When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

2 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

I have no idea what you're talking about, there's not a great deal of coherence about your post. The University of Glasgow released a report in September last year which outlined all of the ways in which the university benefited from the slave trade. James Watt was mentioned, certainly, but the contribution credited to him is much less than several others - most notably the Bellahouston estate.

Mentioned in one way but not the other.

Hopefully, in your empty-headed desire to being, "wholly in favour of an independent Scotland offering a formal apology and some form of repatriation to countries and communities who were impacted by our part in this imperialism" you'll write a letter to Canada:

Dear Moose-humping Maple-syrup consumers

Formal apologies from Scotland for our Fraser Highlanders battering the f**k out of your French pals on the Plains of Abraham in 1759 and then for the same regiment capturing Montreal one year later.  Big soz but it was the fucking unionists who done it.

Yours

The Unionist Deniers of  Independent Scotland

15 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Yes, it really is baffling that a report into the slave trade wouldn't mention James Watt inventing the steam engine.

Piss poor stuff from you.  I let you off lightly with Canada.  Now talk me through "an independent Scotland offering a formal apology and some form of repatriation to countries and communities who were impacted by our part in this imperialism".

How about we name them?
England
Ireland
The US
Australia
New Zealand
France
Belgium
Germany
Italy
Spain
Portugal
India
Saudi
Pakistan
South Africa
Ghana
Nigeria
HK
Singapore

That's just off the top of my head.  Were I to google I could easily double the number of countries on the list.

How the f**k do you plan to cope with what you, in your diddy way, call, 'repatriation ' but those of us who speak English call 'reparation'?

Edited by The_Kincardine

35 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Mentioned in one way but not the other.

Hopefully, in your empty-headed desire to being, "wholly in favour of an independent Scotland offering a formal apology and some form of repatriation to countries and communities who were impacted by our part in this imperialism" you'll write a letter to Canada:

Dear Moose-humping Maple-syrup consumers

Formal apologies from Scotland for our Fraser Highlanders battering the f**k out of your French pals on the Plains of Abraham in 1759 and then for the same regiment capturing Montreal one year later.  Big soz but it was the fucking unionists who done it.

Yours

The Unionist Deniers of  Independent Scotland

Lol...singlehandedly stormin the heights of Abraham. No great bother should they fall an aw that. Can almost hear the tunes of glory.

But agreed......this apologising for stuff that happened hunners of years ago is nonsense.

22 minutes ago, git-intae-thum said:

Lol...singlehandedly stormin the heights of Abraham. No great bother should they fall an aw that. Can almost hear the tunes of glory.

But agreed......this apologising for stuff that happened hunners of years ago is nonsense.

Of course it is.  Also, those who want Scotland to pay 'repatriation' (sic) seriously underestimate Scotland's role in Empire.  

I read this article as well. 
He struck me as some kind of nutcase yoon desperately lashing out because the SNP attracted so many votes. All his paragraphs began with 'Unionists that I spoke to told me that....'
There was also a poorly disguised 'SNP baaaaad'  section where he blabbered on about Nicola Sturgeon celebrating the SNP taking Swinson's seat. 
The guy is a f*cking arse. An SNP hater who tries to use.......cough....'journalism' as an excuse to cover his prejudices.

Yoon strategy at the moment is clearly to try and undermine the legitimacy of the SNP vote.

The problem is though that the votes for the Tories completely contradict their arguments.

They can't say a vote for the Tories was a vote for Brexit and say at the same time that a vote for the SNP wasn't for IndyRef2. This is the one election where it was damn clear what the Tories stood for and what the SNP stood for.

Apparently an unfortunate autocorrect issue on my part is all his argument can boil down to now. It's not hard - we apologise and take responsibility for our past and then identify some gestures which can be made as a token of our sincerity.

Kincardine has pretty much proved my point about how resistant the UK as a whole is to the idea.

27 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Of course it is.  Also, those who want Scotland to pay 'repatriation' (sic) seriously underestimate Scotland's role in Empire.  

