The Falkirk FC Thread

2 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Abiding memory of Fergie was the Falkirk V Glasgow Rangers game just a few days before the Ibrox disaster.

Was in the enclosure beside the Rangers dugout when Fergie scored. Waddell and Wallace were sitting with faces like thunder incandescent with rage.  The goal was scored at the railway end and Fergie ran right across to their dugout. Hold the elbow and swings the arm in the ' get it up you gesture ' and said - How's that for a f***ing reject then. 

It was a great xmas present beating them - but I have often though of the poor souls at that game, and I could well have stood beside them. That sadly lost their lives at Ibrox days later.

The disaster was the following day. We played on the 1st and the Old Firm game was on the 2nd.

There were loads of instances in those days when multiple games for teams were played within a few days/weeks to get fixtures finished. One of the arguments against playing out the season now is that we couldn't possibly play eight games in a short space of time, would be too much for the players. Poor souls. 

I'm not suggesting that this should be done incidentally, can't be currently due to the virus, just acknowledging that this was an issue for some.

Just now, HopeStreetWalker said:

Thanks for that. You are indeed a font of knowledge ! stay safe.

And yourself!

I've always kept stats since I was a lad and thankfully there's great resources around these days. *tips hat to Michael White and Andrew Hulett

10 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

And yourself!

I've always kept stats since I was a lad and thankfully there's great resources around these days. *tips hat to Michael White and Andrew Hulett

You should do a run down of Hope Street Wafflers top 50 telts next.

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Think it was Archie Knox in the dugout, but get your point. They have been like that for as long as I can remember. They are the only club that every other teams supporter cheers when a goal is scored against them. Everything nasty in the game neatly packaged into one club.

To make my point they were even worse than Hearts at cheating - and that is saying something !

Wiki has Ferguson joining Man United the next month. Maybe he was on gardening leave.

Just your description of mob haranguing of the ref & switching aggressors around the team was an omnipresent feature of his Man U teams.  

11 minutes ago, Hank von Hell said:

Wiki has Ferguson joining Man United the next month. Maybe he was on gardening leave.

Just your description of mob haranguing of the ref & switching aggressors around the team was an omnipresent feature of his Man U teams.  

He was not at the game that night. Think that was the most angry I have ever been at a game. Remember standing in the mob behind the stand baying for blood. Heard stories of the team bus getting car loads of Falkirk fans haranguing them as they drove out of town with every police car for miles summoned to escort them out of Dodge.

As I have said in the past. Will cheer on any team that plays them and that includes Rangers and Celtic ! Now that's what you call nursing your wrath to keep it warm !

You make a good point about his Man United teams with their antics refined at his time at Aberdeen.

Loving all these nostalgic posts! I was only 10 but remember that 3-3 Aberdeen game well - was as livid as a kid could get and remember the atmosphere being absolutely toxic!

Brockville was amazing but never enjoyed playing Celtic or Rangers as it was like a home game for them in the 80s with little segregation - that's one thing I prefer about TFS!

1 hour ago, Bula Bairn said:

Loving all these nostalgic posts! I was only 10 but remember that 3-3 Aberdeen game well - was as livid as a kid could get and remember the atmosphere being absolutely toxic!

Brockville was amazing but never enjoyed playing Celtic or Rangers as it was like a home game for them in the 80s with little segregation - that's one thing I prefer about TFS!

From a game not too long before we left Brockville, and this it totally true; we were playing the blue cheek and, due to strict segregation, there weren't too many of the fuckers around us (or so we thought.)

As the game progressed they were, as usual, getting most decisions in their favour.  When the ref eventually blew for us I shouted 'Oh hello!' and around 30 or 40 of them around us started  'hello, hello, we are the...' You can guess the rest.

26 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

From a game not too long before we left Brockville, and this it totally true; we were playing the blue cheek and, due to strict segregation, there weren't too many of the fuckers around us (or so we thought.)

As the game progressed they were, as usual, getting most decisions in their favour.  When the ref eventually blew for us I shouted 'Oh hello!' and around 30 or 40 of them around us started  'hello, hello, we are the...' You can guess the rest.

