Heart of Midlothian 2014-

Why is going down such a big deal for Hearts anyway?
Most likely you'll have a pretty enjoyable season as you comfortably win the league, playing teams you don't usually play and visiting grounds many fans may not have been to in years, not to mention the different towns and pubs you'll experience, all whilst most likely winning most weeks and probably scoring a good few goals. 
You'll get a nice wee title party in front of a big crowd as well.
A wee break from the same old monotony before resuming it is hardly the worse thing in the world? You'll barely bother about it in a few years and just see it as a blip.
I said that when we went down....

4 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

Added to this, they'll also gain a siege mentality due to the 'injustice' and have a better atmosphere than normal most weeks.

Yes, that's the bit I have trouble with.  If my team were in a comparable situation, would I rather that they 'got away with one' through not being relegated, learn nothing & possibly continue in poor form in the Premiership or; take the relegation, become lean & hungry, climb the league fuelled by a perceived injustice & wreak revenge in the Premiership when they return the following season? 

5 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Why is going down such a big deal for Hearts anyway?

Most likely you'll have a pretty enjoyable season as you comfortably win the league, playing teams you don't usually play and visiting grounds many fans may not have been to in years, not to mention the different towns and pubs you'll experience, all whilst most likely winning most weeks and probably scoring a good few goals. 

You'll get a nice wee title party in front of a big crowd as well.

A wee break from the same old monotony before resuming it is hardly the worse thing in the world? You'll barely bother about it in a few years and just see it as a blip.

5 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

Added to this, they'll also gain a siege mentality due to the 'injustice' and have a better atmosphere than normal most weeks.

15 minutes ago, Golden Gordon said:

Yes, that's the bit I have trouble with.  If my team were in a comparable situation, would I rather that they 'got away with one' through not being relegated, learn nothing & possibly continue in poor form in the Premiership or; take the relegation, become lean & hungry, climb the league fuelled by a perceived injustice & wreak revenge in the Premiership when they return the following season? 

There's something in all of these posts but, on the other hand, there's also the fact that getting relegated is very, very embarrassing.

5 hours ago, TonyFerrino said:

They define themselves by beating Hibs and being the 'big' team - see Levein and his natural order pish.  Can't really be the big team in a lower league but.  

Likely next season you’ll have a bang average to shite season & square it away wi the yams are in the champ.  

20 minutes ago, DC92 said:

There's something in all of these posts but, on the other hand, there's also the fact that getting relegated is very, very embarrassing.

Meh, seen it plenty of times 

6 minutes ago, Gorgie greatness said:

Likely next season you’ll have a bang average to shite season & square it away wi the yams are in the champ.  

I support Hibs.  I don't suppose you've noticed, but bang average seasons are pretty much what we do.

But, I can't see our next adventure to the Championship being for a wee while yet.  That's a new special relationship for Hearts.  

4 minutes ago, TonyFerrino said:

I support Hibs.  I don't suppose you've noticed, but bang average seasons are pretty much what we do.

But, I can't see our next adventure to the Championship being for a wee while yet.  That's a new special relationship for Hearts.  

Your special relationship lasted 3 seasons!

Shree 

1 minute ago, Gorgie greatness said:

Your special relationship lasted 3 seasons!

Shree 

And resulted in the Scottish Cup.  Cheers Robbie - another one to fall on his sword for losing to Hibs, but out of all of them that has to be the sairest.

The sairest anniversary falls in precisely 2 days time 😏

Oh aye, when you ended Hibs as a club presumably.  Sair as it was at the time we've since won the thing, built a bigger stadium than youse and sit in the league above you, all without the need for some daftie with more money than sense propping us up.  

Aye, ended right enough.  As your relegation will be probably be getting announced tomorrow you can watch the DVD to take the sting oot of it.  

6 minutes ago, TonyFerrino said:

Oh aye, when you ended Hibs as a club presumably.  Sair as it was at the time we've since won the thing, built a bigger stadium than youse and sit in the league above you, all without the need for some daftie with more money than sense propping us up.  

Aye, ended right enough.  As your relegation will be probably be getting announced tomorrow you can watch the DVD to take the sting oot of it.  

I never said ended at any point in time yet you mention it twice, it was a good day but nothing like 98 which shall always be my favourite. 

Could have done wi a deck o cards for the last 40 mins mind 🤭

I never said ended at any point in time yet you mention it twice, it was a good day but nothing like 98 which shall always be my favourite. 

Could have done wi a deck o cards for the last 40 mins mind 🤭

To be fair mate you didn't.  Plenty other Jambos trot that line out though, which is clearly a nonsense because if I recall correctly the **** did youse 5-1 in a final not long before 98.  

Not our finest hour, that's for sure.  Would have been a different result had Black had been sent off for his forearm smash on Griffiths in the first few minutes.  Hardly likely to have happened with Thompson refereeing but.  That's football though.

To be fair mate you didn't.  Plenty other Jambos trot that line out though, which is clearly a nonsense because if I recall correctly the **** did youse 5-1 in a final not long before 98.  
Not our finest hour, that's for sure.  Would have been a different result had Black had been sent off for his forearm smash on Griffiths in the first few minutes.  Hardly likely to have happened with Thompson refereeing but.  That's football though.

Forearm smash? It was a strong but fair challenge as I recall [emoji4]

6 minutes ago, NJ2 said:

Forearm smash? It was a strong but fair challenge as I recall emoji4.png

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NnyKGHNNnyKGHNT7lE

Final angle shows a strong challenge.  Whether it is fair obviously depends on your persuasion.  Ordinarily an elbow / forearm in the face of another player is considered to be bad sport.  

Such is life.  

NnyKGHNT7lE
Final angle shows a strong challenge.  Whether it is fair obviously depends on your persuasion.  Ordinarily an elbow / forearm in the face of another player is considered to be bad sport.  
Such is life.  

Thanks for posting that, beautiful [emoji7]

4 hours ago, Gorgie greatness said:

The sairest anniversary falls in precisely 2 days time 😏

Yet all you'll be able to think about is the fact that Hibs were the last Edinburgh team to win the Scottish Cup and the League Cup. 

But at least Hearts can say they were the last "big team" in Edinburgh to be relegated. 

PowttJS.gif