The New Raith Rovers Thread

I feared the worst after the first 15mins or so. 
Really didn’t appreciate the gulf between the top of the championship and bottom of the Premier…. but there is the argument that Ross County aren’t really a ‘bottom of the Premier’ team and are in a false position due to two fuckwit managers….

I guess we should have realised the gap in quality though when Turner is deemed surplus to requirements for them and comes to us and looks excellent. 

I thought we looked really panicky, most of the time when we got a hold of the ball in our half it was cleared like we were holding a lead in the 85th minute rather than starting to try and build something.
Not sure if long to Hamilton was a deliberate ploy or if we just can’t help ourselves when he’s on the pitch but as everyone else has said, we cannot do that on Sunday or we’ll get the same result as we got last night.   

Will head up on Sunday not expecting anything. 
If we’re to have any hope then we need to play a formation that encourages us to pass the ball (Vaughan up top, Stanton behind and two of Mullin/Easton/Smith wide). 
Connolly miles off it the past few games unfortunately. 

I’m not fussed if we get beat, all I’m asking for is a good performance and a goal to cheer. 
I’m really just going so I can show appreciation for the unbelievable season we’ve had and sing “The Rovers we love you” as loud as I can for 90minutes. 

If it’s not to be this season then we learn our lessons, strengthen where needed and launch a proper assault on the title in what will be a fantastic league next year. 

39 minutes ago, North West said:

Good luck to the 76 or so real supporters travelling to Dingwall. Hopefully your hoolies don't smash any of their own bus windows.

How bored are you that you spend as much time in here as some Rovers posters? Gonna be a long close season buddy. Maybe pace and ration yourself.

Just now, Brashy's Boots said:

How bored are you that you spend as much time in here as some Rovers posters? Gonna be a long close season buddy. Maybe pace and ration yourself.

Took me 2 seconds to write that pish. Thanks for the advice though 😆 

not quite the same mass condemnation of the county supporters bus getting smashed as there was of the rovers lad who got a tanking after the fife derby at New year. Funny that.

6 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:

not quite the same mass condemnation of the county supporters bus getting smashed as there was of the rovers lad who got a tanking after the fife derby at New year. Funny that.

You do realise that NW ..BAMPOT and his NW mates SPECIALISE in Disabled cases....

SMASHING BUS WINDOWS WOULD BE TOO TWEE FOR HIM AND HIS!!

Thankfully the majority of DAFC fans are DECENT folk

BTW were those NW cretins ever taken to court?

18 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:

Absolutely no need for this petty points scoring nonsense.

Every Dunfermline fan on here would have condemned what the Pars Green street wannabe did.

In exactly the same way, every Rovers fan on here will condemn wee fannies tanning bus windows.

The fannies doing this sort of thing are probably barely of legal drinking age and won't be posting on here, and all of us old enough to bother posting on a football forum would happily fire them all in to the sea. 

Trying to make out that we condone that sort of behaviour from our own is just nonsense.

35 minutes ago, Wee Sandy said:

You do realise that NW ..BAMPOT and his NW mates SPECIALISE in Disabled cases....

SMASHING BUS WINDOWS WOULD BE TOO TWEE FOR HIM AND HIS!!

Thankfully the majority of DAFC fans are DECENT folk

BTW were those NW cretins ever taken to court?

You need to be a bit more cautious about attributing an assault to me in any way shape or form. It's unsubstantiated garbage. I think you'd be better calming down and thinking a bit harder before you post. 

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, North West said:

You need to be a bit more cautious about attributing an assault to me in any way shape or form. It's unsubstantiated garbage. I think you'd be better calming down and thinking a bit harder before you post. 

I don't think at any point in any way, shape or form has that been attributed to you. You're just unfortunate (not just by being a Pars fan) to have chosen a user name that is synonymous with a bunch of stone island wearing failures who assaulted a kid.

Edited by CountryBumpkin

Not really surprised in the difference in quality between a side punching to be 2nd in Championship against a Premiership side who have definitely underachieved this season.

That said, we're still very much in this and anyone writing off the Rovers this season before the final whistle goes hasn't really been paying attention.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, CountryBumpkin said:

I don't think at any point in any way, shape or form has that been attributed to you. You're just unfortunate (not just by being a Pars fan) to have chosen a user name that is synonymous with a bunch of stone island wearing failures who assaulted a kid.

Another who likes to dish out drivel......but refuses to take it!!

Think I should block this bairn!

Edited by Wee Sandy

Not quite sure what was up with us last night. We looked nervous and possibly a bit surprised how quickly County came out the traps from kick off.

There was a definite gulf in quality between the two teams for large spells of the game and Ross County are either a fair bit better than their league position suggests or us being pretty poor made them look better than they actually are. It's in stark contrast to last season when we played Motherwell in the cup who I'd imagine are a better team than County and we matched them with ultimately a poorer team than we have just now.

First half was a snore fest and we looked every bit a team not used to playing a team a good bit better than the bulk of the Championship teams we've been playing this season. I'd say Ross County even looked miles better than Dundee United. Also I have no idea why Vaughan took that free kick, was in prime Connolly territory. The long ball time and time again was not working and from the small passages of play where we got the ball down and tried to play some football resulted in...guess what? Our goal. Do that on Sunday and you never know.

Also it's so infuriating when a high ball comes to one of our players who has acres of space and time to bring it down and try and find a pass but instead chooses to just head it invariably back to the opposition.

On the plus side the team have had a chance to see what County are all about and in some sense know what to expect. Hopefully Murray and the players can see where the issues were last night so that we have a good go against them on Sunday, we've no option I suppose.

Great crowd in Starks albeit flat as a pancake, think the occasion got to both the players and fans at some stages. We absolutely needed that goal though, going up to Dingwall 2 down would have game over I'd say but we're hanging on in there. 

Final thing, VAR is absolutely brutal. First experience of it and when we scored to hearing 'VAR check for possible offside' just takes all the enjoyment out it. 

Would have preferred to have had a win to take up on Sunday obviously but if we couldn’t manage that the main thing was to make sure we were still in the tie, and we did that.  So can take the long drive up on Sunday with a bit of hope.

I don’t think we can play as badly as that again, plus the game last night would have been a learning for the guys.  It wasn’t just the physicality from the Ross County players, it was the quickness and reactions too.  A lot of our players seemed caught out by that, doing things they’d done all season but where they get given time in the Championship they weren’t getting that last night and struggled.

The goal was vital, but so too was just that 15 min spell where we actually started to look a bit like ourselves.  It wouldn’t have been tie over if those two things hadn’t happened, but going up on Sunday 2-0 down, not having had a shot on goal and barely created anything, you’d be struggling to see how we’d pull it off.

We know exactly what we need to do now, so there’s no need for overthinking.  Just go out and have a go.  Even if it’s just getting a win to take it into ET and see what happens.

I don't think we gave a good enough account of ourselves last night County went for us straight away and we did not cope well.

That said both their goals came from set pieces and Kev made his standard strong handed saves and we cut them open going forward.

I think last night was a bit of an eye opener. The size of their players, the iintensityand speed they played at and they had a decent bit of skill in there as well. 

If we can turn this around or even if we don't and we get up next season we are in for an expensive shopping trip for players who can play at that level just to stay up. 

Would be a great problem to have though. 

5 minutes ago, Arab_R_us said:

big, experienced, expensive squad you had this season. Think you can afford to keep it for another season in the championship ?

Yip.

Our gates were way over what was budgeted for, as was the prize money.