo den Bieman

Lochore Welfare 2-1 Preston Athletic 

What do you do on an overcast Monday in Fife but go and see a nothing game in the 7th tier. We were here in 2022 and saw Camelon win here and decided it was time to come back as every other option included the bridge and skirting precariously close to Edinburgh for a Monday night. 

The only time we've seen Preston they were pumped 7-0 at home by eh Camelon (big team found etc) so we were hoping they'd improve tonight. They did and had the majority of the first half and deservedly led at the break. The highlight of which was the Lochore keeper going down, the physio asking if he is alright and the excellent referee Scott Morris replying "He's alright it's his tadger" cue much hilarity. The second half was a tale of two penalties. Welfare score theirs and Preston's threatens to hit the A frame in the Meedies. They are made to regret that when a goalkeeping howler wins the game for the hosts late on.

Since our last visit the dugouts have been decapitated. Answers why on a postcard please. Still an excellent ground that you enter through the social club and get your tea in a real mug. What's not to love.

20240513_192405.jpg

20240513_205200.jpg

20240513_205730.jpg

20240513_195726.jpg

44 minutes ago, Groundhopping Adventures said:

Still an excellent ground that you enter through the social club  

FWIW the main entrance gate is to the left of the social club.