Scotland wasn't given a chance for repatriation, the Darien scheme failed because of the English east India company.
The sheep moved in and the highland clearances started.
But the blood-soaked butchers apron was in full swing across the globe.

20 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Scotland wasn't given a chance for repatriation, the Darien scheme failed because of the English east India company.
The sheep moved in and the highland clearances started.
But the blood-soaked butchers apron was in full swing across the globe.

Brilliant
This 'repatriation' shite.  Again
The Butcher's Apron.  Again
The English.  Again.

You neo-Darienists/Scotch aren't coming across well.

Edited by The_Kincardine

1 hour ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

Yoon strategy at the moment is clearly to try and undermine the legitimacy of the SNP vote.

The problem is though that the votes for the Tories completely contradict their arguments.

They can't say a vote for the Tories was a vote for Brexit and say at the same time that a vote for the SNP wasn't for IndyRef2. This is the one election where it was damn clear what the Tories stood for and what the SNP stood for.

Eh? 

In 2014 Scotland voted No to Independence in a vote the SNP pledged, and wrote in their book, was a once in a generation referendum which had a higher turnout than any general election or Scottish election since. In 2016 the UK voted to leave the EU - as with the Scottish Independence referendum turnout was spectacularly high. The Conservative Party are simply following through on the will of the electorate as has been clearly stated. 

There has been no marked change in opinion on either topic. The majority of Scots still would vote to remain in the Union, and the majority of people in the UK would still vote to leave the EU. There is no reason for a 2nd referendum on either topic. 

Utterly consistent. If you want contradiction have a look at the SNP who want Scottish Independence from a parliament where we have 59 seats out of 650 because they feel we don't get enough say in the running of Westminster - and yet having gained "independence" the first thing they would attempt to do is rejoin the EU where we have 6 MEPs in a parliament of 751. 

6 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

Eh? 

In 2014 Scotland voted No to Independence in a vote the SNP pledged, and wrote in their book, was a once in a generation referendum which had a higher turnout than any general election or Scottish election since. In 2016 the UK voted to leave the EU - as with the Scottish Independence referendum turnout was spectacularly high. The Conservative Party are simply following through on the will of the electorate as has been clearly stated. 

There has been no marked change in opinion on either topic. The majority of Scots still would vote to remain in the Union, and the majority of people in the UK would still vote to leave the EU. There is no reason for a 2nd referendum on either topic. 

Utterly consistent. If you want contradiction have a look at the SNP who want Scottish Independence from a parliament where we have 59 seats out of 650 because they feel we don't get enough say in the running of Westminster - and yet having gained "independence" the first thing they would attempt to do is rejoin the EU where we have 6 MEPs in a parliament of 751. 

Really? They wrote "once in a generation" in a book? What was the name of the judge who signed it off and had that statement written into law?

The will of the Scottish electorate is quite clear.
chartoftheday_20293_election_2019_result

That was after all of this shite....

79443204_485395119000385_617518049358407

79979391_485395185667045_194900585197286

79713338_485395125667051_129067027124977

79374307_485395105667053_492799613055113

Which the Scot tories are now pretending never happened.

25 minutes ago, BawWatchin said:

Really? They wrote "once in a generation" in a book? What was the name of the judge who signed it off and had that statement written into law?

The will of the Scottish electorate is quite clear.
chartoftheday_20293_election_2019_result

That was after all of this shite....

79443204_485395119000385_617518049358407

79979391_485395185667045_194900585197286

79713338_485395125667051_129067027124977

79374307_485395105667053_492799613055113

Which the Scot tories are now pretending never happened.

Page 1.

https://www2.gov.scot/resource/0043/00439021.pdf

Capture.PNG

This whole pish about once in a generation, which even if it is referred to in some literature completely ignores the fact that during indy ref a significant number voted no for reasons that are redundant now, mainly EU membership. Since 2016 the SNP have said a change in ‘material circumstance’ would justify a further referendum and included it in every single manifesto for the elections, all of which they have resoundingly won. But aye please tell me more about how we have no mandate.