People You Dislike For No Proper Reason

15 hours ago, sophia said:

This chap on the radio has just the one cheerful setting and it's eleven

Lochaber_Festival_600x3001.png

This reminds me of Suzanne Allan when she's on Reporting Scotland.  She could be telling a story about a kid being run over and killed at a protest over the closure of a steel plant leading to 2000 job losses, and still say it in her usual chirpy fashion.

Just realised from watching Chris Sutton and Crocker pronouncing Kieron Bowie's name wrong, that I've never heard anyone outwith Scottish people say "Bowie" correctly.

All thanks to that fud David Bowie. If you're going to pick a random Scottish name as your stage name, at least know how to pronounce it properly dickhead. Cultural appropriation imo

21 hours ago, Jives Miguel said:

Just realised from watching Chris Sutton and Crocker pronouncing Kieron Bowie's name wrong, that I've never heard anyone outwith Scottish people say "Bowie" correctly.

All thanks to that fud David Bowie. If you're going to pick a random Scottish name as your stage name, at least know how to pronounce it properly dickhead. Cultural appropriation imo

I would the "bow" as in "to bend your head or body forward, especially as a way of showing someone respect or expressing thanks to people"

Is this correct?

11 minutes ago, Steve_Wilkos said:

I would the "bow" as in "to bend your head or body forward, especially as a way of showing someone respect or expressing thanks to people"

Is this correct?

Yes, bow rhyming with how is the correct Scottish pronunciation.

The b*****dised version that David Bowie caused is bow rhyming with no, or who.

2 hours ago, Jives Miguel said:

If yon wee cheeky chappie from The Monkees hadn't popped up, David Bowie would never have existed.

2 hours ago, Jives Miguel said:

Isn't it derived from Scots gaelic buidhe for yellow?

That would make it more like boo-yeh.

1 minute ago, Jives Miguel said:

Can't say I know the ettymology, but surely the name that makes most sense for that is Buie?

Or Bowie being pronounced boo-ee.

Been discussed before but Gaelic being anglisised and b*****dised gives rise to silly names like MacKenzie.

Just now, Loonytoons said:

Or Bowie being pronounced boo-ee.

Been discussed before but Gaelic being anglisised and b*****dised gives rise to silly names like MacKenzie.

b*****dised being a perfectly legitimate word getting censored. 

For f**k sake.