Country Ranking gone from 10th to 23rd in past ten years

tarapoa

The best performing country this week was actually Armenia, who had four clubs in action and posted three wins and a draw.

Of the 31 countries ranked below us, only 2 picked up lower coefficient points than Scotland this week (the majority though had more teams in action).

Significantly; Denmark, Norway and Bulgaria - the three countries directly behind us - all picked up more. If they catch and overtake us, we could be looking at having three clubs start in QR1 of the Europa League (maybe not a bad thing, see above.)

Not a particularly good week. We got 0.5 points for Aberdeen's draw, so 0.125 when divided by our four clubs, which for the uninitiated gives us our final tally. Ideally we want our four clubs to conjure up at least 20 points this season (so 5).

However I watched both games. Both Saints and Dons played within themselves, it wasn't like they were outclassed and we're scratching our heads as to how their teams are better than ours. Two wins next week and it's 2.5 points (0.625), four teams playing the week after to pick up more points, and we can start looking up the coefficient table again.

• Replies 359

23rd in Europe is shit whether you like it or not.

We've been let down by dreadful results in the past, I bet there is some utter diddies placed ahead of Scotland.

Hopefully we can start climbing again, negotiating these early rounds is the tricky part.

Why is 23rd shit? Where should we be and why?

The best performing country this week was actually Armenia, who had four clubs in action and posted three wins and a draw.

Of the 31 countries ranked below us, only 2 picked up lower coefficient points than Scotland this week (the majority though had more teams in action).

Significantly; Denmark, Norway and Bulgaria - the three countries directly behind us - all picked up more. If they catch and overtake us, we could be looking at having three clubs start in QR1 of the Europa League (maybe not a bad thing, see above.)

Not a particularly good week. We got 0.5 points for Aberdeen's draw, so 0.125 when divided by our four clubs, which for the uninitiated gives us our final tally. Ideally we want our four clubs to conjure up at least 20 points this season (so 5).

However I watched both games. Both Saints and Dons played within themselves, it wasn't like they were outclassed and we're scratching our heads as to how their teams are better than ours. Two wins next week and it's 2.5 points (0.625), four teams playing the week after to pick up more points, and we can start looking up the coefficient table again.

In context Armenian teams picked up at total of 0.375 points last season so to get 0.5 more points in 2 nights of football is a big gain for them.

Their champions should get through and id be surprised if one of the other teams did not also get some form of points.

Why is 23rd shit? Where should we be and why?

Population wise were ranked about 26 or 27th by population so we're not doing much better than we should. If we drop a few placed I think we can categorically say we're under performing.

Our “fall” to around the middle of the rankings is hardly unprecedented, we were middling along in the 70s and again in the 90s. The only reasons we haven’t stayed there is due to Ferguson & McLean in the 80s and the exOF spending money they didn’t have in the 2000s.

Unless there’s another Ferguson out there or maybe if King bankrupts Sevco or the rest of Europe reverts to part-time football the best we can expect is the occasional good ‘blip’. Getting back to 2 UCL spots (15th) isn’t beyond us, but it isn’t going to be a permanent thing.

Much as that article was drivel, the point about league coefficients was a fair one. A few seasons ago Celtic had that reasonable CL season, coming secong to Barcelona in their group. Man City came dead last in their group, yet the following season went up a pot in the CL, while Celtic stayed in the same place. Bit unfair.

Its going to take at least 5 seasons to gain 2 Champions League spots again. Each season Scottish clubs would have to bring in 5 coefficient points in order for us to be in the top 15 nations.

But that means all teams will need to win and draw games on a more consistent basis. The years Motherwell played in europe they barely gained any points towards the coefficient.

Celtic and Rangers (RIP) were also guilty of failing to gain enough points over the years. If it hadnt been for the dodgy Polish sub last year for Celtic then the coefficient would have earned roughly 2 points rather than 4. We would have been below Norway and Denmark.

Im hoping St. Johnstone, Aberdeen and ICT get some wins this season. 4 wins earns us 1 point. If these 3 teams can earn us at least 2 points i will be happy. At least it will be a start.

Rather than population, maybe average top flight league attendances could give a better idea where we should stand in terms of club strengths.

