What Was The Last Movie You Watched?

Rugster

Best Laid Plans

A film very loosely based on Of Mice And Men. Steven Graham plays a down on his luck hustler who owes a local gangster £10,000 and the only way he can repay it is to persuade a man he cares for who has learning dificulties to fight in illegal cagefights. On paper it sounds shit but the acting is fantastic and when you get deeper into the relationship between Steven Grahams character (Danny) and his friend (Joseph) it becomes alot more than your usual gangster caper. A very enjoyable film if not quite unsettling at times.

8/10

Season of the Witch

Basically a medievil roadtrip/buddy flik for messers Cage and Pearlman, much better without their comic interaction I reckon.

Two returning Crusaders are forced into escorting a witch to a monestary for trial.

Enjoyable tosh tho wouldnt hurry to watch again.

6/10

Due Date (2010)

Two guys (The Hangover's Zach Galifianikis and Robert Downey Jr) travel cross country after being kicked off their flight to try and get back to Los Angeles in time for Downey Jr's child's birth.

It had a few funny moments, but really was missing what made the Hangover great.

5/10

Watched Layer Cake on Channel 5 last night. First time I'd seen it. Was a pretty decent watch but some bits confused me quite a bit. Decent enough performances all round. Gambon was great in it.

7/10.

Watched The Woman in black last night

Not a complete waste of time, jumpy in parts & Daniel Radcliffe did okay, but your still expecting him to pull a wand from his back pocket & kaazam those pesky ghosts away.

Harry potter plays a lawyer coping with being a single parent after the death of his wife during childbirth. Sent to a remote village by his firm to sort out the estate of a deceased woman. The village community want him away as soon as he arrives in order to cover up a dark secret.

6.9/10

Watched 'The Acid House ' again last night..........so many classic lines in it, only slight drawback is that no one south of galashiels will either understand the humour or the accents....but hey f**k it......

"I want a real man boab coyle, a sexy man, a man who can make love tae lassie, no just some fat b*****d who sits on his arse drinking pints o' lager and talking aboot the fitba wi his mates....."

Watched 'The Acid House ' again last night..........so many classic lines in it, only slight drawback is that no one south of galashiels will either understand the humour or the accents....but hey f**k it......

"I want a real man boab coyle, a sexy man, a man who can make love tae lassie, no just some fat b*****d who sits on his arse drinking pints o' lager and talking aboot the fitba wi his mates....."

Some crazy scores there, season of the witch with a 6 and 2012 with a 6.5?

? Season of the Witch was more than watchable, would have been higher bar the comic asides.

Flashback?

You're having a laugh, it's a terrible film. Nicolas Cage is awful throughout and the special effects and editing are really poorly done and look cheap. The "twist" at the end is so poor it's just insulting, given that you've persevered with the ridiculous story only for it all to be thrown out the window.

It's more a 2 than a 6 and that's for Perlman and the costumes.

Far far far more watchable than Immortals, hence a 6 imo. Ie avera.ge

And I would DEFO be more likely to watch at some point in the future as opposed to say Hangover 2 which some folk w**k over :blink:, now thats pap.

Edit to say and I detest Cage bar Raising Arizona, shoite over-rated actor!

Edited by wunfellaff

Edit to say and I detest Cage bar Raising Arizona, shoite over-rated actor!

Nobody rates Cage now, he's just a parody of himself. But he was magnificent in Leaving Las Vegas. Did he get an Oscar for it?

Not sure as I switch off at his name, same as Jim Carey, tho as proved by Obama getting a Grammy, awards dont mean shit.

I agree. Whether he did or not, i think it was a terrific performance.

Yes.

When he plays to his strengths of being wacky and weird Nicolas Cage gives excellent performances. On top form in Wild At Heart, may I add.

Burn After Reading

What an excellent film this is. John Malkovich, Brad Pitt and George Clooney are all absolutely fantastic in this. Helped out immensely by Frances McDormand and Tilda Swinton. Even a wee cameo from the guy who plays Dale in the Walking Dead and a minor role from JK Simmons who is also fantastic. Basic story is that Malkovich is a CIA operative who gets sort of fucked about at the start and quits. McDormand and Pitt find a disc which they think is CIA information and attempt to blackmail Malkovich for money and shit hits the fan. Swinton and Clooney fit in elsewhere.

It's a funny and really entertaining, another great flick from the Coen Brothers.

8/10

Yes.

When he plays to his strengths of being wacky and weird Nicolas Cage gives excellent performances. On top form in Wild At Heart, may I add.

He was excellent in Adaption and Leaving Las Vegas , OK in Kick Ass and Raising Arizona.

It's just the shite like National Treasure, The Sorcerer's Apprentice and Ghost Rider that make me want to avoid his films like the plague.