The Falkirk FC Thread

5 minutes ago, TxRover said:

So, just to offer a mild distraction from the McKinnon/pitchfork crowd w**k for a wee bit, listening to the complaints on game threads and watching some highlights, exactly who is actually playing well for FFC and who is stealing a wage? For instance, most seem to believe that Gomis and Longridge are solid players, and few rate Dixon as worth a sixpence. How about a rundown of who is actually: Top performer, Worth the wage, On the fence, Stealing the money, Complete waste of a uniform? The reality is once McKinnon gets emptied, someone has to try to sort out the mess he made.

The only ones who I don’t think can be in a falkirk starting 11 that’ll win the league this year are Dixon, Durnan and maybe Tidser. The rest are 100% more than capable to walk this league. So basically new manager - play toshney instead of Durnan and find a replacement for Dixon, done. 

So, just to offer a mild distraction from the McKinnon/pitchfork crowd w**k for a wee bit, listening to the complaints on game threads and watching some highlights, exactly who is actually playing well for FFC and who is stealing a wage? For instance, most seem to believe that Gomis and Longridge are solid players, and few rate Dixon as worth a sixpence. How about a rundown of who is actually: Top performer, Worth the wage, On the fence, Stealing the money, Complete waste of a uniform? The reality is once McKinnon gets emptied, someone has to try to sort out the mess he made.

You cannot objectively evaluate any of these players while they are under the influence of McKinnon.

All have abilities at this level. Every question you ask of individual players takes you right back to McKinnon’s inability to manage a football club.

I still believe the dead cat bounce we would see from these players after the removal of McKinnon would be huge.

You cannot objectively evaluate any of these players while they are under the influence of McKinnon.

All have abilities at this level. Every question you ask of individual players takes you right back to McKinnon’s inability to manage a football club.

I still believe the dead cat bounce we would see from these players after the removal of McKinnon would be huge.

I don’t think it would be a dead cat bounce, most of the team are more than good enough for this level and under competent management would perform consistently at a much higher standard.

If we were to have yet another January clear out I’d be well up for that, assuming of course McKinnon is long gone by then, the perception in the summer was that we were bringing in good mid table championship players who should be more than good enough for League 1. I know I was certainly one who bought into it and thought our squad was going to be more than good enough. It’s not. Aye the manager is fucking rotten and needs punted ASAP but watching the team this season there’s really not a lot there.

Only players I’d genuinely be looking to keep are Robbie Mutch, Morgaro Gomis and Louis Longridge. Mutch is more than good enough to be our fist choice ‘keeper, still got a lot of learning to do but he needs to play games to do that. Louis gets a hard time from some of our fans but of course he’s going to be inconsistent if he was able to produce his quality week in week out he’s be sure playing at a much higher level. Our only player with genuine quality and creativity if he goes in January it’s a massive loss. Morgaro Gomis has unquestionably been our best player this season he’s surpassed by expectations of him definitely and I’d imagine most others as well. His legs are starting to go and shouldn’t be asked to play 90 minutes every week but he oozes class.

Next players who I’m very ‘meh’ about. Cammy Bell, Gregor Buchanan and Mikey Doyle. Bell has been fine for us this season no issues with him but I’d just rather we gave Mutch a proper chance to establish himself. Buchanan is a bang average centre back and seems to get away with a lot from the fans cause he’s local, he really should’ve scored 3 or 4 goals already this season seems to get a decent chance every other game. Doyle is fine at right-back his pace and work rate do let him get away with a lot of mistakes and he’s by no means brilliant but compares to some of the shite we’ve played there over the last few years don’t mind him too much. I’d actually throw Lewis Toshney in here too, someone who imo when played this season has been our best defender but for some reason been benched for months now.

Now we’ve got the jobbers who should be nowhere near the club. Robbie Leitch, Denny Johnstone, Ross MacLean, Gary Miller and Lewis Moore. All pretty shite ‘squad fillers’ that add no value expect sitting on the bench. All could get punted tomorrow and you wouldn’t even notice. I’d be amazed if any are playing full time football once they leave us.

Now we’ve got a whole list of either under performers or just utter shite. Mark Durnan, Aidan Connolly, Declan McManus, Ian McShane, Connor Sammon, David McMillan, Charlie Telfer and Michael Tidser. Durnan is an absolute cart horse of a centre back he’s a liability and a mistake waiting to happen. He’s worse with the ball at his feet than a Peter Grant which is fucking impressive. After a bright start Connolly has fell away and rarely has any influence on the game either stating or coming off the bench. Might be a bit harsh on McManus but his attitude does my fucking tits in always looking to foul first then having a strop when he gets the foul against him or throwing himself to the ground at any opportunity. Also got a very ratty face that you would never tire of punching. Ian McShane just isn’t my type of player at all I don’t think he adds nothing to the game except shite set pieces. A complete shitebag and a passenger. I’ve really tried to like Sammon and aye he’s not helped with getting the ball hoofed up to him all the time but he’s a big fucking diddy and really doesn’t offer much of a threat. McMillan isn’t much different well and looks to be a decent enough poacher but his all round play is terrible can’t really trap the ball, pass the ball and not the cleanest of strikers of a ball either. Telfer similar to Connolly started really well but since his excellent performance last time against Dumbarton has been awful. Every game passing him by as he hides in the middle of the park not really getting involved in anything. Then the most disappointing of all of course is Tidser. No way is this the same player that was at Morton. He’s so slow on the ball, can’t run, barely leaves the centre circle and another complete shitebag.

