Tartan Army - Good Guys or Wanks?

Tartan Army  

254 members have voted

Good guys for me. I enjoy Scotland games and always put my country before my club, but I'd never call myself a member of the "Tartan Army" instead of just saying I'm a Scotland fan. I enjoy the sing songs and meeting new people from all over the country but there are those who take it waaaay to seriously and come across as complete wanks in the process. If I'd bothered to buy a wee badge from every game I've been at id have a pretty majestic looking hat/scarf, but as I've no desire to clink about covered in metal and prefer to just wear the most recent top,jeans and trainers, TA wanks always assume your some sort of day tripper. Constant name dropping of places they've been to and how drunk they were gets tiresome pretty easily. And the old woman in the tartan skirts and thigh high boots are a total cringe 99.9% of the time. Also, the flashing is uncalled for and genuinely creepy.

Wait, why did I tick good guys again?

No problem with people supporting their country of course, but it's the contrived / whacky / "look at us, aren't we amazing" angle that gets my goat.

Anyone read this book "Tales Of The Tartan Army"? I read the first two sentences of the description and already it made me feel angry: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1840181176?pc_redir=1411951873&robot_redir=1

On the whole decent guys who give the team great backing abroad. Not really a fan of the hats, but when you look at supporters at most major national games a lot of them play up the stereotypical national dress - the Scandinavians have viking helmets, the Dutch do clogs etc. The English just rock up in an EDL hoodie.

The Tartan Army seems to lack ethnic diversity, tbf ;)

Not there fault Asian Scots would rather play cricket,we would welcome them into the game if they were good enough

Be better for us if they adopted the game like the African French did guys like Zidane had Algerian links

I'm glad the nasty side of the 'tartan army' has been highlighted here. They really can be an odious bunch of cretins when it suits them.

I was at the game in the late 1990's when Gary McAllister was boo'd for missing a penalty FFS. He rightly retired from international football right away. He then went on to play at the highest level in England for years, becoming a key part of the successful Liverpool side in the early 2000's.

Nose bit off to spite face indeed.

I'm glad the nasty side of the 'tartan army' has been highlighted here. They really can be an odious bunch of cretins when it suits them.

I was at the game in the late 1990's when Gary McAllister was boo'd for missing a penalty FFS. He rightly retired from international football right away. He then went on to play at the highest level in England for years, becoming a key part of the successful Liverpool side in the early 2000's.

Nose bit off to spite face indeed.

W T F what nasty side the fact that at every away game they donate to a charity?

Or the fact in the last two finals they won the best fans awards?

Aye must be pure scum then right?

Maybe we should model our self on England fans

As they seem to be more loved round the world aye right bolt ya rocket

Kilts with leggings seem to be the new craze. Couple of guys in Brel just nor wearing them. Not a good look.

"See, I want to respect my countries 'history' at the Scoatland gemme, but it's fuckin' chankin' so I'll pop a pair uv the Missus' leggings on. Jobs a good 'un"

Not there fault Asian Scots would rather play cricket,we would welcome them into the game if they were good enough

Be better for us if they adopted the game like the African French did guys like Zidane had Algerian links

tumblr_inline_mu1z9wSuZi1r8ayy5.gif

No problem with people supporting their country of course, but it's the contrived / whacky / "look at us, aren't we amazing" angle that gets my goat.

Anyone read this book "Tales Of The Tartan Army"? I read the first two sentences of the description and already it made me feel angry: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1840181176?pc_redir=1411951873&robot_redir=1

While there's a lot of cringe around the Tartan Army, I'll take hours on end of contrived / whacky / "look at us, aren't we amazing" guff over five minutes of the kind of "Boo hoo hoo, ye cannae sing the anthem because we didnae vote for independence" pish we've been getting in the last couple of days.

I haven't been to an away Scotland game since the 90's, maybe it's different there, but i doubt it.

At the home games I've been to though, it seems that there are large swathes of day tripping teuchtars who are on their big day out in Glasgow. They don't seem to have much grasp of football and seem intent on getting tanked up and singing about how much they hate England.

Wanks.

Spot on.

I had a few prized wankers in front of me today. I was at the front of the Copland Rear, and stewards had decided not to even bother preventing people from standing at the front of the tier and blocking people's (my) view. By asking them kindly to move their fat arses out of the road apparently I had 'never been to any of the guid old fashioned grounds' where getting in people's way was the norm. One of the mouthbreathers started talking to me about how he was a Morton fan and how he was coach of the Morton girl's under 15 team and how he had turned them into a bunch of cloggers. 'That's what the game's missing these days' apparently. I'm fairly confident that it may well have been Tontrooper actually.

Edited by Firhill Road

Standing seemed to be the norm in the entire Copland Road end, and sections of Govan Rear. I didn't mind it personally, but I can see why people would be pissed off with it.

It wasn't the standing (I was standing myself at my allocated seat), more the fact they were right at the front of the tier and stewards made no attempt at all to escort them either to their seats, or out of the stadium. I imagine I was one of the few affected by it though as I was at the end of row B and in a pretty awkward place. Ended up having to just move up the stairs a bit and find a vacant seat, which was more to avoid Tontrooper's shite chat than anything else though.

Canna wait to get my 1st drink of the day, meet up with my mates, have a sing song and dance on the bus to Glasgow, go on a wee pub crawl, watch a game of football before getting back and going out at night.

What a w****r I am for doing all that eh.....

This threads a heap o shite.

^^^ sobbing uncontrollably

Feel for whatever person/livestock felt the wrath of Poland's comfortable win this evening, which pushes North Britain towards their by now routine failure. Gutted for you.

Likewise there are 100s of thousands who do. :)

Is this representative of other countries? Do the vast majority of football fans in other countries not support their national team? Or is it a Scotland only thing?????

As for 'tiny, cringeworthy, minority'... Just wow. I'd love to see what Morton fans are like.... :lol:

Think I'll just give up on the national team now that you've said that and convinced me....

No offence but I think you're speaking absolute pish and I think it's actually quite embarassing to read. Just my opinion though. I've heard more than enough of yours.

Well erm no, there aren't - Scotland failed to sell out Ibrox today, and have just a 30,000 regular supporters' base. The number of Scottish football fans who don't attend Scottish international matches massively dwarfs your sad footsoldiers Hamish. Which has nothing to do with the fact that a minority of Morton fans are fully aware of that fact within the grand scheme of things, and don't presume the authority of the circle-tossing group that is the Tartan Army. Nor does any domestic club in Scottish football: not even Ayr fans.

Just your utterly tragic group Hamish, and the vast majority of Scottish football fans feel nothing but contempt for you.

Edited by vikingTON