The Falkirk FC Thread

55 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Falkirk - Dundee connection goes back a long way.

Reg Smith - Bob Shankly - John Prentice - Simon Stainrod - Jim Duffy - Alex Totten - George Merchant - Bert Slater - Bobby Ford - Bobby Robinson - Wilson Hoggan - Jim Shirra - Ally Donaldson - Ian McColl - Vince Mennie (thanks a bundle and cruel taking the piss like that)

Famous and infamous it's a colourful roll call 

25 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

Don't forget Derek McWilliams and the wonderful trio of loans Declan mcdaid. Lee Wilkie and lee Mair.

Albert Kidd, Brian Scrimgeour & I suppose the Mince Venny favour was returned with Kevin McBride🫣.

Edited by kiddy

19 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Doesn’t say if they are sitting with any debt or not, just says they ran at a 2.9 million pound loss. 

Debt will all be to the owners but we know what happens when they lose interest or run out of cash.

5 hours ago, Shodwall cat said:

Debt will all be to the owners but we know what happens when they lose interest or run out of cash.

You’d presume so but it doesn’t say that one way or the other, the owner may well be funding the shortfall by way of soft loans against the club but could also simply be doing a Roy McGregor and writing the money off.  Either way it’s still unsustainable and should not be allowed, it’s crazy there is still no form of FFP legislation in Scottish football whatsoever. Sooner or later clubs ran in this manner inevitably hit the buffers when the sugar daddy gets bored or runs out of cash. 

Edited by LatapyBairn.

39 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

You’d presume so but it doesn’t say that one way or the other, the owner may well be funding the shortfall by way of soft loans against the club but could also simply be doing a Roy McGregor and writing the money off.  Either way it’s still unsustainable and should not be allowed, it’s crazy there is still no form of FFP legislation in Scottish football whatsoever. Sooner or later clubs ran in this manner hit the buffers when the sugar daddy gets bored or runs out of cash. 

I took it that when it said  "Football Partners Scotland (FPS) will continue to provide the financial support for the company." And " The board of directors has received an undertaking in writing from Football Partners Scotland L.P. that it will continue to make additional funds available to the company in situations where these funds are required.” that the owners fps were basically funding any deficit.

Doesn't make managing to lose 7 games on the way to promotion last season looks like much of an achievement.

Edited by Shodwall cat

7 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

I took it that when it said  "Football Partners Scotland (FPS) will continue to provide the financial support for the company." And " The board of directors has received an undertaking in writing from Football Partners Scotland L.P. that it will continue to make additional funds available to the company in situations where these funds are required.” that the owners fps were basically funding any deficit.

Doesn't make managing to lose 7 games on the way to promotion last season looks like much of an achievement.

It’s not clear whether that’s in the form of a loan or a simple cash injection. You’d presume it would be some form of soft loan but it does not say one way or another. 

Edited by LatapyBairn.

49 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

You’d presume so but it doesn’t say that one way or the other, the owner may well be funding the shortfall by way of soft loans against the club but could also simply be doing a Roy McGregor and writing the money off.  Either way it’s still unsustainable and should not be allowed, it’s crazy there is still no form of FFP legislation in Scottish football whatsoever. Sooner or later clubs ran in this manner hit the buffers when the sugar daddy gets bored or runs out of cash. 

Or dies, like Mileson or Thompson,

3 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Falkirk - Dundee connection goes back a long way.

Reg Smith - Bob Shankly - John Prentice - Simon Stainrod - Jim Duffy - Alex Totten - George Merchant - Bert Slater - Bobby Ford - Bobby Robinson - Wilson Hoggan - Jim Shirra - Ally Donaldson - Ian McColl - Vince Mennie (thanks a bundle and cruel taking the piss like that)

Famous and infamous it's a colourful roll call 

Probably able to put together a similar list for Dunfermline.

10 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

It’s not clear whether that’s in the form of a loan or a simple cash injection. You’d presume it would be some form of soft loan but it does not say one way or another. 

I read somewhere that because he owns 75 percent of the club he can now write off losses against other areas of his business. Not an expert in this kind of thing at all though.

11 hours ago, kiddy said:

Or dies, like Mileson or Thompson,

11 hours ago, LatapyBairn. said:

You’d presume so but it doesn’t say that one way or the other, the owner may well be funding the shortfall by way of soft loans against the club but could also simply be doing a Roy McGregor and writing the money off.  Either way it’s still unsustainable and should not be allowed, it’s crazy there is still no form of FFP legislation in Scottish football whatsoever. Sooner or later clubs ran in this manner inevitably hit the buffers when the sugar daddy gets bored or runs out of cash. 

Roy McGregor is very clever with the advertising hoardings, sponsorship, hospitality at the ground from his suppliers. Ross County charge top dollar with the companies have a nod and a wink from McGregor Supplies that their goodwill will not go unrecognised.

Very like Brown at St Johnstone a fan who's a sound business person and puts the club first using his clout to do the best for team he supports.

As you stated eggs in one basket and all to often ends badly.

Didn’t expect we’d sell our allocation. The leagues won, we’ve had tremendous backing for the last four or so games. Many fans I know are enjoying wee break, and just far too many Saturday shite kick off times, we’ve endured for a month now. Still take a decent support.

Wonder if they’ll add a PATG if sales keep at the level they’re at now. If they do, reckon we’d end up at about 1,500-1,600 or so, which would be very decent considering it’s our fourth 17:30 KO in 5 weeks (three of which have been away) and the league is won.

Edited by 18BAIRN76

1 hour ago, Springfield said:

Didn’t expect we’d sell our allocation. The leagues won, we’ve had tremendous backing for the last four or so games. Many fans I know are enjoying wee break, and just far too many Saturday shite kick off times, we’ve endured for a month now. Still take a decent support.

Aye, the constant 17:30 KO times are less than ideal, but Alba just needed to get their Box Office Bairns fix! What's the Gaelic for "Get it right up yeez Accies"?

51 minutes ago, bairn88 said:

Been a rough 2 months on the wallet following the bairns to be fair

You're no wrong! Not to mention all the merch I've also bought over that period. The club should have just automatically taken the money out my bank account when they announced the 1991 away shirt. Would have saved me the hassle 🤣

41 minutes ago, 18BAIRN76 said:

Wonder if they’ll add a PATG if sales keep at the level they’re at now. If they do, reckon we’d end up at about 1,500-1,600 or so, which would be very decent considering it’s our fourth 17:30 KO in 5 weeks (three of which have been away) and the league is won.

Fair points. It was never in any doubt that I was going, however. I'm skint but I just love following this team so much. These players have a real connection with the supporters and it's just awesome to see it.

3 minutes ago, Raybowski89 said:

Aye, the constant 17:30 KO times are less than ideal, but Alba just needed to get their Box Office Bairns fix! What's the Gaelic for "Get it right up yeez Accies"?

You're no wrong! Not to mention all the merch I've also bought over that period. The club should have just automatically taken the money out my bank account when they announced the 1991 away shirt. Would have saved me the hassle 🤣

Fair points. It was never in any doubt that I was going, however. I'm skint but I just love following this team so much. These players have a real connection with the supporters and it's just awesome to see it.

Faigh e deas suas thu accies!