Finally leave worst until last Paul Dixon. Feel bad for saying it every week but he’s finished. Not a surprise that teams now target him every week as he’s hopeless. Both defensively and offensively he’s regressed massively since January. Either loses possession or just aimlessly hoofs it when he gets in, never stops a cross, very rarely stops his man getting by him and his final ball is absolutely useless. And to think we’ve got another 18 months left of watching this c**t.

I don’t think it would be a dead cat bounce, most of the team are more than good enough for this level and under competent management would perform consistently at a much higher standard.

I am far from convinced that the squad is anywhere near good enough

If we were to have yet another January clear out I’d be well up for that, assuming of course McKinnon is long gone by then, the perception in the summer was that we were bringing in good mid table championship players who should be more than good enough for League 1. I know I was certainly one who bought into it and thought our squad was going to be more than good enough. It’s not. Aye the manager is fucking rotten and needs punted ASAP but watching the team this season there’s really not a lot there.

Only players I’d genuinely be looking to keep are Robbie Mutch, Morgaro Gomis and Louis Longridge. Mutch is more than good enough to be our fist choice ‘keeper, still got a lot of learning to do but he needs to play games to do that. Louis gets a hard time from some of our fans but of course he’s going to be inconsistent if he was able to produce his quality week in week out he’s be sure playing at a much higher level. Our only player with genuine quality and creativity if he goes in January it’s a massive loss. Morgaro Gomis has unquestionably been our best player this season he’s surpassed by expectations of him definitely and I’d imagine most others as well. His legs are starting to go and shouldn’t be asked to play 90 minutes every week but he oozes class.

Next players who I’m very ‘meh’ about. Cammy Bell, Gregor Buchanan and Mikey Doyle. Bell has been fine for us this season no issues with him but I’d just rather we gave Mutch a proper chance to establish himself. Buchanan is a bang average centre back and seems to get away with a lot from the fans cause he’s local, he really should’ve scored 3 or 4 goals already this season seems to get a decent chance every other game. Doyle is fine at right-back his pace and work rate do let him get away with a lot of mistakes and he’s by no means brilliant but compares to some of the shite we’ve played there over the last few years don’t mind him too much. I’d actually throw Lewis Toshney in here too, someone who imo when played this season has been our best defender but for some reason been benched for months now.

Now we’ve got the jobbers who should be nowhere near the club. Robbie Leitch, Denny Johnstone, Ross MacLean, Gary Miller and Lewis Moore. All pretty shite ‘squad fillers’ that add no value expect sitting on the bench. All could get punted tomorrow and you wouldn’t even notice. I’d be amazed if any are playing full time football once they leave us.

Now we’ve got a whole list of either under performers or just utter shite. Mark Durnan, Aidan Connolly, Declan McManus, Ian McShane, Connor Sammon, David McMillan, Charlie Telfer and Michael Tidser. Durnan is an absolute cart horse of a centre back he’s a liability and a mistake waiting to happen. He’s worse with the ball at his feet than a Peter Grant which is fucking impressive. After a bright start Connolly has fell away and rarely has any influence on the game either stating or coming off the bench. Might be a bit harsh on McManus but his attitude does my fucking tits in always looking to foul first then having a strop when he gets the foul against him or throwing himself to the ground at any opportunity. Also got a very ratty face that you would never tire of punching. Ian McShane just isn’t my type of player at all I don’t think he adds nothing to the game except shite set pieces. A complete shitebag and a passenger. I’ve really tried to like Sammon and aye he’s not helped with getting the ball hoofed up to him all the time but he’s a big fucking diddy and really doesn’t offer much of a threat. McMillan isn’t much different well and looks to be a decent enough poacher but his all round play is terrible can’t really trap the ball, pass the ball and not the cleanest of strikers of a ball either. Telfer similar to Connolly started really well but since his excellent performance last time against Dumbarton has been awful. Every game passing him by as he hides in the middle of the park not really getting involved in anything. Then the most disappointing of all of course is Tidser. No way is this the same player that was at Morton. He’s so slow on the ball, can’t run, barely leaves the centre circle and another complete shitebag.

Finally leave worst until last Paul Dixon. Feel bad for saying it every week but he’s finished. Not a surprise that teams now target him every week as he’s hopeless. Both defensively and offensively he’s regressed massively since January. Either loses possession or just aimlessly hoofs it when he gets in, never stops a cross, very rarely stops his man getting by him and his final ball is absolutely useless. And to think we’ve got another 18 months left of watching this c**t.
I dont disagree with a word of this. The fact that McKinnon had a really high budget for League 1 and has built this squad from scratch is sackable in itself.

In hospitality yesterday and watched Kieran K go around all of the packed out suites and boxes apologising for "that performance"! Ten minutes later, three players were dragged around the same people mumbling and shrugging their shoulders, whilst showing no signs of the same passion or hurt that KK was feeling. If only Ray had had the same balls that KK had shown then maybe, just maybe this club could start to move forward from the embarrassment it has become. We are spineless with a clueless management team and are punchless on the park. We do not need an overhaul on the park but desperately need someone in the dugout who will take this shower and demand nothing less than 100% every time they step onto the park with a view to scoring more than the opposition whatever it takes.

Do any of you guys seriously believe he’ll walk voluntarily?

He’s bound to know that his stock is low and he’s unlikely to get another full-time gig.

He’ll be looking at the table and thinking that despite his failings, the team are only a win away from being top of the league.
He’ll know that the only hope he’s got of rescuing his career is to hang about and hope he can fluke a title win.

15 minutes ago, stevoraith said:

Do any of you guys seriously believe he’ll walk voluntarily?

No.

Just now, 18BAIRN76 said:

Anyone actually believe there is any prospect of him getting emptied tomorrow?

No.