The Alloa Athletic Thread

9 hours ago, LeodhasXD said:

Today was a bumper attendance but it does hurt the number of people attending the football. Some parents especially don't want their kids to be around that atmosphere and you can understand that.

Indeed. 

11 hours ago, tamthebam said:

The club might have charged you to leave early as a fundraiser! 

Agreed but I suspect the "cherubs" are not the bravest and would stick to just taunting Falkirk neds before rapidly scattering if remotely challenged

Some of them, maybe, but there are some which are well up for trouble.

10 hours ago, LeodhasXD said:

Today was a bumper attendance but it does hurt the number of people attending the football. Some parents especially don't want their kids to be around that atmosphere and you can understand that.

image.gif.271d78ba8a8f5c67bffb9df46c1063f0.gif

28 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

How many "angry wee neds" were there?

Enough to employ 6-7 police. The angry wee neds are at our end too - the Edinburgh kids getting hit the other week are enough to give a parent a second thought about letting them go to the football. I know for a fact that was the case this week.

Was speaking to a young guy (sorry don't know his name) during the second half yesterday and it hadn't been that long ago that he had been the same age as our current ned pavement dancers.

Anyway, sound guy who I am sure used to partake in banter with opposition fans but genuinely gives a f**k about the team and is a genuine Alloa supporter, something that is not true about the current mob of idiots.

Edited by Magic Hat

It's embarrassing all the young kids kitted out in their stone island and balaclavas trying to act hard. Ours seem to range from around 9 to 13-14 at a push. They kept running back and forth to the gate from behind the goal. Someone will end up badly hurt or even dead if it keeps carrying on.

Not sure what clubs can do to combat it, can refuse entry to known faces and kick people out. We can't rely on having a strong police presence every week. Although realistically, 6/7 police weren't going to do much if it kicked off and a bunch of Falkirk fans ran away up Hawkhill whilst being escorted by the police.

When I was that age and going to the Recs with pals, you used to be able to walk all round the ground and the supporters swapped ends at half time. From grounds I've been to recently, it's only been Kelty that didn't have fans separated.

1 hour ago, Rory said:

It's embarrassing all the young kids kitted out in their stone island and balaclavas trying to act hard. Ours seem to range from around 9 to 13-14 at a push. They kept running back and forth to the gate from behind the goal. Someone will end up badly hurt or even dead if it keeps carrying on.

Not sure what clubs can do to combat it, can refuse entry to known faces and kick people out. We can't rely on having a strong police presence every week. Although realistically, 6/7 police weren't going to do much if it kicked off and a bunch of Falkirk fans ran away up Hawkhill whilst being escorted by the police.

When I was that age and going to the Recs with pals, you used to be able to walk all round the ground and the supporters swapped ends at half time. From grounds I've been to recently, it's only been Kelty that didn't have fans separated.

Why were they running back and forward to the gate?

I received a wee message today from footysab - a Japanese football fan who sponsored Steven Boyd, and George Stanger in the past few years. Gave us his review of Celtic's Japanese players for the programme against Celtic too.

He's traveling from Japan to Scotland next month to see his fellow Japanese Yutaro Oda at Hearts and wants to come to our game on Tuesday night against Annan!

5 hours ago, LeodhasXD said:

I received a wee message today from footysab - a Japanese football fan who sponsored Steven Boyd, and George Stanger in the past few years. Gave us his review of Celtic's Japanese players for the programme against Celtic too.

He's traveling from Japan to Scotland next month to see his fellow Japanese Yutaro Oda at Hearts and wants to come to our game on Tuesday night against Annan!

Thank f**k he wasn't in town on Saturday.

On 27/01/2024 at 20:23, Willie Gut said:

Our wee nyaffs were escorted from the ground today long before kick-off. Good plan, but the problem arises later when the big gates are opened and the wee buggers can sneak back in.  So the idea was to keep all the exits closed and just use the small door by the pie hut..  First time I've ever had to queue to leave a game. Don't know what they did at the other side with 1400 Falkirk fans who had all stayed right to the end.  Could have caused a bad incident if someone had fallen.  Back to the drawing board as that idea on top of a good 5-0 rodgering left many going home to kick the dog.

The big exit gates were open for us as usual when leaving the terrace. Looked like the ones at the far end were open as well. Doubt there would have been any trouble anyway as our ultras lads are a well spoken and impeccably behaved lot

I wouldn't be too disheartened re the match. That first 45 minutes was a better game than any side has given us in ages. Reckon Alloa will make the play offs, maybe even 3rd if Hartley's arse continues to collapse 

With Deveney out long term, wonder if we'll try and get a left back in on loan, especially given Cammy's injury history? 

Suppose we might see Debayo as a back up left back but he's just coming back to fitness too

1 hour ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

I wouldn't be too disheartened re the match. That first 45 minutes was a better game than any side has given us in ages. Reckon Alloa will make the play offs, maybe even 3rd if Hartley's arse continues to collapse 

This was pretty much my take. The first half was really good and we shouldn't have come in behind. That said, the second half wasn't near good enough and for all Falkirk were really impressive, we made it too easy for them and it did look like the heads went down. I was (again) really impressed by the way Andy spoke afterwards about that and taking positives but also needing to learn about what went wrong, and the importance of responding well next week.

Overall we're in a good place and with the squad getting stronger as injured players return. But after the second half on Saturday Annan is a big match - we really need to bounce back. 

Agree with @Vegetableman too, I did wonder about Calum Crane when Edinburgh City's problems emerged. Perhaps it wasn't possible at that point with the size of the squad but he would have been a good addition. 

Edited by Waspie

On 28/01/2024 at 14:09, Rory said:

I was in Asda Alloa at about 1730 on Saturday and it all kicked off at the Train Station. Not sure if there were any arrests or anything like that but there were certainly a couple of police cars and the Asda Security ran up to get involved in the action as all the youngsters dressed in black started doing whatever they were doing.

All just  a little bit embarrassing really, same with our ultras and their antics. 

8 hours ago, Rory said:

With Deveney out long term, wonder if we'll try and get a left back in on loan, especially given Cammy's injury history? 

Suppose we might see Debayo as a back up left back but he's just coming back to fitness too

Thought of this when talking to my mate on Saturday. Think Cammy puts his heart out for the team but not sure if playing LB is the best for him and the team. Think as you say Debayo is just coming back into fitness. Think for Saturdays game would be good to maybe see Jon Robertson get a run out, played at LB previously at times and slotted in on Saturday. But for a transfer point of view if Luke Strachan hadn't went on loan to Brechin from Cove, I think we could of certainly been in for him but I think we could possibly look in the market for a LB. 

9 hours ago, Magic Hat said:

Whilst I agree we probably need a left back, our central defence is another major weakness in the team so wouldn't be against us signing someone for that position.

we miss David Devine  IMO ,  hopefully he is not too far away from fitness .