Things you want to share with P&B

Ad Lib

Usain Bolt has dropped down a fair bit in my admiration for him. Maybe he's been misquoted, I hope so.

I find it quite refreshing tbh. Having to say that every event he goes to is the best ever must get wearing after a while. And all the tripe about how friendly the weegies are. FFS it's the murder capital of Europe.

Re this whole Bolt thing; sounds like the papers trying to whip up a frenzy as they can't handle so much positivity. Even if he did say it, so fucking what?! The man is entitled to his opinion. He didn't have to turn up at all, but he's made the effort. Also of course the London Olympics are better; they're the fucking Olympics, the biggest sporting event on the planet. The Olympics will always be better than the Commonwealth Games simply because of what they are. That's not to say the Commonwealth Games are shit. I enjoy them but if others don't like them then so what? It doesn't detract from my enjoyment or the thousands of others who are enjoying it.

Some seem almost delighted about this. There's an ugly thing that sadly is more visible due to social media where people seem desperate to tear down successful people. They'll use the same sort of 'arguments' like "they've become too big for their boots!" or "they should remember where they came from!" or "oh NOW they're too big for it/us". It's like people are choking to make out that someone has become arrogant etc just so they can feel better about what a sad wee bitter p***k they are. It's just a target for tossers to unload their failures on. I saw someone ripping in to Chris Hoy for not competing in the last games, using all the 'arguments' noted above. It's just pish. The reasons why Hoy didn't compete were explained over and over but the tosser just got more hysterical.

I even see people getting ripped for their accents changing, as if it was done on purpose, with folk saying "oh they're too good to speak like they did now!". Just total shite.

Re this whole Bolt thing; sounds like the papers trying to whip up a frenzy as they can't handle so much positivity. Even if he did say it, so fucking what?! The man is entitled to his opinion. He didn't have to turn up at all, but he's made the effort. Also of course the London Olympics are better; they're the fucking Olympics, the biggest sporting event on the planet. The Olympics will always be better than the Commonwealth Games simply because of what they are. That's not to say the Commonwealth Games are shit. I enjoy them but if others don't like them then so what? It doesn't detract from my enjoyment or the thousands of others who are enjoying it.

Some seem almost delighted about this. There's an ugly thing that sadly is more visible due to social media where people seem desperate to tear down successful people. They'll use the same sort of 'arguments' like "they've become too big for their boots!" or "they should remember where they came from!" or "oh NOW they're too big for it/us". It's like people are choking to make out that someone has become arrogant etc just so they can feel better about what a sad wee bitter p***k they are. It's just a target for tossers to unload their failures on. I saw someone ripping in to Chris Hoy for not competing in the last games, using all the 'arguments' noted above. It's just pish. The reasons why Hoy didn't compete were explained over and over but the tosser just got more hysterical.

I even see people getting ripped for their accents changing, as if it was done on purpose, with folk saying "oh they're too good to speak like they did now!". Just total shite.

Absolutely this. While I can't say for certain, my guess is that so many people are affronted by the very idea that he would slate the Commonwealth Games because the games are being held on their doorstep and they've taken it personally. They wouldn't give a flying f**k if he'd said "The Commonwealth Games are a bit shit" if they were being held in any other country.

I like Usain Bolt. As for calling him a glory-hunter (whoever that was - I can't be bothered to scroll back and check), er, he's the fastest man in the world. He doesn't exactly have to go looking for glory.

Aye, but is he a proddy fastest man in the world or a catholic fastest man in the world, but?

Spectacles, testicles, wallet, watch, lightning bolt. Cafflick, definitely.

Edited by Mrs M

Spectacles, testicles, wallet, watch, lightning bolt. Cafflick, definitely.

Catholic testicles eh? As a sheltered heterosexual male I must bow to your superior knowledge of the testicular schism. Are they a bit gnarled from priestly nibbling?