The Falkirk FC Thread

21 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

For all he's at fault for the goal Dylan Tait was excellent for me yesterday. In the first hal he was the only man on the pitch wanting to get it down and play.

Yes, definitely one worth signing for next season if we can reach an agreement with Hibs, I think he is still under contract with them? 

9 minutes ago, Brockers61 said:

Yes, definitely one worth signing for next season if we can reach an agreement with Hibs, I think he is still under contract with them? 

Yeah still got a year left but I can't see them being that difficult to deal with.

A lot of chat about Gary Oliver this weekend. I had a feeling he was one of our better finishers and checked out the stats this morning. He arguably has a bit more composure in front of goal than our other strikers.

His goals to shots ratio is by far the best in the team at 42%. Calvin Miller (25%) Callumn Morrison (23%), Ross McIver (18%) and Aiden Nesbitt (17%).

His goals to minutes on the pitch is a very impressive 108 minutes. Nearly a goal a game. Morrison (130 minutes), Miller (199), McIver (208), Nesbitt (279). We create a lot of chances but aren't that clinical (as McGlynn has said countless times) in front of goal.

Obviously some of these players perform different roles and assists (Miller has 10, Nesbitt 8, Spencer 6), work rate etc comes in to it but its interesting nonetheless.

We definitely need a clinical poacher, goal scorer for next season, not saying for a minute Oliver is him (he's not that type of player) but he has earned the right to be discussed as a contract extension and squad player for next season.

Edit to add: As a comparison Burrells (highest in league) stats are 37% goal conversion and 126 minutes per goal. O'Hara (highest at Hamilton) are 19% and 197 minutes per goal.

Edited by bridge of allan bairn

5 minutes ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

A lot of chat about Gary Oliver this weekend. I had a feeling he was one of our better finishers and checked out the stats this morning. He arguably has a bit more composure in front of goal than our other strikers.

His goals to shots ratio is by far the best in the team at 42%. Calvin Miller (25%) Callumn Morrison (23%), Ross McIver (18%) and Aiden Nesbitt (17%).

His goals to minutes on the pitch is a very impressive 108 minutes. Nearly a goal a game. Morrison (130 minutes), Miller (199), McIver (208), Nesbitt (279). We create a lot of chances but aren't that clinical (as McGlynn has said countless times) in front of goal.

Obviously some of these players perform different roles and assists (Miller has 10, Nesbitt 8, Spencer 6), work rate etc comes in to it but its interesting nonetheless.

We definitely need a clinical poacher, goal scorer for next season, not saying for a minute Oliver is him (he's not that type of player) but he has earned the right to be discussed as a contract extension and squad player for next season.

How many winners has he scored this season?

Having a hard time thinking who has done better at getting the late winner than him. It might only be 3 or 4, but he's bagged us 3 points instead of 1 more than anyone else I'd imagine. 

Meant to say the microphone was still on after Sean said the goodbyes on FTV and heard him giving it “aw I fucking love this team”. Brilliant 🤣

1 minute ago, Bairnardo said:

Having a hard time thinking who has done better at getting the late winner than him. It might only be 3 or 4, but he's bagged us 3 points instead of 1 more than anyone else I'd imagine. 

In all fairness, a couple of his late goals were scored when we were already winning, but it's still an attribute I absolutely want in the squad, as proven with yesterday.

4 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

He's definitely chipped in with some very important goals. My guess is its been pretty well spread out throughout the team this season. Defenders, midfield and strikers have all contributed. Would be an interesting stat though if anyone could be bothered doing it.

2 minutes ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

He's definitely chipped in with some very important goals. My guess is its been pretty well spread out throughout the team this season. Defenders, midfield and strikers have all contributed. Would be an interesting stat though if anyone could be bothered doing it.

My mate was at the game with me yesterday and passed comment on how good Hendo was. Its really hard to explain to someone without getting into wild hyperbole just how good this team is, and that actually, that classy centre half is in fact just filling in, and is usually found bodying folk in midfield. 

1 minute ago, Bairnardo said:

My mate was at the game with me yesterday and passed comment on how good Hendo was. Its really hard to explain to someone without getting into wild hyperbole just how good this team is, and that actually, that classy centre half is in fact just filling in, and is usually found bodying folk in midfield. 

There are a serious number of candidates for player of the year in this team however for me Henderson is the most important player we have and he'd get my nod.

There was a complete roaster behind me yesterday slagging him (and others) off, saying he was too soft. Some of our fans don't deserve this team. 

21 minutes ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

Edit to add: As a comparison Burrells (highest in league) stats are 37% goal conversion and 126 minutes per goal. O'Hara (highest at Hamilton) are 19% and 197 minutes per goal.

Interesting stats- thanks for sharing.

Nesbitt’s return isn’t great considering he’s started nearly every game this season at number 10. Personally I would like another option to compete with him for that position next season. It may be worth giving Oliver a run of games there to see if he could be that player.

11 minutes ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

There are a serious number of candidates for player of the year in this team however for me Henderson is the most important player we have and he'd get my nod.

There was a complete roaster behind me yesterday slagging him (and others) off, saying he was too soft. Some of our fans don't deserve this team. 

People should be checked at the turnstile, and anyone with a negative word to say about Hendo should be issued with a lifetime ban. 

It's for their own good. Football simply isn't for them. 

2 hours ago, FFC 1876 said:

Yeah still got a year left but I can't see them being that difficult to deal with.

Depends on his wages at Hibs though. Perhaps more likely to be a loan deal for next season if he's on a decent amount there. I doubt he'll be on anything crazy but it still could be more than we could afford 

58 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Interesting stats- thanks for sharing.

Nesbitt’s return isn’t great considering he’s started nearly every game this season at number 10. Personally I would like another option to compete with him for that position next season. It may be worth giving Oliver a run of games there to see if he could be that player.

Nesbitt created more mind you. 3rd most assists in the league for him with 8. 

52 minutes ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

Just wait until next season (if we get up) when we're not winning all the time. The roasters will get louder, both at matches and on here.

Some folk seem to see players like robots and can't accept that they have human frailties. For example, Nesbitt was quite wasteful yesterday, one of the poorer performers on the day, but his commitment and energy can't be questioned. He's an important cog in the wheel but some folk will continue to slag him irrespective of performance. There's a guy that sits behind me that gives him it tight, brilliant or pish, doesn't matter to him.

What this team have achieved this season is remarkable, yet still they come with their whining. You're right, some of our 'supporters' don't deserve the success that we're currently experiencing!

22 minutes ago, Springfield said:

As mentioned first year I have issues with both YPOTY & POTY. 

Surely not young player of the year?

That's Finn Yeats and it's not close. Boys a legend in the making