Funniest one i can recall against Rangers at Brockville when Gazza was playing for them auld boy stood behind me shouting "cmon Falkirk lets get into this shite and you doon the front wi the Gazza haircut dont think you huvnae been clocked"  police escorted him round to the away end shortly after it.

1 hour ago, ShaggerG said:

So many great memories. But one that was so emotional was when Willie Cunningham turned down the Scotland job.

Heard it on the radio coming home from work. Had been miserable all day waiting for the bad news about him becoming Scotland manager. Then the announcement he was staying I was near to tears of joy. We were playing Hibs that night in a midweek match and the place was packed was glad I went early.

Was in my usual place with my mates at the Watson Street end terracing level with the 6 yard box one crush barrier in. You could hardly move in the place with about 40 minutes to kick off. The chanting started for Cunningham to show himself and he finally came out about 20 minutes before kick off. Bedlam, the noise the cheering, the whole stand on their feet. It was magnificent display of unified joy and relief, the noise reverberated and echoed around that old Stadium.

Hibs never stood a chance that night and they knew it. Falkirk played like men processed and outclassed a very good Hibs team in every department.

13 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

So many great memories. But one that was so emotional was when Willie Cunningham turned down the Scotland job.

Heard it on the radio coming home from work. Had been miserable all day waiting for the bad news about him becoming Scotland manager. Then the announcement he was staying I was near to tears of joy. We were playing Hibs that night in a midweek match and the place was packed was glad I went early.

Was in my usual place with my mates at the Watson Street end terracing level with the 6 yard box one crush barrier in. You could hardly move in the place with about 40 minutes to kick off. The chanting started for Cunningham to show himself and he finally came out about 20 minutes before kick off. Bedlam, the noise the cheering, the whole stand on their feet. It was magnificent display of unified joy and relief, the noise reverberated and echoed around that old Stadium.

Hibs never stood a chance that night and they knew it. Falkirk played like men processed and outclassed a very good Hibs team in every department.

Remember it well and the feeling of joy that he decided to stay. Great goal from Tam Young that night to kill off the Hibees. That was the round after we had put Aberdeen out 3-1

We beat them 6-1 in a league game at FP in December '69. Fergie did indeed get a hat trick.
(68/69 Stirlingshire Cup we lost 1-3 to ES in round 1)
Fergie didn't debut with us until November 69, as I said previously HSW.

Good stuff. I wasn’t too far off the mark. I guess the stat that probably isn’t recorded anywhere is the disallowed hat trick.

28 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

29 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

What were you doing in beside the Hibs fans? :unsure2:

5 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

We beat them 6-1 in a league game at FP in December '69. Fergie did indeed get a hat trick.

(68/69 Stirlingshire Cup we lost 1-3 to ES in round 1)

Fergie didn't debut with us until November 69, as I said previously HSW.

I seem to remember him signing around the time we had a Dewar shield match against Dundee (I think). I`m sure he played that night.

22 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

Alan Irvine and big Crawford Baptie on the park at the same time made for some spectacular moments. Think they both played in the 6-4 game against Forfar.

I have a memory of being at games with my Papa and us beating Forfar 6-4 and losing to Clyde 6-4 in consecutive games at at Brockville.

Did this really happen ?

34 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I have a memory of being at games with my Papa and us beating Forfar 6-4 and losing to Clyde 6-4 in consecutive games at at Brockville.

Did this really happen ?

Looks like that would be 84-85 or 85-86 with those two together. In 1984, Round 11 was vs Forfar, 4-6 and Round 13 was vs Hamilton, 6-4. Not what you remember, but the scores match, IDK.

Just now, TxRover said:

Looks like that would be 84-85 or 85-86 with those two together. In 1984, Round 11 was vs Forfar, 4-6 and Round 13 was vs Hamilton, 6-4. Not what you remember, but the scores match, IDK.

Cheers mate. That must have been it then. I mind of being at the away match in between so that might have been Clyde ??