The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, ShaggerG said:

John Mitchell was a left winger and a very good one too.

Whitefords were two brothers and a cousin. Think it was Derek and Davie that were brothers, Jocky the cousin.

Then there was John Perry one of the most frustrating players ever to put on a Falkirk jersey. One game he would be unplayable showing pace , skill , vision winning a game for you near singlehanded. Next game he would be a liability, posted missing and hopeless. He went on trial at Arsenal so they saw there was a player there but he lasted a week. They had seen what the fans had seen no consistency. 

30 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Then there was John Perry one of the most frustrating players ever to put on a Falkirk jersey. One game he would be unplayable showing pace , skill , vision winning a game for you near singlehanded. Next game he would be a liability, posted missing and hopeless. He went on trial at Arsenal so they saw there was a player there but he lasted a week. They had seen what the fans had seen no consistency. 

Plus Ken Mackie from Dunfermline.

9 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

He was not at the game that night. Think that was the most angry I have ever been at a game. Remember standing in the mob behind the stand baying for blood. Heard stories of the team bus getting car loads of Falkirk fans haranguing them as they drove out of town with every police car for miles summoned to escort them out of Dodge.

As I have said in the past. Will cheer on any team that plays them and that includes Rangers and Celtic ! Now that's what you call nursing your wrath to keep it warm !

You make a good point about his Man United teams with their antics refined at his time at Aberdeen.

Yes they were disgusting that night, I was totally seething that night too.

I remember having an argument with Stuart Kennedy  about the match in The Woodside when he was mine host there - he was 100% backing Aberdeen & sticking up for their conduct which surprised me a bit seeing as he is a local lad who also has played for us.  

Anyone else notice that the next time we played Forfar and Hamilton in Jan and Feb, both those games ended 0-0? Must have been a disappointment for those attending expecting similar thrills....

A bit like when we beat Clydebank 0-7 or 1-7 at Kilbowie, then in the return fixture at Brockville, they beat us 1-2 when we were expecting to massacre them. A real expect the unexpected game.

1 hour ago, Bantabairn said:

For once a decent honest appraisal of where we are as a club. Still some concern that we still have cash, when just about every club are “go fund me”

For me the last few questions and answers throw up more questions, if my interpretation is correct, are we looking at cash injection ? New investment? maybe picked this part wrong, but he seemed pretty confident. Hopeful that we have a trusted chairman and fan, which we’ve not had for a very long time 

When DO mentioned fan ownership GD quickly mentioned the club is fan owned and they are open to fan investment, that ship sailed when whoever pissed off the BtB guys. He did mention another shares sale to raise more money.

One thing he did mention the club isnt going with the begging bowl as he did say in times like these with so much uncertainty the last thing they want to rely on is the fans for money when money is tight due to businesses being closed.

Had a few FFC dreams last night and tried to recall some of the solid, dependable, unspectacular players who gave us good service over a reasonable period of time.

Here’s a few for starters.

Ian Hunter, John Hay, Stuart Burgess, Brian Brown, Andy Roxburgh,John Mitchell, Jim Pearson,Buck McGarry,Alex Duchart,Ian Harley,John Whiteford, Scott McKenzie,Brian Purdie,Jamie McQuilken,Scott Crabbe, Gareth Hutchison, John Lambie (only as a player), Alan Redpath, Wilson Hoggan, Stuart Wheatley, Jimmy McIntosh.

On a different theme, I keep remembering a ginger headed player ? Higgins, an inside forward , I think, who I used to see working on the Council bin lorries. Any ideas as to his first name?

1 hour ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Had a few FFC dreams last night and tried to recall some of the solid, dependable, unspectacular players who gave us good service over a reasonable period of time.

Ian Hunter, John Hay, Stuart Burgess, Brian Brown, Andy Roxburgh,John Mitchell, Jim Pearson,Buck McGarry,Alex Duchart,Ian Harley,John Whiteford, Scott McKenzie,Brian Purdie,Jamie McQuilken,Scott Crabbe, Gareth Hutchison, John Lambie (only as a player), Alan Redpath, Wilson Hoggan, Stuart Wheatley, Jimmy McIntosh.

On a different theme, I keep remembering a ginger headed player ? Higgins, an inside forward , I think, who I used to see working on the Council bin lorries. Any ideas as to his first name?

Push higgins maybe?  Think he played for hibs.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

1 hour ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

A guy called Hugh Higgins played 4 games in 1959?

2 hours ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

All good servants of the club and a good list to put together, players that put in a shift wearing the jersey.