In that respect we are eleventh (and that's since the death of the former rangers), so we have dropped from where we should be.

Germany 43014 England 36018 Spain 26626 Italy 22051 France 21864 Netherlands 18620 Belgium 11393 Switzerland 11091 Russia 10901 Portugal 10429 Scotland 8865 Turkey 7989 Poland 7384 Sweden 7132 Denmark 7063 Israel 7027 Norway 6961 Ukraine 6938 Austria 6652 Czech R. 4706 Kazakhstan 3893 Romania 3768 Greece 3415 Cyprus 2852 Croatia 2782 Serbia 2718 Hungary 2486 Bulgaria 2186 Albania 2153 Finland 2046 Slovakia 1961 Belarus 1853 Azerbaijan 1725 Ireland 1559 Bosnia Herzegovina 1517 Macedonia 1164 Slovenia 1039 Northern Ireland 999 Iceland 919 Georgia 750 Lithuania 679 Moldova 623 Armenia 515 Luxemburg 477 Montenegro 473 Faroe Islands 472 Wales 324 Latvia 276 Estonia 255

http://european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn.htm

Rather than population, maybe average top flight league attendances could give a better idea where we should stand in terms of club strengths.

In that respect we are eleventh (and that's since the death of the former rangers), so we have dropped from where we should be.

Germany 43014 England 36018 Spain 26626 Italy 22051 France 21864 Netherlands 18620 Belgium 11393 Switzerland 11091 Russia 10901 Portugal 10429 Scotland 8865 Turkey 7989 Poland 7384 Sweden 7132 Denmark 7063 Israel 7027 Norway 6961 Ukraine 6938 Austria 6652 Czech R. 4706 Kazakhstan 3893 Romania 3768 Greece 3415 Cyprus 2852 Croatia 2782 Serbia 2718 Hungary 2486 Bulgaria 2186 Albania 2153 Finland 2046 Slovakia 1961 Belarus 1853 Azerbaijan 1725 Ireland 1559 Bosnia Herzegovina 1517 Macedonia 1164 Slovenia 1039 Northern Ireland 999 Iceland 919 Georgia 750 Lithuania 679 Moldova 623 Armenia 515 Luxemburg 477 Montenegro 473 Faroe Islands 472 Wales 324 Latvia 276 Estonia 255

http://european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn.htm

While that is a very good argument, TV cash and sponsorship also play a big part.

Look at the turnover next season of Bournemouth who have a ground about the same size as Dens Park and have not had time to expand it over the summer. Their turnover will be bigger than Celtic and Rangers combined due to TV cash.

If Saints beat this team from Armenia on Thursday we are most probably going to play Kiarat from Kazakhstan who are 2-0 up on Red Star Belgrade after the first leg. On the basis of the stats above this should be a win for Saints but its not the 1990's and we certainly will not be signing the captain of Ukraine tomorrow as Kiarat did at the weekend when they signed Anatoliy Tymoshchuk from Zenit St Petersburg

Tymoschuk is 36 now, let's not forget Kairat had Stuart Duff playing for them not so long ago.

In theory Kairat should be the biggest club in that country - from the former capital of the republic, and in the top Soviet league in CCCP days.

Wonderful trip if you get them bar the travel costs, a mere mountain or two away from the Chinese border - I know a couple of lads that were sent with their work to Almaty for a fortnight and loved the place..........

Anyone question of 'where we should be' in the country ranking is always going to be a very complicated one.

You can't just look at any single isolated factor like league format, average attendances, population, wealth of country, TV money, strength-in-depth.

It's a patchwork of all these factors, and not only in your own country but dependant on what is happening elsewhere as well.

You must also accept that for countries like our the effect is cyclical, it's a natural part of the process that we'll go up and down.

Personally I think we should be aiming for the higher teens (e.g. 18th). However little of consequence changes between our current 23rd and 15th.

Well it's not our fault, I blame the rest of you getting papped by complete non entities filled with fishermen and farmers :lol:

Aye, you just spent money you didn't have on 5-year plans to win the Champions' League.

What an angry little man you are :lol:

There's no anger I can assure you.

Just a wry chuckle every time I think of Hearts and their h_uns without the busfares mentality. You'll never be a big club in your own rights until you lose this wee cousins mantra.