Would highlight Stuart Wheatley a big favourite of mine. Good solid defender with close control and could pick a pass. Remember he had a  terrific shot in him and was good for the occasional goal. Thought Wheatley - Kennedy ( John ) and Fowler had great potential as a half back line. With the potential as the new Markie-Miller-Gibson line up. But George Miller broke them up- ah well we will never know and another what if !

86-85 - 126 Appearances

Doug Baillie: 1964-1969. 7 goals. Colossal central defender. I got a shock many years later to be told he was actually a player as I only knew him as a sportswriter.

Myles Hogarth: 1999-2002. Keeper. Again, I largely missed him as I was out the country at the time. Never really impressed me though. Became famous in the tabloids a few years ago...

13 hours ago, Hank von Hell said:

I remember having an argument with Stuart Kennedy  about the match in The Woodside when he was mine host there - he was 100% backing Aberdeen & sticking up for their conduct which surprised me a bit seeing as he is a local lad who also has played for us.  

Regarding your Stuart Kennedy comment. Have yet to meet an ex Aberdeen player that Fergie managed that has not backed him to the hilt. Even after being confronted with indisputable examples of what they got up to. Been at a few football nights and asked about it in the Q & A sessions and just like Kennedy defended it. It's that siege mentality he indoctrinated into his teams I suppose. 

Not helped by their fans that cheered, hollered and encouraged  their antics. Oh how they loved it. Spitting on an opposition player - cheer. Punching / Kicking a player off the ball - cheer. Always done on a nod from a team mate when they saw the referee and linesman was not looking. Then move to be in an officials eyeline hoping for a reaction.

In that 3 -3 game when Connor got sent off for spitting on Manley they got it badly wrong and took place only a few feet away from the lineman who saw the whole thing . He had no choice with spittle on Manley's face and jersey. 

Scum of the earth the lot of them !

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

All good servants of the club and a good list to put together, players that put in a shift wearing the jersey.

Would highlight Stuart Wheatley a big favourite of mine. Good solid defender with close control and could pick a pass. Remember he had a  terrific shot in him and was good for the occasional goal. Thought Wheatley - Kennedy ( John ) and Fowler had great potential as a half back line. With the potential as the new Markie-Miller-Gibson line up. But George Miller broke them up- ah well we will never know and another what if !

Jim Fowler chucked the game after that, and all because Miller wouldn't let him move to Dundee Utd. He had great potential IMO.

No takers for Baillie or Hogarth? OK then
84 - 127 Appearances
Gary Thompson: 1978-1983. Portly combative midfielder. 18 goals. Sadly was killed in an accident on a building site a few years ago.

Very aggressive wee player.
Remember him getting sent off against us for Alloa, looked like he wanted a square go with everyone in the ground!

From Grangemouth I think but was never a Falkirk “fan” as such.
Read one or two articles over the years where he comes across as pretty ambivalent towards the club.

On 28/04/2020 at 11:49, HopeStreetWalker said:

8th October 1986. The most disgraceful display by individuals I have ever seen on a pitch. They were not footballers they were cheats.

Everything nasty about the game they had in abundance - spitting - punching/kicking off the ball - simulating injury - diving - claiming for everything - pressurising referee in groups that switched round every 10 minutes. Not off the cuff stuff it was too co ordinated and could only have come from the training ground.

It was the nearest I have ever seen Brockville having a riot.

Did not like that mob anyway but after that game I made a solemn oath to myself. That I would loath and despise that football club with all my passion for the rest of my life. It is with great pride that I abide by it to this day.

Ah, memories - I was there.

http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=3769&season=1986-87&squad=Senior

Remember being thankful to escape with a point and also Davie Dodds getting utter pelters from the away support all night for being utter shite.

The last time I was at Brockville was this utter snoozefest in '92 - http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=4057&Season=1992-93

Cannae believe we celebrated a Roy Aitken goal!!

Edited by Junior Pub League

3 minutes ago, Junior Pub League said:

Ah, memories - I was there.

http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=3769&season=1986-87&squad=Senior

Remember being thankful to escape with a point and also Davie Dodds getting utter pelters from the away support all night for being utter shite.

Any comments on your team's behaviour or the blatant bias of the referee?

Just now, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Any comments on your team's behaviour or the blatant bias of the referee?

It was 34 years ago, the referee did have a mare but anything beyond that is just bitterness from a small team who fucked their chance of beating one of the countries powerhouses (and Davie Dodds) ;)